We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Livingstone”
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #4 of 30 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2009

There are about 15 room laid out in an L shape on one side of a nice, gravel courtyard. Three of us stayed in room #9 at the Zig Zag, which is the family room, consisting of a queen sized bed and twin bunk beds. The lower bed has very little head room but all beds were very comfortable. Room #9 had a nice bathroom, air conditioning and good lighting. Note that the bathroom doors were made from bamboo reeds. Since it's a three bed room, chances are good you'll be sharing the room so a little more privacy in the bathroom would have been nice.

There are chairs and small tables outside each room. Unfortunately, a couple of slobs in Room #10 used the tables as their personal garbage can, leaving trash and empty bottles for the staff to clean up.

The restaurant and check in area are great. It's a very relaxed atmosphere. Check-in was easy we ate both lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Smoothies are excellent, nachos, top notch, and good burgers and sandwiches. The breakfast is also great. Fresh eggs and very good coffee is a great way to start the day. It was chilly in the morning so bundle up since the restaurant is quite open to the elements. There is also a nice selection of crafts in the reception area and the prices are good if you don't have a chance to get to the market in town.

The outside patio area is great and was often filled with people with a beer or coffee. The pool was really nice. Very chilly, but very refreshing.

My only beef is that we got our cleaning done and a few pieces went missing. It was my fault not to check when I got the bag of clean clothes back, since we were in a hurry to get to the airport. When I found out we were missing a few things, it was too late to contact them. I'd suggest checking as soon as you get your things back to make sure they're all there.

Wifi was available in the reception area but did not work in the room (although room 9 is the farthest from the reception area.)

It is a long walk into town. I'd suggest taking a taxi which is easily arranged by reception.

Great place, I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Zigzag B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at ZigZag whilst on our honeymoon. After two flights we were met by the lodge owner Lynne at the airport and whisked back to this peaceful lodge in central Livingstone. We were immediately made at home and were given lots of advice on what we could pack into our three days.

We were then taken to our room which they had decorated with balloons and 'Just Married' signs which was a lovely touch. The room here was very comfortable, nice double bed with a mosquito net and plenty of hot water which was bliss after being on safari for four days! The breakfast was fresh and good and the restaurant serves a good range of lunches, dinners and snacks. At the bar I would reccomend a G&T or a Mosi beer! The pool area is lovely and the garden is a must see, it's very pretty and very well tended.

The greatest thing about the lodge was the staff, they were great, very attentive and Lynne was brilliant, easy to chat too and really informative about what to do see or the area in general. The advice given was genuine and throughout our stay if we had any problems the lodge resolved them for us which was brilliant. Whilst we were there the lodge hosted a little flea market and bake sale to raise funds for local charities and it was lovely to chat to the stall holders and great to see the lodge really helping the local community.

The lodge is very safe and is gated so only residents use the pool area and if you need to get to the Falls or anywhere at any time they have some really great local taxi drivers who they know and trust. I would reccomend Scotch who was our driver throughout and he was lovely, good knowledge, friendly and he even came to watch me bunji jump just for fun!

We would definetly stay here again. Great lodge and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephine_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were really well looked after at Zig Zag and it had everything which we needed. Great little pool, calm and beautifully well kept gardens. A peaceful place to escape the heat. The staff were really friendly and the cafe had some great comfort food (especially the muffins and cupcakes).
Perfect place to stop for a couple of nights to enjoy the falls and other activities in Livingstone - all of which can be booked on site (don't bother with the tourist information office in town (unless you just want to see how not to manage tourism) - its useless and only offers the same (though a smaller selection of tours).

Only advice - do book ahead.

The rooms are quaint - but obviously not 5* (there are plenty of other places offering that in town if you want to pay). Brighter bulbs would be good - just so you can read at night.

Do go to the Livingstone museum - its delightful (see if you can spot some government messages amongst the displays) - and has a large No. of David Livingstone's original letters.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenelopePittstop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at ZigZag’s and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves nice food and is open from early in the morning to late at night, which makes it handy if you don’t want to leave the property for a meal. You can book all your activities/tours from reception and i would highly recommend the elephant back safari/interaction and a sunset cruise. Just an FYI – if you’re heading to Zambia make sure you have a VISA card and a pin for it, as none of the ATM’s in Livingstone accept MasterCard or Maestro/Cirrus eftpos/debit cards. We found this out the hard way, but were lucky enough to be there on a week day and could go into the bank in town to withdraw cash from our MasterCard with a teller.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2_Wanderers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This guesthouse feels very tranquil, set in gardens with a pool and plenty of tables outside where you can eat or have a drink. The room I had was a bit on the small side but well planned and the shower was very powerful. My only comment would be that the curtains were a bit skimpy. The service was excellent and the food is freshly prepared (it's open to the public as well). If you've been in Zambia a while, you'll appreciate the good coffee as many places just serve instant.
The location is not ideal if you want to spend much time in the town, as it's a bit too far to walk in comfortably in the heat. However there is a shopping centre nearby with supermarket and cash machines. It's on the way to the falls and there are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights after a two week camping safari.

It was absolute bliss walking into our bedroom with a queen bed and own bathroom with hot water after sleeping in tents for so long!

The motel is quite a hip little place with great gift shop, coffee shop and restaurant and a book exchange.

Our room, aside from comfy queen bed, had bedside tables, mosquito nets, shelves and an outdoor patio set.

The hotel is an easy walk into town if you need an ATM or the pharmacy, and there are several other restaurants close by.

Getting to the falls from here is pretty easy - the front desk will call you a cab if you like or you can take the local bus (but I didn't try this).

Sure, it's not the Zambezi or Livingstone 5 star lodges, but it really was a lovely place to stay and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I and another couple spent six days at Zigzag while visiting Victoria Falls in July 2006. It is a gated, secure and quiet location, just off the main road in Livingstone. The property had once been a warehouse and was renovated into the motel it is today. We were very pleased with the simple, small, yet very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Patio chairs outside the rooms under a shaded walkway provided a nice place to converse with our friends and to read, play cards, etc. (The lamps in the room are dim. I wanted to read and went to turn the light on... it was on! So, we went to sleep early... after six days we were thoroughly rested!) The bathroom light is bright. The restaurant had wonderful food and a full breakfast of choice was included with the room (about $60 USD per night for two). There is a small gift shop. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, arranging a safari and taxis. Iron pots with hot coals were provided next to our table to warm our hands and feet in the open dining room during the cold mornings. I was pleasantly surprised after dinner on my birthday when the kitchen/dining staff all came dancing and singing and presented cake with a lighted candle for us to enjoy, compliments of the motel. Zigzag is a pleasant, dusty walk to the center of town, David Livingstone's Museum, and a nearby railroad museum, as well as interesting shops and restaurants. After six days, we felt like family and even though there are lovely luxurious hotels near Vic Falls, we would certainly return again to Zigzag and it's comfortable, relaxing, friendly and very affordable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3mksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
21 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,746 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 86 in Livingstone
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 30 in Livingstone
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 86 in Livingstone
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $59 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing