We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

The common areas (garden, cafe-restaurant) are really nice but the rooms (at least the double rooms; we stayed in number 6) are quite basic and very small, lacking any charm and character. Staff were helpful and nice (though they forgot to pick us up at the airport) and food at the restaurant was good. But I cannot help but wonder if there are not better value places in Livingstone, considering we paid 70 USD per night for the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
39
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

Zig Zag is a great little unpretentious compound on the main road to Victoria Falls. The owner, Lynne Mendelsohn is an English expat who has made Zambia her new home. Nothing is too much trouble, Lynne and her staff ensure that everyone driving through the gates of Zigzag is made to feel like one of the family.
They have a highly efficient tour booking service, a lovely restaurant with an outdoor seating area shaded by overhanging guava trees and, in the landscaped gardens deeper inside the property, a cool and inviting pool for those hot Zambian afternoons.
It's not difficult to see why Zigzag has become such an institution in Livingstone. Oh, and did I mention the very reasonable prices?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RimmerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights, Lynne the owner was extremely helpful, friendly-even giving out free carrot cake one evening in the bar! The rooms were immaculate, no bugs whatsoever, fantastic showers and mossie nets.

It is very good value for money, breakfast is fab and our lunch was delicious.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittychan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

There are about 15 room laid out in an L shape on one side of a nice, gravel courtyard. Three of us stayed in room #9 at the Zig Zag, which is the family room, consisting of a queen sized bed and twin bunk beds. The lower bed has very little head room but all beds were very comfortable. Room #9 had a nice bathroom, air conditioning and good lighting. Note that the bathroom doors were made from bamboo reeds. Since it's a three bed room, chances are good you'll be sharing the room so a little more privacy in the bathroom would have been nice.

There are chairs and small tables outside each room. Unfortunately, a couple of slobs in Room #10 used the tables as their personal garbage can, leaving trash and empty bottles for the staff to clean up.

The restaurant and check in area are great. It's a very relaxed atmosphere. Check-in was easy we ate both lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Smoothies are excellent, nachos, top notch, and good burgers and sandwiches. The breakfast is also great. Fresh eggs and very good coffee is a great way to start the day. It was chilly in the morning so bundle up since the restaurant is quite open to the elements. There is also a nice selection of crafts in the reception area and the prices are good if you don't have a chance to get to the market in town.

The outside patio area is great and was often filled with people with a beer or coffee. The pool was really nice. Very chilly, but very refreshing.

My only beef is that we got our cleaning done and a few pieces went missing. It was my fault not to check when I got the bag of clean clothes back, since we were in a hurry to get to the airport. When I found out we were missing a few things, it was too late to contact them. I'd suggest checking as soon as you get your things back to make sure they're all there.

Wifi was available in the reception area but did not work in the room (although room 9 is the farthest from the reception area.)

It is a long walk into town. I'd suggest taking a taxi which is easily arranged by reception.

Great place, I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at ZigZag whilst on our honeymoon. After two flights we were met by the lodge owner Lynne at the airport and whisked back to this peaceful lodge in central Livingstone. We were immediately made at home and were given lots of advice on what we could pack into our three days.

We were then taken to our room which they had decorated with balloons and 'Just Married' signs which was a lovely touch. The room here was very comfortable, nice double bed with a mosquito net and plenty of hot water which was bliss after being on safari for four days! The breakfast was fresh and good and the restaurant serves a good range of lunches, dinners and snacks. At the bar I would reccomend a G&T or a Mosi beer! The pool area is lovely and the garden is a must see, it's very pretty and very well tended.

The greatest thing about the lodge was the staff, they were great, very attentive and Lynne was brilliant, easy to chat too and really informative about what to do see or the area in general. The advice given was genuine and throughout our stay if we had any problems the lodge resolved them for us which was brilliant. Whilst we were there the lodge hosted a little flea market and bake sale to raise funds for local charities and it was lovely to chat to the stall holders and great to see the lodge really helping the local community.

The lodge is very safe and is gated so only residents use the pool area and if you need to get to the Falls or anywhere at any time they have some really great local taxi drivers who they know and trust. I would reccomend Scotch who was our driver throughout and he was lovely, good knowledge, friendly and he even came to watch me bunji jump just for fun!

We would definetly stay here again. Great lodge and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were really well looked after at Zig Zag and it had everything which we needed. Great little pool, calm and beautifully well kept gardens. A peaceful place to escape the heat. The staff were really friendly and the cafe had some great comfort food (especially the muffins and cupcakes).
Perfect place to stop for a couple of nights to enjoy the falls and other activities in Livingstone - all of which can be booked on site (don't bother with the tourist information office in town (unless you just want to see how not to manage tourism) - its useless and only offers the same (though a smaller selection of tours).

Only advice - do book ahead.

The rooms are quaint - but obviously not 5* (there are plenty of other places offering that in town if you want to pay). Brighter bulbs would be good - just so you can read at night.

Do go to the Livingstone museum - its delightful (see if you can spot some government messages amongst the displays) - and has a large No. of David Livingstone's original letters.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenelopePittstop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at ZigZag’s and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves nice food and is open from early in the morning to late at night, which makes it handy if you don’t want to leave the property for a meal. You can book all your activities/tours from reception and i would highly recommend the elephant back safari/interaction and a sunset cruise. Just an FYI – if you’re heading to Zambia make sure you have a VISA card and a pin for it, as none of the ATM’s in Livingstone accept MasterCard or Maestro/Cirrus eftpos/debit cards. We found this out the hard way, but were lucky enough to be there on a week day and could go into the bank in town to withdraw cash from our MasterCard with a teller.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Wanderers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#6 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing