We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”
Review of Lokhuthula Lodge

Lokhuthula Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lokhuthula Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This being Africa, we had no idea what to expect. The pictures on the net looked good. We arrived and checked in easily enough. It was clean, spacious, we felt safe, and private enough. We were at the edge of the property.
We enjoy self catering, and got our groceries at the local supermarket. Everything was available, and you could pay in Rands or USD.
Just be aware that the supermarket car park is full of touts all willing to "help"..for a fee..just be firm.
We booked an evening at the Boma, after a recommendation when we checked in, and it was SUPERB for the variety of food, and the entertainment. A Must do!
The accommodation it self had all of the requirements in the kitchen, and bathroom, mozzie nets and fans which came in handy!! We enjoyed the canvas frontage of the bungalow, which we opened up in the day for a view of bush.
For activities booking, we got all our brochures and advice from the activities desk at the Safari Lodge adjoining. I did the Chobe day activity and was suitably impressed with the level of organisation and attention to detail. A day to remember ! I would recommend this and the Wild Horizon Elephant experience ! AWESOME! Seeing the Falls itself was just amazing. It is easy to do this self-guided, just be prepared for getting wet potentially !

Room Tip: -Structures on the edge of the property are more private -Def book a dinner at the BOMA, def confir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TVAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mapleton, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay we thought. A few km out of town means you're safe from the touts harassing you with cheap curios. The staff were super friendly and helpful and The Boma restaurant is a must-do. Yes the cabins are open to the elements, but completely safe with the right precautions. And being so close to the elements and wildlife is what Africa is all about. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mzilikazi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Very unusual layout of chalets. Just wish it was on the Zambezi river side. Excellent kitchen. Very affordable. Recommended if you are a large group. Mosquitos were a problem. Make sure one takes adequate repellents. Try to go to waterhole at sunset - could get lucky with game viewing. Sadly, all we got was a lone vulture and sleeping warthogs. Maybe the place will look better after the rains

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibn_Batuta_of_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our family which consists of me, my hubby, my old mom,my two little girls stayed at the Lokhuthula lodge for three days. The bed rooms, the kitchen, the lounge, the patio and everything had decent decorations. The bathroom had adequate supply of toiletries and towels. The kitchen had all necessary appliances and since I am a good cook, I cooked food for us while we stayed here. This place was very safe to stay with good security provided especially during the night time. At day times my children and hubby enjoyed swimming in the pool. We loved the cleanliness and calmness of this place a lot. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_ander068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was the last place my group of ten (including guide/driver) stayed after two weeks overland through Botswana and Namibia. Though I'd been to Vic Falls before, I'd never heard of Lokhuthula Lodge before. It came as a pleasant surprise.

Each guest room is basically a condo with master bedroom, bath, fully equipped kitchen (including dishes & appliances), attic bedroom with twin beds, living room/lounge area and patio. The furnishings and decor are quaint Afro-chic. An interesting feature is the rolled canvas "door" that closes the living area off from the open patio...a little disconcerting considering there are wild animals (monkeys, baboons, warthogs) wandering the grounds. Security guards roam the grounds at night, providing a measure of safety in an area where crime (thanks to a desperate economic situation) is a possibility.

There is no AC, what with the open thatched roofs, so it was a bit hot at night. Add a mosquito net and it was pretty stuffy. There are safes in the rooms but a $10 USD deposit must be supplied at the main desk.

The bathroom is large and there were plenty of towels (four large, four hand), soap, etc., especially for a solo traveler like myself. Ceiling fans whirling overhead helped make the warm, humid air bearable. There's a pool and restaurant near the main building but I didn't take advantage of them so can't comment. Breakfast - not included in room rate - is $18 USD per person, a bit steep. Our group opted to buy food in town and cook it in the kitchen.

One downside is the lodge's location outside of town, too far to walk. You definitely need a ride. All in all, a very nice place with loads of room and a comfortable, quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northcascades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Fantastic place to spend a week...unforgettable. To be honest is not a rci gold crown, better silver, but still in my heart...spacially the people and the country.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This propoerty is probably ok if you are into this sort of thing, by which i mean being completely open to the elements/animals/bugs etc 24 hours a day, and being vigilant in closing doors/putting items away in order to avoid the place being trashed by naughty monkeys or curious warthog (believe me - it DOES happen). Personally, i am fine with things being a bit "open" but like the option to shut out mozzies and creepy crawlies, however even with the property as shut up as it can be, all manner of things will still get in - we had scorpions in the living room, after which we could not safely walk around inside the property barefoot (which is a shame in 35 degree heat). The mozzie nets provided in the lodges were not really big enough for the beds, which resulted in a few getting in and biting us during the night, and the pillows are of very poor quality. In addition, there is no shop on-site where food can be bought (not even essentials like coffee or water) and so the bus must be caught into town, where despite reassurance that there is plentiful food in zimbabwe, we found the only food we could procure was crisps, eggs and a couple of tinned items. certainly there was nothing we could buy to put on the braai (bbq) provided.

The most disappointing aspect of our experience was however, the service. Check-in was brief and largely unhelpful, and we were told 4 times in 2 minutes "if you (or the monkeys) break it - you pay for it". We were minus a guest information folder in our property, which after 4 phonecalls and 2 visits to reception, we still were not provided with. We were expected to sign-off an inventory of over 160 items in the property within 12 hours otherwise "we would pay for what is missing". We had to lug our laundry up to reception and pick it up afterwards, even though we were paying for it to be done for us, and we were generally treated as second class guests in the main hotel (Vic falls safari lodge). In particular, we were quite inconvenienced by the fact that even though you are told you have full use of all facilities as it is the same company, just two different accommodations, Lokuthula guests were required to pay for everything in cash whilst hotel guests could sign for things and pay by credit card at the end (which anywhere else in the world wouldnt have been a problem, but in zimbabwe where there are no dollar dispensing cash machines its a bit of an issue). Lokuthula guests are also not allowed to use the pool at the main hotel, but if they book any trips or use the courtesy bus, these only depart from the main hotel, not reception at lokuthula, so guests must walk quite a distance depending upon where their property is, to get to the main hotel for services they really should get from their own reception area.

We were booked into the lodge for one week, however were having such a difficult time we chose, after 3 nights, to transfer (at a significant premium) to the main lodge hotel. It was 100% better than lokuthula, we were given excellent service there, and everything down to the toilet paper was of a much higher quality. even the mozzie nets were an appropriate size.

I would urge anyone thinking of going to lokuthula to question whether they really want to go through the effort of going off-site to get food, battling apathetic service and keping up guard against all the animals!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maramba River Lodge
Maramba River Lodge
#2 of 3 in Victoria Falls
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Victoria Falls
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokhuthula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokhuthula Lodge

Property: Lokhuthula Lodge
Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge property, Victoria Falls, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Lokhuthula Lodge Zambia/Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing