We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The African Escape of a life time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Remote! Located on Mukuni tribal land, this Lodge is open air and spectacular. Robin Pope Adventures has owned the lodge for a year. The views are expansive. Our open aired hut with luxurious bath and king sized mosquito netted bed gave the impression of luxury camping in the wilds. Our view was of a game reserve and a watering hole where we were entertained by our wild kingdom neighbors. We wished we could have spent our entire vacation there.

The staff were terrific. Desai was our hospitality guide and we enjoyed him completely. The food, the drink, and the other guests were top shelf. This is an intimate lodge.

Be prepared to relax. We visited the Mukuni village and fell in love with the people. We also did the elephant safari. Worth the photo opportunity! Don't miss the Zambezi sunset cruise....loads of Animals!

I highly recommend Stanley Safari Lodge.

Room Tip: Do the open air rooms... It's really an experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to stay in Vic Falls area. Off the " beaten path" so very peaceful and quiet. Lots to do here. Highly recommend the sunset cruise on the Zambezi. Good game viewing from the boat as well as a full bar offering. Lunch on Livingstone Island is also a "must".
Bring your swimsuit if you want a thrill. You actually can swim (with a guide) literally to the edge of Victoria Falls.
The lodge has great rooms, bathrooms, and facilities in general. You can choose from a variety of locations where to eat dinner. By the pool, by your room, etc. This is a nice and romantic offering. The food is really good as is the service. This is not a large lodge so it feels very welcoming and comfortable. The rooms especially the suites are nicely spread out so you have a feeling of privacy. All in all a great place.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Pib1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The lodge was amazing, from the view to the perfect service. We wish that we had been
able to stay for at least another night. We dined outside both nights by candlelight. The managers were as accommodating as they could be..helping us with extra tours, getting dollars for us to pay for the tour. The tour guides that the lodge recommended were all wonderful, knowledgeable and efficient. We were able to do a lot in a day and a half, but really needed
one more night at Stanley!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljstone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stanley Safari Lodge offers you a quiet and private Zambian experience. While it is ~20 minutes away from anything, this affords you privacy and safety. The staff was exceptional helping us plan all of our excursions once we were there. It was completely stress free once we stepped onto the site. While the meals were fairly limited, my husband and I were still able to get enough to eat and when in doubt, all you have to do is ask. Our open-room air was the highlight of our trip and they took care of everything... you wake up to the sounds of lions and elephants in the morning and get to experience star gazing like never before at night. Highly recommended! Dennis and Clara took care of all of our needs. We did the Zambezi river tour, rhino walk, and Victoria Falls tour- they took care of everything, all we had to do was show up. If you're looking for a quiet place away from the world, this is definitely where to go. If you like the Stanley Safari experience you will also enjoy Coconut Grove in Fiji- very similar experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

High on a hill several kilometers from the river with no inkling that you are near Victoria Falls. Views of scrub brush and a man made water reservior. Supposedly all inclusive of food and activities, but menu is without any choice with only one item offered and small portions of unimaginative food such as"fish fingers". There is a long list of activities but almost all were full or not included as "all inclusive" activities. On the plus side, the rooms are charming and the garden and pool ( despite the bugs) are pretty. If you are coming for the Falls, much better to stay in town or by the river

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank wilmingtonohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Stanley Safari Lodge recently and liked it a lot. The layout is very generous with lots of space between the bungalows and fantastic views in the direction of the Victoria Falls that are a 10 minutes drive away.
Our bungalow was meticulous and very spacious with separate lounging area, huge bathroom/shower and terrace with plunge pool.
The staff and mangament were VERY friendly and helpful and arranged our visit to the Falls (great experience) and the lion walk (fantastic experience), the food is delicious and they give you a different table with a view for every meal.
We can really recommend Stanley Safari lodge for a stay in Livingstone and especially for a safari start because the atmosphere is very relaxing, friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: The Livingstone Bungalow is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheodorWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything is perfect in this exclusive lodge. We stayed for 4 nights and spent our 1 year anniversary and were really impressed with the quality of client service there. Management and staff are very friendly, helpful and truly professional. They looked after us very well and arranged all our activities around Livingstone and helped to plan an amazing safari after that through 6 countries! We are very grateful for our best vacation ever!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
2.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
5.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,958 reviews
2.5 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
653 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Safari Lodge

Address: Mukuni Road, Victoria Falls 60, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $607 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Falls is where the wide Zambezi River simply drops some 100 meters into a narrow gorge. The Falls lie across the border of Zambia and Zimbabwe, and Livingstone is the town on the Zambian side. Called "Mosi-oa-Tunya", (the smoke that thunders) in the local language the Falls are one of the seven wonders of the world and when you first come to Zambia, Livingstone is a must visit destination. Set on a hill bordering the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park and overlooking unspoilt bush, Stanley Safari Lodge is only three kilometer from the Victoria Falls. The views are splendid: the spray of the Falls in the distance, the mighty Zambezi River and on top of that yet another beautiful African sunset. From either our main garden, our infinity pool or from the privacy of your room, views are unmatched. The ten uniquely designed chalets are constructed of teak and local stone and are open fronted or more colonial style brick and tiled rooms which are closed. Stanley Safari Lodge is an elegant and luxurious getaway. The ten rooms are each unique, individually designed and with an eye for detail that will make sure you will enjoy your African experience to the utmost. And from every room you are able to see the spray of the Victoria Falls, the Zambezi River and the African sunset. Four of the rooms are suites, each having a private plunge pool with deck or terrace, a lounge area, a bedroom and a bathroom with bath and separate shower. The Honeymoon Suite and Family Suite are open suites, which enables you to absorb the sights and sounds of the African bush fully. The Livingstone Suite and Stanley Suite are closed suites with a colonial interior that evoke the elegant era of Stanley and Livingstone. The Stanley doubles up as a family suite as it is two bedroomed; this coupled with the other offerings of the suite affords families some exclusivity. The cottages, six in total, are all in Safari style built with natural materials. Baobab is a closed cottage, but all other cottages (Birds Room, Zambezi View, Mukuni, Mosi-oa-Tunya and Victoria) have an open structure to enhance to your Zambian experience. All these cottages have a bath and shower with all the luxuries you might desire. From the deck or terrace you can enjoy the splendid views of the Zambezi Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanley Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Safari Lodge Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Safari Lodge Zambia/Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing