We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Honeymoon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

As part of our Honeymoon, I surprised my wife with a four night stay at Toka Leya! We had the most amazing time, the Staff and Resort was so warm and hospitable, we really started our honeymoon in the most amazing fashion! The food was great and the Traditional Thursday entertainment was an absolute treat as the staff made some of the Local beer and treats that were unusual! I would love to return there soon and would recommended Toya Leka to anyone wanting to get out of a weekend and special Occasion! We were there for four nights and it didn’t seem long enough!
Thank you to the Staff for making it memorable!
Yours Sincerely
Gavin Ferreira

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    29
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
82
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

For a special birthday treat for my golfer-husband we went down to Livingstone (from Lusaka) to Toka-Leya Lodge. It was our third visit here (though there are many nice lodges in L'stone) because we love the location and the ambience. Manager Petros welcomed us warmly, and made us feel right at home, and so did the rest of the staff.
Golfing is not normally on the list of lodge activities, but guests can use the L'stone golf course (and rent clubs) and have a good game.
Apart from visiting the Falls, the gamepark (including a special trip to see the rhinos), and doing a bird-walk, we didn't do the other activities included in the price (which we have done many times before), except for sundowner cruises which we shared with international guests. Meeting people - a mix of international and local tourists - is part of the attraction at Toka-Leya.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cataractophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Beautiful location by the Zambezi; Canvas lodges were really special - absolutely magical to hear the noises during the night and watch the elephants from our veranda; Staff were superb and could not do enough for us - great fun too! Visit to the falls, the 'village' and the Livingstone museum were great add-ons to the sunset cruise and the game drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishbelsutherland2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Probably the most 'rustic' of the accomodations we stayed in on our trip, Toka Leya provided the perfect combination of comfort, service and facilities with a 'real' feel of Africa. I mean this as the highest compliment as the place was faultless.
From the attentive and friendly staff to the delicious food and wines, Toka Leya provided a perfect memory to end our African Adventure.
Set on the bank of the Zambezi River and a short drive to Victoria Falls, it was in the perfect location. However, the biggest thrill of all was walkign out onto our private deck and seeing a hippo standing right near! Another night we had a small herd of elephants casually stroll by near the camp and the ever-present vervet monkeys were delightful entertainment.

We were fortunate enough to be staying on the night they celebrated Zambia Independence Day (24th October) and the camp laid on a small party for both staff and guests - which included a wonderful singing recital by a local band (which you can see my wife happily joined in with her dancing).
A truly wonderfu and magical experience. We just LOVED it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at this Wilderness Safaris Camp during our trip to Livingstone Zambia largely because tour companies had booked all the rooms at the Zambezi Sun due to the World Cup. Even months ahead, we could not secure a room there, so our agent suggested Toka Leya. I was so glad she did! While most of our trip was safari in Botswana, we had planned to see Victoria Falls and participate in some of the many “tourist” activities here before moving into the bush where the main activity would be game watching and tourists would be rare!
By staying here, it felt like we had already started our safari. It was fun to stay in tents (that are appointed like a hotel room!) and participate in the activities that were guided by WS guides and therefore much more intimate and personalized than a group arranged by tour desk at a large lodge or hotel. For instance we were able to tour Simonga Village (a village where WS has participated in development projects) have a game drive in Mosi Oa Tunya National park, tour the Victoria Falls on foot and visit the Livingstone museum, with our own vehicle and guide. (these activities were included in the price of the camp)
While all these activities can be arranged while staying at any lodging in Livingstone, our experience with one Toka Leya activity illustrates the difference. We went on a “Sunset River Cruise” on the Zambei River on our first afternoon after arriving. We went with our on guide (and other guests stating at TL) on small boats that seated only 6 people. The part of the Zambezi where TL is located was serene and wild, we noticed very little development, only the birds, hippos, elephants and crocs! However, as we cruised closer to the falls, nearer to sunset, we noticed large “booze cruises” filled with dozens of people, loud music blaring, camera flashes popping, drinks flowing. Any real wildlife in the area was moving away quickly- we did too! Our party looked at each other and immediately thanked our lucky stars we had participated in this activity with the TL camp rather than booking a “sunset cruise” elsewhere, as we would have been very unhappy with that scene!
The Toka Leya driver also happily drove us (and shared cultural commentary and answered every question along the way!) to other “additional cost” activities we had selected, so if there is something in Livingstone you’d like to do, it was cheerfully accommodated. We did the “Flight of Angels” helicopter flight and an elephant back safari, both of which were scheduled at our convenience and extra cost.

Location: This camp is located right on the banks of the Zambezi (iconic moment: having a hot river stone massage while listening to a hippo grunting!) in a quiet area about a 15-20 minute drive from the airport and the center of Livingstone. It is adjoining the Mosi Oa Tunya National Park, so river cruises and game drives start right at the camp. It never felt too far to fit in the many activities that are offered by other outfitters in Livingstone. Everything seemed to be about a 20 minute ride and we strung together a few activities that were located in the same area ( for example Flight of Angels and Livingstone museum on one morning and a tour of Victoria Falls and a visit to the Simonga Village on another morning)

Service: One thing about staying at a Wilderness Camp, is that absolutely everything is done for you, and you can really ask for absolutely anything you could need or want and it will be cheerfully granted. We are not particularly demanding, but we didn’t make a request they couldn’t accommodate! Most of our requests were around trying to fit an awful lot into a day, because this is how we travel, and the guides and managers here made it all happen just the way we wanted it! We spent less time in camp here because of the many activities, but the housekeeping, restaurant and bar staff are also very friendly, warm and accommodating. The managers, Bus, Susanna, and Dani, engaged us and shared stories and in the case f Bus and Susanna, being new to Zambia and Wilderness, their sense of wonder with us. It was a delightful. Our guide Amon, was attentive and worked hard to make our teens first experiences with wildlife in Africa exciting. My spa attendant was also very good, and helped me feel comfortable and relaxed.

Common Areas and Theme: This camp is beautiful; rustic in a very elegant way. Witness the capiz shell chandeliers and furniture made from “found” objects that looks like fine art! The set up is breathtaking, raised walkways wending past tents, curio shop onto a huge covered dining deck, further on to the covered outdoor lounge and bar area, beyond in one direction to the pool deck and in the other down to the star deck, fire circle and waterfront. All with fabulous views of the Zambezi River, and the sound of hippos snorting and birds calling. If you look up “idyllic” in the dictionary you may find a photo of this camp!!

Dining: <Disclaimer: I am probably not the best person to review food, as I am a food for fuel person, but we had a diverse group; a vegetarian, 2 “foodie” adults, one a Brit, and 3 teens, one not so adventurous, and the food was positively reviewed by everyone in our group, and everyone found plenty to enjoy at every meal!>
While this camp is rated by Wilderness as one of their “Classic“ camps, which usually means buffet style meals, at this camp the food was plated and we found it to be excellent. There was a nice variety of options at lunch and breakfast (breakfast is a buffet style with eggs cooked to order and brought to your table). At dinner there were at least a few options and so many appetizers and sides that even the pickiest eater would be hard pressed not to like something! One thing that was great for my teens ( and my DH) was pizza offered at lunch.

Rooms/tents: The 12 tents are set along a board walk, all with views of the Zambezi from a huge private deck with a pair of lounge chairs, a table and chairs (and a neat old dugout canoe!) WS bills itself as a conservation company and therefore the views are not “clearcut” to the river; the view includes some native vegetation along the river banks. It is a tent only in that there is actual canvas on the roof, but the door is a sliding glass door and the sides of the structure are made of wood. Inside the floors are hardwood and there is a dividing wall that separates the bedroom, with a big comfy king (or made up as twins set close together under one mosquito net), and the bath which has a toilet compartment, twin sinks and separate shower. There is also an outdoor shower with a view of the river accessible from the indoor shower. With screening and placement of furniture, you feel totally alone and private while on your deck even though the tents are not very far away from one another.

Activities and Game: There are all the activities I mentioned above plus more than I can detail here. Note to planners: we had considered 2 nights and then opted for 3, we were so very glad we did. There are so many wonderful activities, unless you want to just check out the Falls and move on, you’ll need 2 days! The River Cruise was excellent, with nice surprises (I won’t spoil it for you here) and beautiful scenery. The game drive in the National Park had very varied game and most of it was very near to the road, so even though off road is prohibited, you will have no trouble seeing the animals. There are no large cats or other predators here, so we saw many antelope (we saw lots of species - impala, giraffe, Cape buffalo, waterbuck) and elephant, warthogs, croc, water monitor lizard and hippos. Because the park is small it has the feel of being a safari park, or open style zoo. But the animals are free to roam and it’s thrill to see them in the wild interacting. As this was our first stop, it was exciting because everything was new to us!
There are also two small spa rooms and the ladies come around with the spa menu if you want to plan a treatment during the day, they will be ready for you.
The visit to Simonga village was a must for our teens. A local guide (the shopkeeper) took us through his traditional village and shared information on the many development projects that have been done by international organizations you have probably supported in the past. It was nice to see a village full of cheerful, friendly people benefiting, but also just living their lives, this did not feel like people putting on a show. This felt like a village that had a relationship with the people of WS. Our Toka Leya guide brought photos from another previous guest, and the people were thrilled to see him and their photos! We brought many of those stretchy elastic wrist bands that the kids all trade and our only mistake was giving them to the children too early, and like all preschoolers, they pestered us the rest of the tour to practice their English and give them more bracelets, and we couldn’t hear the guide talking about the projects. You don’t need to bring gifts, this is one of those things that some people really debate, for us, it was a matter of our kids bringing something to break the ice with other kids! But the kids were delightful; my daughter who sings in her local church choir was able to sing with the village church choir who were practicing under a tree.
Of course you come here for the Falls, and our guide did an excellent job taking us on a walking tour of the Falls. This a major international tourist destination, with major amounts of international tourists and having a local guide knowledgeable about the place and people, and preparing everything (rain ponchos etc) for our little group made it very special!
Our “pay on your own” activities were the Elephant back safari with Safari Par Excellence, and it was fun. One of my teens had riding an elephant on her wish list . After a safety briefing, we were introduced to our elephant and driver (2 people per ellie, you’ll be matched if you are not paired) and we boarded (from a platform) and headed into the bush in the National Park. There are animals to see, including a wild bull who mock charged our group -very exciting! Though we were never in danger due to the advance guide with a warning rifle, he did not need to use! But the most exciting animals were the ones we were riding. What a thrill to be part of the social network that is the elephant herd. The tiny baby marching along side her mother, the adolescents wandering off or stopping to eat and needing to be prodded along, the seemingly magical way the whole herd of enormous animals moves along silently and in unison! After we returned, we got to reward our elephants with a little bag of feed, pose for photos, have drinks and snacks and wait for it…(the digital age has arrived) there was an opportunity to view and purchase the video.
Another, extra for our group was the “Flight of Angels”, again this is the money shot…if you are coming all this way to see the Falls, find a way to splurge and see them from the air somehow. We did the helicopter, it was very short, but breathtaking and made for a nice “orientation” before our walking tour of the Falls. Snacks were extra, but there is a beautiful spot for non fliers to wait, with distant views of the Falls steam. Video is available here too.
There are some wonderful entertainment and other surprises that are part of the stay at Toka Leya, I was delighted that I hadn’t heard about all of them before I left, so I’ll leave it at that…if you must know…you can send me a PM!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Toka Leya consist of 12 raised tented units. The decor is nice and comfortable. The camp is a bit upstream from Victoria falls. Toka Leya is right on the Zambezi, providing for outstanding views and potential wildlife sightings. There are no other camps nearby giving Toka Leya and exclusive vibe. It is just comfortable.

Beyond the relaxed atmosphere, what stood out for us was the service. We were looking to relax and had our itinerary planned for us. The staff changed it on a whim and catered to our needs. The staff met our every request with a smile and worked hard to engage with us. The staff just seemed to be one step ahead of every request we could have possibly made. Food and drinks were excellent as well.

Highlights were the nightly sundowner cruise, the spa, and the local band brought in for entertainment. Sundowners were on a small toka leya boat, that allowed us to simply relax and enjoy the scenery. The spa service was fantastic. One of the best massages I have had. With respect to the local band, I am not sure how often they play, but the jam and dance session by the fire pit was a definite highlight for us... Toka Leya was the perfect way to wind down a long trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcafarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Toka Leya. The staff was warm and attentive; the food good, the setting magnificent, right on the Zambezi. The accomodations are a little more rustic than other Falls options such as Royal Livingstone, etc., but that was fine with me. The tents are quite luxurious (for tents), with the exception that winter mornings in Zambia were, to my great surprise, COLD, and the heater in the tents really couldn't chase all the cold away. But I just cocooned in the four poster bed and was fine.

The food was well prepared and tasty. The bar was always open. To enable us to see the World Cup semifinal, the Lodge sent those of us interested on a bus into Livingstone to watch the game in a restored 1931 theatre, which was quite a treat in itself. We also took advantage of the game drives and village visit. We are espectially grateful to Susanna, Bos, and Amon for their great work with us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
6.7 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
6.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
394 reviews
6.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.4 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp
Address: Parks Road, Livingstone, Zambia (Formerly Toka Leya Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A safari-style sanctuary situated right on the banks of the Zambezi River, Toka Leya provides a peaceful wilderness experience just 12 km away from the iconic Victoria Falls. It is the perfectplace to unwind for a few nights before or after a safari, or visit as a stand-alone destination. With luxurious outdoor baths, a wellness centre complete with yoga/meditation deck and your private veranda overlooking the rushing, roaring river, there is ample space to relax - or set off on one of the many adventurous activities on offer, from white rhino tracking to bungee jumping. • 12 tents (3 family) • Victoria Falls tour • river cruises • game drives • nature walks • village visits • spa and gym • catch-and-release fishing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toka Leya Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing