We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing adventure on Zambezi river

PROS: 1) Absolutely amazing rapids - from class 2 to 5 - in a beautiful scenic location. We went... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Grey_JV
,
New York City, New York
Amazing white water rafting experience

A very professional white water rafting operation – amazing experience on Zambesi (grade 2-5 rapids... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Alexander P
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Read all 295 reviews
  
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
220
44
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
44
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gentle giants wonderful experience elephants interaction danny africa heartbeat
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

PROS:
1) Absolutely amazing rapids - from class 2 to 5 - in a beautiful scenic location. We went in early November. Weather was warm and sunny, and the water was a perfect temperature.
2) Guides were expert at leading and, when you got tossed (which you will), extricating you safely from the water. Our guide Choonga was excellent at leading our group to steer in the correct direction through some difficult rapids.
3) The video and photos they provide you at the end was a wonderful, unexpected benefit. We've watched the video multiple times with friends and family. And the excerpts we posted on our social media account have gotten us some hilarious reactions ("were you trying to kill your kids?").
4) A unique opportunity to bond with other travelers.

CONS:
1) It's expensive. We were a family of 4 (two adults, two teenagers), and it's an investment (around $650).
2) They need to provide a detailed checklist of what to bring. We were confused about footwear, since hiking to and from river is a bit challenging, and where to put dry clothes, sun screen, etc.
3) They are strict about kids being at least 15 years of age or older. That said, you do not have to verify your child's age (no passport checked), and the cutoff is really arbitrary. Our son is 14.5 and small for his age, but he was more resilient and skilled than most of the adults.

OVERALL: Highly recommend if you can afford it and you are mentally and physically prepared for some thrilling and rigorous rapids.

Thank Grey_JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

A very professional white water rafting operation – amazing experience on Zambesi (grade 2-5 rapids in low-water season), great video footage, very enjoyable overall, and a chance to drive through local villages on the way back to Livingstone.

Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We only had two days in Zambia but we made the most of it doing a speedboat sunset tour of the Zambezi and then visiting Victoria Falls (we also did the walking rhino safari but this is with a different company). Safari Par Excellence lived up to its name, my time in Zambia will never be forgotten and that is because of the amazing experiences we did.

Thank DIF483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear DIF483,

Thank you for taking the time to do a TA review on your time with us in Livingstone. We are delighted with the awesome feedback all round and thanks for reviewing our Sunset Explorer with Zambezi Expeditions - so much fun!

All the best and we hope to welcome you back one day soon.

SAFPAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We went for a sunset cruise a few weeks ago and had a good time. There was enough food and drinks and the staff was friendly. The boat does not go around the island, however, like some other boats do. It’s a nice trip and we had a lot of fun, but there are other companies that offer a bit more for a better price.

Thank Lotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Guest Relations Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Lotte B,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review here on Trip Advisor, on your sunset cruise. Great to hear you all had a good time with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sorry to hear you didn't go around the island, our sunset trips don't have a set course; while we do sometimes go around the island, it all depends on what the wildlife are doing and the density of other river traffic. We do have a lot of competition in Livingstone and believe our prices and experience offer unparalleled value for money.

One of the advantages of doing the cruise in the "Mosi-oa-Tunya" national park is the scarcity of other river craft we try and avoid the congestion experienced on the Zimbabwean side.

Thank you for cruising with us and we hope you return soon.

All the best on your onward travels,

Safari-Par-Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

As part of the 2018 Put Foot Rally, we booked high river rafting, sunset cruise and a helicopter trip over the falls.

The rafting was insane - amazing! Our guide, Henry, was passionate about the Zambezi and about making sure our experience was fun, but also safe. I ended up being a long swimmer and was saved by one of the brilliant canoeists, but unfortunately don't remember his name. Thank you guys, we loved it!

The cruise was also fantastic and the barmen were efficient and friendly.

Overall, an amazing service. Thank you Safari Par Excellence!

Mandy - The Honey Badgers Put Foot Crew

Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Guest Relations Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Mandy D,

Thank you for taking the time to do a TA review on your time with us in Livingstone.

It was an absolute pleasure to host the "Put Foot" rally and we are all happy to hear you had such a good time with us. Great to hear your rafting trip was amazing and you enjoyed yourself with Henry.

The Combo's we offer are really good and we are happy to hear you took advantage of them, We will, of course pass on your compliments and regards to our rafting team.

Thank you for staying with us, travel safe and see you next year!

SAFPAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

We did a sunset cruise and it was better than we’d even hoped for. The sunset, first of all, was amazing. The staff on the boat were very fun and friendly. This sunset cruise actually includes chicken and sausage grilled on the boat for you. It was so good! I would highly recommend this sunset cruise!

Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Guest Relations Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear FeliciaBarrete,

Thank you for doing a Trip Advisor review on your sunset cruise we are thrilled to hear it exceeded your expectations and you had a great time with us.

We can't take the credit for the sunset, but we are happy to hear it was spectacular. This section of the Zambezi River in the Mosi-oa-Tunya national park above the Victoria Falls is pretty special.

Thank you for joining us and we hope you return soon.

Take care on your onward travels.

SAFPAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We came back after an awesome day rafting and spend the rest of the afternoon lazing at the pool by the Zambezi Waterfront (what an awesome place) before departing for the sunset cruise - the sunset cruise was phenomenal - we saw lots of game, had lots of g&t's and an enjoyable time was had by everyone !!

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Chris B,

Yes! Thank you so much for the awesome review of the Makumbi cruise - always a winner after a good day's rafting! Come back soon for more Zambezi action :)

Kind Regards from the Zambezi,

The Safpar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

This was a wonderful activity. The guide, Africa, was very informative and the elephants was just amazing. One can see that the elephants are well treated and it was a delight to see the whole family going for a swim after the interaction. This is something that I can strongly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Neil_de_Jonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Neil_de_Jonge,

Many thanks for your review on the Elephant Interaction experience!

Zambezi Elephants is home to a very special herd – the older elephants, like bulls Bop, Danny and Madinda were rescued from severe drought and elephant culls decades ago in Zimbabwe. Raised with pioneering positive reinforcement techniques – these are elephants that have grown up with safe human support. The herd and many of their familiar handlers were transferred to the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park in 2002. There is an extremely strong bond between members of the herd and their handlers. This love and respect is generously extended by the elephants to all the humans they meet.

For your information, Safari Par Excellence have now created and opened a unique restaurant at the same site called The Elephant Cafe whereby we aim to create enough business by offering clients a speedboat experience to the location, an elephant meet & viewing experience and a very unique meal in order to financially support the herd in the future and no more rides. We view this as a very positive move forward for the herd who shall remain under our care and protection. We hope to welcome you to The Elephant Cafe one day soon!

Kind Regards.

The Elephant Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

It was quite a thrill to ride the biggest elephant of all times, and then sit on her leg and feed her. What a neat deal. I had thought it was a rehab place, however, and it is not, really. It appears the elephants are well treated, and safety was paramount, as well, from herds of wild elephant attacks. We saw other wildlife, and had a full hour on the backs of elephants. I was lucky enough to get on one from the ground, rather than the platform, and had the pleasure of experiencing a "stand up" from the ground, That was super cool to do. The guides seem nice, and knowledgable, the slideshow after was perfect!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Sari Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Owner at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Sari Y,

Many thanks for your review on the Elephant Encounter experience!

Zambezi Elephants is home to a very special herd – the older elephants, like bulls Bop, Danny and Madinda were rescued from severe drought and elephant culls decades ago in Zimbabwe. Raised with pioneering positive reinforcement techniques – these are elephants that have grown up with safe human support. The herd and many of their familiar handlers were transferred to the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park in 2002. There is an extremely strong bond between members of the herd and their handlers. This love and respect is generously extended by the elephants to all the humans they meet.

For your information, Safari Par Excellence have now created and opened a unique restaurant at the same site called The Elephant Cafe whereby we aim to create enough business by offering clients a speedboat experience to the location, an elephant meet & viewing experience and a very unique meal in order to financially support the herd in the future and no more rides. We view this as a very positive move forward for the herd who shall remain under our care and protection. We hope to welcome you to The Elephant Cafe one day soon!

Kind Regards.

The Team at Zambezi Elephants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

They really care about their employees and their elephants. It shows in the way the elephants respond and the way the employees treat the elephants. We had a wonderful time riding on Danny and the others. It was so much fun seeing their environment and loving on them. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Thank nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafparExcellence, Director of Sales at Safari Par Excellence, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Nicole S,

Many thanks for your review on the Elephant Encounter experience! The elephants have come under our care from various backgrounds but they have created a happy dynamic here within the safety of Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park. For your information, Safari Par Excellence have now created and opened a unique restaurant at the same site called The Elephant Cafe whereby we aim to create enough business by offering clients a speedboat experience to the location, an elephant meet & viewing experience and a very unique meal in order to financially support the herd in the future and no more rides. We view this as a very positive move forward for the herd who shall remain under our care and protection. We hope to welcome you to The Elephant Cafe one day soon!

Kind Regards.

The Team at Zambezi Elephants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews