We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay while visiting Victoria falls”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while visiting Victoria falls”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Was there 2 nights last week in the family room beside the reception. Excellent room.
Food a bit disappointing from previous lodges, only good.
Game drive disappointing but river cruise was fascinating . Lots of hippo , crocodiles and birds. Histen an excellent guide. Strongly recommend helicopter ride over Vic falls . It's a bit pricey but well worth it. Zambian village tour very interesting and authentic.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56shazza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your delightful feedback on Toka Leya. We are sorry to hear that the food was not up to the standard that was expected. We will address this with our Chef and kitchen staff and hopefully rectify this.

Toka Leya is a great Family camp and we love entertaining children and introducing them to our wilderness. Please note however, that minimum age requirements are in place for activities in all camps and are as follows:
 game drives in private vehicles – 6 years (no children under the age of 6 years in wildlife areas unless sole use of camp is booked)
 boating – 6 years
 canoeing – 16 years
 walking – 13 years
 hot air ballooning - while there is no age limitation, there is a restriction on height. Children need to be a minimum of 1.3 metres to comfortably see over the basket.

We hope that you and your family are able to visit us again soon.
The Team at Toka Leya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    27
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
81
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Toka Leya is wonderful. Beautiful setting on the Zambezi river. Fabulous rooms with amazing view. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We saw all sorts of wildlife without even leaving the camp and the game drives were fantastic, including a walk with 4 white Rhino. We had the best time ever. Everything was perfect. Thank you Toka Leya.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antwanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Antwanbee,

Thank you for your dazzling review.

Overlooking the Zambezi River and some of its islands is Toka Leya Camp, comprising 12 raised, spacious en-suite safari-style tents. Tent interiors boast wooden flooring, tasteful African décor, climate-control, and an expansive wooden deck from which to soak up the views. Family units are positioned to offer quiet seclusion. The camp’s dining and lounge areas offer ample space for relaxation. Meals are served on the sundeck, the pool deck and dining room all overlooking the Zambezi. There is a novel pizza oven and a curio shop.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to come and visit us again.
The Team at Toka Leya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Like all the places we stayed with the Wilderness Safari group, Toka Leya was nice. Everything was nice, people were nice, and the wildlife we saw was awesome. Our boat broke down and the camp manager herself came out to get us and give us a new boat. Also, this camp is near civilization and has more creature comforts than the other camps we stayed in.

The highlight of our trip was watching an elephant swim, the resident hippo named motto-motto, and our walk with the Rhinos. The guards of the rhino took us a little too close though and our guide was not very happy The river tour in particular was amazing. .

The not so good:

-The safari drive though was nothing spectacular. We didn't see anything at all and had the feeling that the guide didn't really know what he was doing or maybe the park is just too developed. The safari drive was the most uneventful we had during our stay in Africa. Although we only stayed one night in this particular camp.

-left a safari hat on the plane going there. We asked several people for help with this and all said they will try to help us. No one got back to us - we had to follow up. I felt as if they never really tried or really cared to help. It is a very small thing, but was disappointing. For the 5 star experience we had until this point, this was very unlike all the great service we had gotten. It was such a small thing but is something that matters. We asked many people for assistance, drivers, managers, reception, and never got a reply or sense that anyone tried.

What really ruined it:

-When we were leaving, we asked the reception if we could leave later. She said that there was only one shuttle that goes into town. We said to arrange for something else. She said this was the only shuttle. We arrived from our safari drive and wanted to extend and looked forward to have the lunch we ordered (the food there was good). A girl named jackie received us and with a raised voice was rushing us and telling us we had to leave asap. We said we wanted a later shuttle and we were willing to hire our own shuttle into town, but she didn't care. I talked to the mrs. in our local language to tell her we had a problem - short of us arguing - and she even aggressively asked, "do you have a problem?" We explained our disappointment but again, she didn't care. We just wanted to have a relaxed lunch and leave. Instead, we just had to rush to our rooms, pack quickly, and get the heck out of there. Again, it is impossible for there to not have any transportation for us to get out of there.

She then gave us pizzas slopped on top of each other, wrapped in plastic, and in a paper bag. Not classy at all.

A terrible way to end a trip of a lifetime. For the amount of money you pay for a place like this, this was no way to treat us.

It was a very quiet ride into town.

I was happy to leave the lodge after the last experince

Room Tip: Our room was far from the reception. If you were to forget something (like I did) it is a chore to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mlsoong,

We are terribly sorry to hear that your Safari Adventure did not end in an idyllic way.

Unfortunately we have since searched in all possible areas for your missing item and were unable to retrieve it for you. We do have a Lost and Found department at our main office where all such items are sent we do however have the odd item that is not turned in and left to explore the African Bush forever lost.

We apologise for the unfavourably service you received with regards to your final transfer out of camp. We have addressed the matter with all involved and can only now apologise that this left such a bad taste in your mouth when you think of our beautiful Camp. We can only hope that the rest of your African Journey was not marred by this experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us this review.
The Toka Leya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a good time in Toka Leya.
first time to camp in Zambia Wildness
We had a good time to Game Drive to see Giraffe, Zebra, Wild Pig, Specially White Rhino ! and Boart Tour to see Crocodile ,Hippo family.
Victoria Fall are amazing ! so excited to walk near the Fall. can see beautiful rainbow, also we been to in the Rainbow !!
also we been to Village Tour, Kids are so friendly and so cute !

Room is big and tidy. outside shower is good.
Near the Room the Hippo Moto Moto Living here. He sometime come to see us ; )
so close to see him.

Food is excellent ! we can order A la carte menu. everyday different and all good.

Staff are kind and Friendly : )

南アフリカ旅行の最初のキャンプがTOKA LEYAでした。
キャンプといっても綺麗なお部屋で思っていた以上に素敵な感じでした。
野生動物もいろいろな種類に出会え、興奮しました。
白サイは特別保護区域におり、銃を持った警備員たちに守られていました。子供のサイがいるため、やや興奮気味とのことでしたがすごく近くまで行き観察できました。
お食事も問題なく美味しくいただきました。
メニューからのオーダーで美味しくって食べ過ぎてしまいました。
ここはいろいろなアクティビティーがあり、ゲームドライブはもちろんビクトリアフォールへ行けたり、川をボートでくだったりと飽きることもなく、楽しく過ごすことが出来ました。
あとビレッジにも行けて、昔ながらのアフリカの村を見学することも出来、良い体験しました。

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koyukioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear koyukioz,

Thank you for the divine review for Toka Leya. Sinda Village is a great project that we all enjoy being a part of.

Guests staying at Toka Leya can visit Sinde Village and will be guided around the village by one of the local villagers. Once guests arrive in the village, they will be taken to the pre-school to meet one of the village guides, both of whom are teachers at the pre-school. They will then be given a tour of the pre-school. From there the tour proceeds to Twabuka Middle Basic School, where we have a number of projects running, including a Children in the Wilderness Eco-Club. At the school, one can see the trees planted by the Eco-Club, as well as the school vegetable garden. Then, the tour moves to the centre of the village, with a visit to a homestead and the local shop. The whole tour takes approximately two hours and is included as an activity at Toka Leya.

Thank you for your contribution to this great cause.
The Team at Toka Leya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Toka Leya for 3 days, 2 nights in March 2014. Beautiful location, right on the river. We loved our room, although the air con stopped working after the first few hours - they were very helpful and moved us to a different room, which was great. We loved every meal! Missed seeing Moto Moto, the resident hippo, but apparently he was there just after we had gone to bed. We did a micro-light and whitewater rafting trip while staying in Zambia and both come highly recommended from both my husband and I!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hengbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your decorous review, we are sorry to hear there was a problem with your room upon checkin but glad that this was rectified immediately. We have also done recent room checks and can assure you that all air-cons are, at this time, in full operation. It is a pity you did not encounter Moto-Moto he really is quite something.

Our resident young male hippo has become a Toka Leya Camp feature and this chap definitely feels he owns our camp surrounds as he takes it upon himself to entertain the guests. The text books would have to be rewritten if we were to rely solely on his behaviour: Moto Moto, unlike other hippos, spends almost all his life out of the water, creating confusion among guests whose guides have described hippos as having sun-sensitive skin. The wet days we have been experiencing are certainly in his favour, allowing him to stay out of the river for extended periods of time. There is never has a dull moment when he is around as he is always doing something every time you look at him. One such incident made a young guest describe him as a dancing hippo!

Thank you again.
The Team at Toka Leya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was traveling solo and stayed two nights, on the way from Kruger to the Okavango Delta. My goal was to see Victoria Falls; Toka Leya handled that very well. In addition, we were able to see a herd of white rhinos, which are under guard 24 hours a day in Zambia (there was a USD10 charge for this, but well worth it). The accommodations were fantastic, as was the food. Traveling solo, one sometimes worries about dining alone -- but, the staff made sure that didn't happen, and I actually had one meal with the manager, which was very enlightening as to the challenges in operating a camp like Toka Leya

The evening ride along the Zambezi river watching the sunset was memorable. And, the tent had air conditioning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginsburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ginsburl,

Thank you for your delightful review of our great Camp.

The Rhino tracking is a guest favourite at Toka Leya, the cost of which is covered in the inclusive package. However the US$ 10 which you referred to is an extra charge that is only payable when in camp and once the availability of this activity has been confirmed. This "gratuity" is paid to the ZAWA (Zambian Wildlife Authority) Guard who dedicates all his time following and protecting these majestic creatures.

Thank you again for your review
The Team at Toka Leya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Toka Leya Camp is an amazing experience. Victoria Falls is absolutely fabulous. Be sure and go when the river is high. The Zambezi River and Rhino walk are not t o be missed.

The tents are nicer than most hotel rooms. A spacious deck overlooks the Zambezi. Wild animals wonder the camp at night including the local hippo Moto Moto.

The food is very good and the staff is friendly, attentive and hard working.

Victoria falls is the big attraction and is an experience you will never forget. We did a rhino walk that allowed us to get within 15 feet of them. If your not afraid this is a must do. We also went tiger fishing. Be sure to go early in the morning. They put up a good fight and are very smart fish.

Toka Leya is a great property with amenities you wouldn't expect. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only 12 tents. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MfBuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear MfBuilders,

Thank you for your enlightening review of Toka Leya. We are glad you enjoyed your Rhino walk as well as getting to see the infamous Moto-Moto.

Toka Leya’s location means that there is plenty to do here, from cruising down the Zambezi to visiting Victoria Falls, exploring Livingstone town to game driving through Mosioa-Tunya National Park. The Park has species such as buffalo, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, impala and white rhino, while hippo, crocodile and elephant are regularly seen in or near the Zambezi.

Thanks again
The Toka Leya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
6.7 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
6.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp
Address: Parks Road, Livingstone, Zambia (Formerly Toka Leya Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A safari-style sanctuary situated right on the banks of the Zambezi River, Toka Leya provides a peaceful wilderness experience just 12 km away from the iconic Victoria Falls. It is the perfectplace to unwind for a few nights before or after a safari, or visit as a stand-alone destination. With luxurious outdoor baths, a wellness centre complete with yoga/meditation deck and your private veranda overlooking the rushing, roaring river, there is ample space to relax - or set off on one of the many adventurous activities on offer, from white rhino tracking to bungee jumping. • 12 tents (3 family) • Victoria Falls tour • river cruises • game drives • nature walks • village visits • spa and gym • catch-and-release fishing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toka Leya Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing