We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and welcoming for solo female travellers”
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #3 of 29 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe and welcoming for solo female travellers”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from a visit to Zambia which included a stay at Zigzag. Clean comfortable room, good food even for veggies, friendly staff.I had every welcome. In my opinion it was extremely safe for female solo travellers (as I am one). Very relaxed, lovely garden and staff will help organise activities etc. Would definitely recommend. Good location too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    58
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
41
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Convenient enough to walk to town and area restaurants. The grounds are well tended and security was no issue. Making excursion arrangements with the staff was surprisingly a bit of a hassle but not impossible. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Zigzag is a great B & B! The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the grounds are beautiful. The pool area is great and kids will love the resident pets! The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food lived up to it's reputation and after a long day on safari it was nice to relax after dinner in the lounge area. The gift shop was full of reasonable priced local crafts of which I bought way too much!!! Zigzag is located a little bit out of town and a little bit away from the falls, but a very short taxi ride to both and this seems to keep the price down. Definitely value for money here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stopped here en route for brunch from Chobe to Lusaka, after a good review in the Bradt guide. Excellent food, very welcoming, and a good pool for the kids. If you want a reasonably priced little oasis in the centre of Livingstone I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afrigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Zigzag was one of the best places I stayed in when I was in Africa! Genuinely friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms with the most wonderful showers. They have a beautiful and very peaceful garden and a good breakfast. If I ever return to Livingstone again I will definitely stay in Zigzag again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllendeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've stayed at Zig Zags a couple of times - once on my own and once with my father. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with mozzie nets and air con. The lodge is peaceful, located a little outside town on the road to Vic Falls. The breakfast is great and the food from the restauraunt is tasty and very good value (with the best muffins in Zambia!). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful in organising activities around Livingstone. All in all a great B&B and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My mom & I stayed at Zig Zags on our recent trip to Zambia. The staff was incredibly helpful in welcoming us and helping us plan our time at Vic Falls. The rooms were clean and basic, with mosquito nets for every bed. The air-con worked well and the shower had great water pressure and heat.

Breakfast is for real: bacon & eggs, toast, coffee, and tea as well as cold cereal.

The location is quiet and nice. It's a bit out of town (a 10 minute easy, safe walk), and set in an area that has a nice pool and area for relaxing.

A nice bonus was the free Wi-fi that was of the fastest I've experienced in Africa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#16 of 84 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing