We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #2 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at ZigZag’s and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves nice food and is open from early in the morning to late at night, which makes it handy if you don’t want to leave the property for a meal. You can book all your activities/tours from reception and i would highly recommend the elephant back safari/interaction and a sunset cruise. Just an FYI – if you’re heading to Zambia make sure you have a VISA card and a pin for it, as none of the ATM’s in Livingstone accept MasterCard or Maestro/Cirrus eftpos/debit cards. We found this out the hard way, but were lucky enough to be there on a week day and could go into the bank in town to withdraw cash from our MasterCard with a teller.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Wanderers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    58
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
41
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This guesthouse feels very tranquil, set in gardens with a pool and plenty of tables outside where you can eat or have a drink. The room I had was a bit on the small side but well planned and the shower was very powerful. My only comment would be that the curtains were a bit skimpy. The service was excellent and the food is freshly prepared (it's open to the public as well). If you've been in Zambia a while, you'll appreciate the good coffee as many places just serve instant.
The location is not ideal if you want to spend much time in the town, as it's a bit too far to walk in comfortably in the heat. However there is a shopping centre nearby with supermarket and cash machines. It's on the way to the falls and there are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights after a two week camping safari.

It was absolute bliss walking into our bedroom with a queen bed and own bathroom with hot water after sleeping in tents for so long!

The motel is quite a hip little place with great gift shop, coffee shop and restaurant and a book exchange.

Our room, aside from comfy queen bed, had bedside tables, mosquito nets, shelves and an outdoor patio set.

The hotel is an easy walk into town if you need an ATM or the pharmacy, and there are several other restaurants close by.

Getting to the falls from here is pretty easy - the front desk will call you a cab if you like or you can take the local bus (but I didn't try this).

Sure, it's not the Zambezi or Livingstone 5 star lodges, but it really was a lovely place to stay and unwind.

  • Liked — Private bathrooms, book exchange
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I and another couple spent six days at Zigzag while visiting Victoria Falls in July 2006. It is a gated, secure and quiet location, just off the main road in Livingstone. The property had once been a warehouse and was renovated into the motel it is today. We were very pleased with the simple, small, yet very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Patio chairs outside the rooms under a shaded walkway provided a nice place to converse with our friends and to read, play cards, etc. (The lamps in the room are dim. I wanted to read and went to turn the light on... it was on! So, we went to sleep early... after six days we were thoroughly rested!) The bathroom light is bright. The restaurant had wonderful food and a full breakfast of choice was included with the room (about $60 USD per night for two). There is a small gift shop. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, arranging a safari and taxis. Iron pots with hot coals were provided next to our table to warm our hands and feet in the open dining room during the cold mornings. I was pleasantly surprised after dinner on my birthday when the kitchen/dining staff all came dancing and singing and presented cake with a lighted candle for us to enjoy, compliments of the motel. Zigzag is a pleasant, dusty walk to the center of town, David Livingstone's Museum, and a nearby railroad museum, as well as interesting shops and restaurants. After six days, we felt like family and even though there are lovely luxurious hotels near Vic Falls, we would certainly return again to Zigzag and it's comfortable, relaxing, friendly and very affordable atmosphere.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Dim lightbulbs, small room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3mksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We stayed at ZigZag bed and breakfast on the last two nights of 2006, it is found within a one and a half acre site on the outskirts of Livingstone, it is just off the main road and is within 10 minutes walk of the main high street area and 5 minutes the other way to the new shopping centre. Victoria Falls is about 10 minutes taxi drive away.

ZigZag is based around a cafe which provides very good food throughout the day. On site there is also a lovely private swimming pool, a childrens play area and a satellite tv. Just the place to hear that Sadaam Hussein has been hung.... but anyway, more about ZigZag.

Accomodation is motel style with about 12 rooms. The room that we had was small, but extremly nicely decorated and furnished. The twin beds were very comfortable and the mosquito nets were in good condition. The ensuite shower was good, with plenty of water at good pressure. We did find the fact that there was only a curtain separating the bedroom with the shower/toilet slightly disconcerting to start with, but soon adapted. One of the best things about this room was the air conditioning which was very welcome. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was very good and for an extra 10,000 kwatcha the mango smoothies were sublime.

I had a very pleasant few days staying at ZigZag and I would definitly stay here as a matter of preference next time I am in Livingstone.


  • Liked — friendly staff, lovely room, good food and good value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Ideal for the independant traveller and appears very child friendly
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 31 in Livingstone
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing