We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small piece of Paradise found near Victoria Falls in Zambia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taita Falcon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taita Falcon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A small piece of Paradise found near Victoria Falls in Zambia”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We were a group of ten extended family from Botswana, South Africa, Switzerland and Australia. On arrival we were met by the fantastic view of the 17th Gorge and the Mighty Zambezi, 200 meters below the Deck we werre vstanding on. The hospitality was first class and very friendly. The cuisine was extremely good and the tastes of Africa were very evident in the fare. You want for nothing at the Lodge and there are many fantastic activities to do from the Lodge and from the Waterfront in nearby Livingstone. The view of the Falls from the Zambian side is fantastic and is an example of Nature at her most beautiful. You see the power of the Mighty Zambezi when you look over the edge of the Falls and realise how small we are. We all had a fantastic time and will definitely look at returning to Taita Falcon Lodge to experience the Peace and Tranquility that is found at the Lodge. The staff are very efficient, professional and above all friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botsbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were camping there for one night on our way to Kariba Lake but we would have liked to stay longer because of the exellence of this quite and piecefull place. The staff surely know's about service and 2 security guards was watching over us the entire night (out of sight). The camp was clean and most comfortable. We will definately go back to Taita Falcon Lodge / Peregrine's Nest.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lenette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at Taita Falcon for 3 nights after our ten day camping safari through Botswana. The lodge is a 30 minute drive out of Livingstone and great if you want seclusion. Great view of the river below and the whitewater rafters - which we did and the rafting was sensational. At Taita Falcon we were the only guests and the hospitality was first class and the food pretty good. But they charge you $50 everytime you want to go anywhere. In October it was also very hot (40+C). There's prtobably better value accommodation in Livingstone or Vic Falls

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our party of 9 (4 couples + our 4 yr old son) stayed for only one night on our way from South Luangwa National Park to South Africa and then home, as we had a connecting flight in Livingstone. Didn’t have much of an opportunity to experience the lodge so can only say that the views were great, the food (dinner and breakfast) all good and the service friendly, helpful and responsive. The chalets were rustic and simple thatch syle, but comfortable.
Nice lodge, but quite a drive to get to it. I would recommend it for a tranquil rest, but not necessarily for those who want to go in and out of Livingstone a couple of times a day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkalamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Taita Falcon Lodge has the possibility of being really nice, but fell a bit short for us. As others have mentioned, the road is very rough and takes 45 minutes to go the 11 km. This effectively cuts about an hour out of the day compared to the time for a smooth road. This should be communicated to potential customers so they can decide if this is acceptable before they book. Another area that should be understood before booking is the electricity. Other than solar powered lights, the only electricity available is from around 6 PM to around 11 PM when the generator is running. Further, we were not told that we had an outlet in the chalet, but were told to bring any batteries for charging, etc. to the bar area for charging in the evening. This proved to be inconvenient for cameras, and totally unacceptable for charging our notebook computers. The four ladies in our group also could not use their hair driers or curling irons. We accidentally found a single outlet that was 'hot' when the generator was running, but it was the third day of our stay by then. As with the road, this situation may be perfectly acceptable if known in advance, but is unpleasant as a surprise.

Two of our chalets had hot water problems the first two days. In one, there was a strong gas smell when we arrived and we were told that the 'geyser' (tankless heater) had been fixed that day and it should be OK. After dinner we found no hot water for showers - not fun. We reported the problem the next morning and were told when we returned that it was fixed. Again, no hot water. After several minutes of work they said that the propane tank was empty and brought a full one. Still no hot water. When I complained more firmly at the bar Faan, the owner, came over and determined the line was partially blocked somewhere and they got if flowing properly, allowing the geyser to work. Two days of no hot water for what should have been a simple fix before we arrived.

Gripes out of the way, the lodge was otherwise great. The location and views are wonderful, the food was great and the chalets are nice - we slept well under our dunas. surrounded by mosquito netting. Our guide, Brighton, was wonderful - knowledgeable and friendly, putting up with all of our questions and changes of plans very cheerfully, but we found the rest of the staff to be light on real customer service, sitting at the bar smoking and talking among themselves rather than spending time with the clients.

Summing up, had we known ahead of time the situation with the road and electricity, I believe we would still have come and it would have been a better experience without the surprises. I would recommend it to anyone who understands its quirks and likes a semi-luxury experience in an 'off the grid' environment. All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donlboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

First, we are experienced travellers who have staid in various lodges and camps in different countries and continents. We know what to expect from a five-star hotel as well as from a jungle camp.
The Taita location high above the Zambezi river (downriver from the falls) is exceptional, though it takes 45-60 minutes to get there or to go anywhere, and they charge you each time for using their driver. The place and the huts have a primitive charm, away from civilization. The food was quite good and the service very friendly. Unfortunately the water pump broke down several times during our stay, so repeatedly we couldn't have a shower or had to wait for water bags to be brought in. This inconvenience should have been compensated by a substantial discount on the room rate, but the owners only offered us one transport free of charge (approx. USD 50)! Forget the pool, it didn't work and anyway it is tiny, impossible to swim in.
Everything in Zambia is very expensive, but here we got a feeling of being ripped off, even the welcome drinks were charged. We know we can't expect 5 star comfort in the middle of nowhere, but running water is a basic requirement at the price we paid. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have changed to one of the hotels upriver from the falls.
Don't waste your money on the luxury sunset cruises, but if you dare, do the canoe trip - it is a fantastic experience, though we wouldn't recommend it if you never canoed before, as there are some rapids, and you get really close to crocodiles and hippos! However the guides are very competent and reassuring.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanston
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Hello Oom Faan, en Tannie Ann Marie. It's Scottie here. A lot has happened in the last 3 years since I was at Taita Falcon. My Sister in-law is pregnant with her 2nd. I now have a girl friend, her name is Natasha, the love of my life at the moment. I would love to come back as a guest, with my girlfriend. How is everyone? Please send my wishes to my knight in shining armour, Brian. Miss you guys stacks. My Folks want me to be there guide at the lodge, so maybe, I could crack a nod. Lots of Luv, Scotty Hawkins.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkins1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.3 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
5.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,605 reviews
17.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
371 reviews
8.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.8 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taita Falcon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taita Falcon Lodge

Property: Taita Falcon Lodge
Address: Batoka Gorge | Mukuni, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taita Falcon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taita Falcon Lodge is only 11 km from the Victoria Falls and is stunningly perched 200m above the Zambezi on the edge of the Batoka Gorge and is a luxurious bush experience at the Victoria Falls. Owner managed, the lodge's focus is on providing personalized service to each individual client. With only 7 chalets, the lodge offers an intimate stay or an exclusive venue to smaller groups. Each spacious chalet is en-suite with its own private garden and outdoor shower. The chalets are constructed of reed and stone with 3/4 walls bringing the outside in. All creature comforts are catered for in their elegantly down to earth design. Chalets are individually prepared as double, twin, triple or family rooms. The indigenous gardens are blended with "bush zen" sand gardens at the lodge entrance and chalet exteriors, and a "green theme" around the swimming pool. There is a boma where evening winter meals are hosted around an open fire. The large viewing deck and adjacent lounge play host to meals and pre-dinner drinks in conjunction to providing expansive views downstream and miles beyond! Our meals are hearty "Afrikaans style" cooking with healthy options prepared in conjunction. We offer full board packages as well as fully inclusive tour packages incorporating visits to the Victoria Falls, cultural village tours, guided bush and bird walks, game drives and a sunset cruise. Any of the numerous activities in the region can easily be arranged by the Lodge. A paradise for birders, Taita also offers guided hiking trails in and around the Batoka Gorge.An ideal beginning or ending to your African Safari - spend a few days taking in the natural wonder of the Victoria Falls and the many adventure activities that the region has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taita Falcon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing