We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget/mid range option but small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
282 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good budget/mid range option but small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Zig zag is situated on the edge of livingstone town centre about a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of town. It's a motel style hotel with nice gardens and a small pool. The staff were friendly and helpful.

It's in a quiet location though we did hear train horns a couple of times in the night.

Our double room was plain and clean but was tiny! Literally no room to swing a baboon ... The bathroom was small too and the shower was a dribble in the evening but had a stronger flow in the morning.The bed had a good mosquito net and all the insect screens were intact.Breakfast was tasty and was served in the garden which was nice.

In summary zig zag is an ok option if you want to stay within walking distance of Livingstone centre ( a taxi to the falls is about $10). There's plenty of secure parking too if you're self driving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
39
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here at the end of 3 weeks over landing trip . Was welcomed by friendly reception staff and shown to my small , basic but perfectly adequate room . Had a pot of tea in the garden , which was great . Garden very pretty and relaxing . There were Internet facilities , bar and restaurant , but didn't eat here . Breakfast was a full english , very tasty . There is a security guard at night , who was very friendly . Ate at nearby Indian restaurant , which was excellent .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think given what we paid, this B&B is worthy of an very good rating. Cosy rooms, tasty unpretentious food in restaurant, beautiful gardens and pool. Friendly welcome. Made to feel part of the family from the start.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here in August 2012 and I thought it was great. The owner, Lynne, was a fantastic hostess and had all my activities ready to go for me when I arrived. She really makes every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The place is well maintained and I felt quite safe here as a solo traveller - there is a gate with a 24-hour security guard and a tall wall that surrounds the grounds. The food here was delicious and even though it was a short walk into town, I had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant almost every day. And of course the air conditioning in the room felt great after being out in the heat.

Also, I had read that Zig Zag supports a local orphanage so I made sure to pack some extra kids' clothes to donate and which were very much appreciated.

I would certainly stay here again and would definitely recommend it to any traveller - solo, couples, and families. Certainly a very good value!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from a visit to Zambia which included a stay at Zigzag. Clean comfortable room, good food even for veggies, friendly staff.I had every welcome. In my opinion it was extremely safe for female solo travellers (as I am one). Very relaxed, lovely garden and staff will help organise activities etc. Would definitely recommend. Good location too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Convenient enough to walk to town and area restaurants. The grounds are well tended and security was no issue. Making excursion arrangements with the staff was surprisingly a bit of a hassle but not impossible. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Zigzag is a great B & B! The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the grounds are beautiful. The pool area is great and kids will love the resident pets! The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food lived up to it's reputation and after a long day on safari it was nice to relax after dinner in the lounge area. The gift shop was full of reasonable priced local crafts of which I bought way too much!!! Zigzag is located a little bit out of town and a little bit away from the falls, but a very short taxi ride to both and this seems to keep the price down. Definitely value for money here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#16 of 84 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing