We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp
Nearby Hotels
$784
$636
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
$997
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The River Club(Livingstone)
$759
$599
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
$183
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
161
32
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
32
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite rhinogame drivesarmed guardszambezi rivervic fallstented rooms arebig porchfamily tentregular visitsgreat boat ridebee eaterspizza ovennational parkwater buffalospent two wonderful nightsexcursions includingtwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 199 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked two nights at Toka Leya through Africa Travel Resource (www.africatravelresources.com) - they booked us an amazing trip at 4 camps and Toka Leya was one of our favourites. The food was amazing and made to order. The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable. Their hostess was accommodating and made all our schedules for activities. The cabins were beautiful - and air-conditioned - a rare finding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBG-Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear RBG-Halifax,

Thank you for your beautiful review of our camp.

This has probably been one of the mildest winters that we have experienced here at Toka Leya Camp. Although the temperature still drops as the sun goes down, it has been very bearable. However as a tradition, the camp fires have been maintained, making for a great venue for storytelling. This has been enhanced by the arrival of Stephen Phiri, a very well-known guide in Livingstone who was with our Touring division and has now joined the camp as the front-of-house assistant. Steve specialises in our country’s traditions and culture and is a mine of information, always willing to share his knowledge of Zambia and its people with our guests.

Thank you again
The Team at Toka Leya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Was there 2 nights last week in the family room beside the reception. Excellent room.
Food a bit disappointing from previous lodges, only good.
Game drive disappointing but river cruise was fascinating . Lots of hippo , crocodiles and birds. Histen an excellent guide. Strongly recommend helicopter ride over Vic falls . It's a bit pricey but well worth it. Zambian village tour very interesting and authentic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56shazza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear

Thank you for your delightful feedback on Toka Leya. We are sorry to hear that the food was not up to the standard that was expected. We will address this with our Chef and kitchen staff and hopefully rectify this.

Toka Leya is a great Family camp and we love entertaining children and introducing them to our wilderness. Please note however, that minimum age requirements are in place for activities in all camps and are as follows:
 game drives in private vehicles – 6 years (no children under the age of 6 years in wildlife areas unless sole use of camp is booked)
 boating – 6 years
 canoeing – 16 years
 walking – 13 years
 hot air ballooning - while there is no age limitation, there is a restriction on height. Children need to be a minimum of 1.3 metres to comfortably see over the basket.

We hope that you and your family are able to visit us again soon.
The Team at Toka Leya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Toka Leya is wonderful. Beautiful setting on the Zambezi river. Fabulous rooms with amazing view. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We saw all sorts of wildlife without even leaving the camp and the game drives were fantastic, including a walk with 4 white Rhino. We had the best time ever. Everything was perfect. Thank you Toka Leya.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antwanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Antwanbee,

Thank you for your dazzling review.

Overlooking the Zambezi River and some of its islands is Toka Leya Camp, comprising 12 raised, spacious en-suite safari-style tents. Tent interiors boast wooden flooring, tasteful African décor, climate-control, and an expansive wooden deck from which to soak up the views. Family units are positioned to offer quiet seclusion. The camp’s dining and lounge areas offer ample space for relaxation. Meals are served on the sundeck, the pool deck and dining room all overlooking the Zambezi. There is a novel pizza oven and a curio shop.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to come and visit us again.
The Team at Toka Leya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Like all the places we stayed with the Wilderness Safari group, Toka Leya was nice. Everything was nice, people were nice, and the wildlife we saw was awesome. Our boat broke down and the camp manager herself came out to get us and give us a new boat. Also, this camp is near civilization and has more creature comforts than the other camps we stayed in.

The highlight of our trip was watching an elephant swim, the resident hippo named motto-motto, and our walk with the Rhinos. The guards of the rhino took us a little too close though and our guide was not very happy The river tour in particular was amazing. .

The not so good:

-The safari drive though was nothing spectacular. We didn't see anything at all and had the feeling that the guide didn't really know what he was doing or maybe the park is just too developed. The safari drive was the most uneventful we had during our stay in Africa. Although we only stayed one night in this particular camp.

-left a safari hat on the plane going there. We asked several people for help with this and all said they will try to help us. No one got back to us - we had to follow up. I felt as if they never really tried or really cared to help. It is a very small thing, but was disappointing. For the 5 star experience we had until this point, this was very unlike all the great service we had gotten. It was such a small thing but is something that matters. We asked many people for assistance, drivers, managers, reception, and never got a reply or sense that anyone tried.

What really ruined it:

-When we were leaving, we asked the reception if we could leave later. She said that there was only one shuttle that goes into town. We said to arrange for something else. She said this was the only shuttle. We arrived from our safari drive and wanted to extend and looked forward to have the lunch we ordered (the food there was good). A girl named jackie received us and with a raised voice was rushing us and telling us we had to leave asap. We said we wanted a later shuttle and we were willing to hire our own shuttle into town, but she didn't care. I talked to the mrs. in our local language to tell her we had a problem - short of us arguing - and she even aggressively asked, "do you have a problem?" We explained our disappointment but again, she didn't care. We just wanted to have a relaxed lunch and leave. Instead, we just had to rush to our rooms, pack quickly, and get the heck out of there. Again, it is impossible for there to not have any transportation for us to get out of there.

She then gave us pizzas slopped on top of each other, wrapped in plastic, and in a paper bag. Not classy at all.

A terrible way to end a trip of a lifetime. For the amount of money you pay for a place like this, this was no way to treat us.

It was a very quiet ride into town.

I was happy to leave the lodge after the last experince

Room Tip: Our room was far from the reception. If you were to forget something (like I did) it is a chore to go back and get it. If you don't like walking, get a room near the reception.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Mlsoong,

We are terribly sorry to hear that your Safari Adventure did not end in an idyllic way.

Unfortunately we have since searched in all possible areas for your missing item and were unable to retrieve it for you. We do have a Lost and Found department at our main office where all such items are sent we do however have the odd item that is not turned in and left to explore the African Bush forever lost.

We apologise for the unfavourably service you received with regards to your final transfer out of camp. We have addressed the matter with all involved and can only now apologise that this left such a bad taste in your mouth when you think of our beautiful Camp. We can only hope that the rest of your African Journey was not marred by this experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us this review.
The Toka Leya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a good time in Toka Leya.
first time to camp in Zambia Wildness
We had a good time to Game Drive to see Giraffe, Zebra, Wild Pig, Specially White Rhino ! and Boart Tour to see Crocodile ,Hippo family.
Victoria Fall are amazing ! so excited to walk near the Fall. can see beautiful rainbow, also we been to in the Rainbow !!
also we been to Village Tour, Kids are so friendly and so cute !

Room is big and tidy. outside shower is good.
Near the Room the Hippo Moto Moto Living here. He sometime come to see us ; )
so close to see him.

Food is excellent ! we can order A la carte menu. everyday different and all good.

Staff are kind and Friendly : )

南アフリカ旅行の最初のキャンプがTOKA LEYAでした。
キャンプといっても綺麗なお部屋で思っていた以上に素敵な感じでした。
野生動物もいろいろな種類に出会え、興奮しました。
白サイは特別保護区域におり、銃を持った警備員たちに守られていました。子供のサイがいるため、やや興奮気味とのことでしたがすごく近くまで行き観察できました。
お食事も問題なく美味しくいただきました。
メニューからのオーダーで美味しくって食べ過ぎてしまいました。
ここはいろいろなアクティビティーがあり、ゲームドライブはもちろんビクトリアフォールへ行けたり、川をボートでくだったりと飽きることもなく、楽しく過ごすことが出来ました。
あとビレッジにも行けて、昔ながらのアフリカの村を見学することも出来、良い体験しました。

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koyukioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear koyukioz,

Thank you for the divine review for Toka Leya. Sinda Village is a great project that we all enjoy being a part of.

Guests staying at Toka Leya can visit Sinde Village and will be guided around the village by one of the local villagers. Once guests arrive in the village, they will be taken to the pre-school to meet one of the village guides, both of whom are teachers at the pre-school. They will then be given a tour of the pre-school. From there the tour proceeds to Twabuka Middle Basic School, where we have a number of projects running, including a Children in the Wilderness Eco-Club. At the school, one can see the trees planted by the Eco-Club, as well as the school vegetable garden. Then, the tour moves to the centre of the village, with a visit to a homestead and the local shop. The whole tour takes approximately two hours and is included as an activity at Toka Leya.

Thank you for your contribution to this great cause.
The Team at Toka Leya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews