We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not do it again”
Review of Chrismar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chrismar Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I went there on the Easter holiday,with my wife & my friends' family,we booked 2 double rooms, we traveled for 450 km,when arriving we found that they reserved one room only. Before checking in we were obliged to pay for two nights because of the hotel policy.
At the reception the sits are teared & old, you feel that it is a neglected place
The door of the room has cracks so at night you can not put lights on, everybody will be watching you.
The double bed is good for people under 170 cm.
If your wife is fat don't go there, you will end sleeping on the floor.
Swimming pool is extremely dirty.
We spent one night the other day we run away.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

My stay was work related as I was attending a refresher training workshop. All the staff were extremely courteous, attentive and friendly. As the area is hot and humid, the hotel is very attentive to requests for extras to make life comfortable for the guests. I enjoyed the variety of meals and the inclusion of local staples and use of fresh local ingredients. The bar within the pool was a draw card for most guests. A drawback is its location, as it is not exactly next to the river nor other hotels. Tip- for the river cruise, opt for the smaller speedboats as you get to explore the river at greater length.

Room Tip: Rooms are chalet type, but preferable to be further away from the pool area to minimize the noise fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceT2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hi guys. I live in Livingstone City and am Zambian so i Know this place quite well. There are Few Great Hotels In Livingstone. However Chrismar Hotel just stands out as a Unique Hotel all together. Its location is lovely and a Beautiful setup. The Sunk in Bar in the Pool is 1 of the Main Attractions, nothing is more relaxin than a Cooling swim and refreshing drink in the pool on a Hot day. The Rooms are great too each with a Jacuzi and food is up to standard. On entertainment side , ther is always something to look forward to from General Get togethers to Fantastic New Year Partys! What makes this place really Special is the Friendly Management and Staff. They make you feel right at home and Build a very Warm atmospere around you. So if you are looking for that "Home Away From Home" experience, then Chrismar Hotel is the Place for you....

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Akhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I spent 9 days at this hotel and after 2 days, all the staff were calling me by name. We held a 5-day training at Chrismar and it was a great set-up (conference room opened up to the pool and outdoor eating area) and had a nice community feel. The staff were flexible and accommodating to every request. It is also a short drive from Vic Falls and the launch point for cruising the Zambezi.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Hey guys, thanks for one awesome stay and very nice rooms!

Management also rocks with very friendly staff!

Hope to book in their again!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

i cant say much bout the room or the type of things that go on in that arear begin a local iv never stayed there i do like the entertainment they provid for people just looking to relax the music is nice and calming and live which u dnt find anyhow,the suronding just matches it all staff are kind and quick to attend to u,ROCK ON JAY.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I once went to lodge at a certain hotel in the copperbelt and i had seen lots of great standards that gave a bigger view on how we have developed , in relation to Chrismar Livingstone Stone- this place gives you a unique class mixed with a creative touch of native and foreign standards... lots can be said and i know in comparison with other hotels this place ticks..... more improvements are raised everyday and better ways of comfort are being still explored.. for now Livingstone has two for me Chrismar and Zambezi Sun.... hate it or love it>>

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We always strive to give the best possible standards of service and products and also strive to improve. Your review is appreciated and we hope to continue that trend and hope you visit us again in the future as well as tell your friends and family about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
3.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
1.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
10.1 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
415 reviews
10.1 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrismar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrismar Hotel

Address: Sichango Road, PO Box 60614, Livingstone 00000, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range: $152 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chrismar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chrismar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing