We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Falls at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maramba River Lodge
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently visited Africa on a Mission trip into Bundibugyo District in Uganda, and wanted to stop and see Victoria Falls on the way home. We booked into the Maramba River Lodge in Livingston through AAA Travel in Lusaka, Zambia, who professionally our every travel detail. We were shuttled from the airport to the Lodge, and met by the owner and his staff, who instantly took over our accomodations, and told us that there was an elephant at the dining veranda. We walked over and there was a huge bull elephant just grazing and looking at the diners some 10 feet away. During our three day stay, we watched herds of elephants, numerous birds, and crocodiles, from the deck at the bar, and the dining area. It was like living in a zoo with no fences. They also arranged for us to go to Chobe National Park, which is a short drive, and a trip across the Zambezi River into Botswana. That is a must see - Huge herds of elephants, hippos, black sable, impalas, lions, giraffes, etc. Then back to Maramba Lodge for drinks on the patio overlooking the river, a beautiful meal served in the new dining room and then off to our luxurious safari tent, with a beautiful bathroom and shower. It is also just a short 5 minute drive into Livingston to see the Livinston Museum and some local shopping. The prices were very reasonable compared to the wonderful accomodations

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toj1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Maramba River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The lodge is situated about 4km from the gates of Victoria Falls national park in Zambia , about 8 km from livingstone. A taxi to either town or the falls is about $10.

The lodge is set amidst nice grounds in the banks of the maramba river, which was largely dry when we visited. Consequently we didn't see any of the elephants which occasionally visit, though there were a few crocodiles lounging on the river banks.

We stayed in a safari tent which was a wooden structure with a thatched roof and open bathroom with an insect secure net roof. The insect screens were all intact as was the mosquito net on the bed so we didn't suffer any bites . The room was very clean considering its rustic style.

There is a bar area witha small pool overlooking the river which was a nice place to sit ( though the bar man seemed strangely reluctant to give out glasses with any drink - perhaps he doesn't like washing up !)

The restaurant is also overlooking the river and served a selection of meals which were generally Okay. I'd seen previous comments mentioning lack of choice but would disagree - there's enough variety for a stay of up to 3 or 4 days. Service was a little slow when the restaurant was busy though there were usually plenty of serving staff working so we didn't find this to be a problem.

The room was £120 per night which was probably a fair price as hotels in Zambia aren't cheap.

In summary its a clean and pleasant mid range option and one of the closes to the falls, though it IS rustic so you have to expect insects and various animals in close proximity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Maramba during dry season, so there was no river to be seen. However, the staff and owners are very very nice, and it is very quiet and peaceful. Also has free wifi.

Tents are $80 USD (compared to $50 at Zambezi Waterfront). We decided to upgrade to a Safari Tent ($120 USD incl breakfast) which we were very happy with. It was spacious with 2 beds (with nets), a desk, curtains, balcony, and toilet and shower. Very clean and quiet.

Overall a nice experience, and I imagine would be a lot more exiting during rainy season when you can actually see some river. If you are looking for atmosphere, try the Zambezi Waterfront, which is cheaper and a lot nicer in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get a Safari Tent - much better than dome tents, and actually about the same quality as a chalet but...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivvRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In August 2012 I visited Maramba River Lodge after three and a half years for the second time. The Lodge improved so much since then! There is a new activities center now, and access to the internet. Staff is very friendly, relaxed, and always helpful. There's a small pool and games for kids.
If you're not used to wildlife - you'll be after a visit here! Numerous species of birds live (and sing!) here. You can watch baboons and monitor lizards during daytime, bush babies and fruit bats at night. Every now and then hippos and elephants feed on the hotel grounds, hippos at night, elephants day and night. They do this not always to the owner's pleasure: sometimes elephants break down trees and the hotel guests have to take special care because these animals are not tame at all! But where can you have wildlife in close-up like this?

Room Tip: I enjoyed the luxury tents most. They have own showers (open-air showers!) and toilets, and are some...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Habakuk_Tibatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Maramba River Lodge was a lovely place to relax & unwind, after 7 days in Botswana! We were on our way to Malawi! We stayed in the safari tents, an Africa feel with luxury! The tents were beautiful and the bedding, crisp clean, the bathrooms were amazing! Loved the personal touches in the place and the uniqueness of the décor! We lost our number plate between Botswana and Maramba. Mr. Young (owner) and friendly staff at Maramba were helpful in making us a "similar" plate! This plate has got its place in our entertainment area, in memory of our stay at Maramba! We relaxed at the restaurant watching the elephants and hippo on the other side of the river while enjoying a delicious buffet breakfast! At the bar area we could unwind in the beautiful seating area, while reading, enjoying the sunset and surfing the internet! We left relaxed and a must mentioned, with clean washing, washed by the staff at the Lodge, the next day looking forward to journey further into Africa! Maramba River Lodge will definitely see us again! Thank you, Floors, Helga, Heino & Ulrich van der Walt; Willfried & Elaine Klosta and Manie & Annatjie Potgieter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helgavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Maramba Lodge for four nights in August and found it really clean, efficiently run and very reasonably priced. The staff could not be more helpful. They can help book day trips and any of the adrenaline activities on offer around Livingstone. We were in a luxury tent and it was kitted out with all mod cons including kettle and tea and coffee. Great breakfast to set you up for the day and it was lovely to sit out on the terrace in the morning and in the evening. From there, it's a 50000 Kwacha (US $10) ride to the border.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Plus Side: Easy to find and conveniently located for the Vic Falls.

Downside: Service for anything takes forever. Had to wait up to an hour for food after order taken. Drinks about 30-45mins. Menu very limited and we ended up going into Livingstone for an evening meal on second night. Rooms very basic and beds incredibly lumpy and uncomfortable. Organised a helicopter flight through the onsite activites team - the pick up was 45 minutes late but the flight itself was fantastic. Had good play area for children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaileyMcConville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
2.5 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
528 reviews
2.7 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
417 reviews
4.4 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramba River Lodge

Address: Mosi Tunya Drive | Livingstone, Victoria Falls 60957, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maramba River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km from The Victoria Falls, Maramba River Lodge provides a most attractive all-year-round base to access The Victoria Falls. Maramba River Lodge is situated in the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park overlooking the Maramba River. The lodge is visited by the resident wildlife with elephant wandering through the grounds at certain times of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maramba River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maramba River Hotel Victoria Falls
Maramba River Lodge Zambia/Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing