We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

After surfing the net and finding the only accommodation in Livingstone to be recommended by a certain site we contacted Richard (the owner) and so began the best holiday ever! All questions asked were instantly answered. All activities we asked about were given an honest appraisal by him and he gave recommendations if something else was better. In all, 9 activities were booked through Chanters Lodge and other activities were taken after arriving. We spent 10 wonderful days with our 'other family' at Chanters. We enjoyed meals every day in the restaurant (after enquiring about other places to eat we decided we had the best on site). Richard picks up and delivers you to the airport and if you need to go somewhere out of walking distance he will transport you there. He recommends Chris for the occasions when you may wish transport for a few hours or more - a wonderful young man! Nothing is too much for Richard and his staff! All advice (even from 'Chanters' Girls' on what traditional meals eat) is given with such charm and friendliness.
The most friendly and hospitable people and place anyone could want. Thanks again to Richard and staff - in particular Susie, Monica, Annastasia, Alice and Chris (although not actually staff, one of the wonderful group)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someotherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
Coming from some other land, these Guests really needed a home away from home. Thanks so much for a fabulous review - Susie, Monica, Alice and Anny were thrilled to be mentioned by name, so too Chris. We were delighted you had such a good holiday and thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    105
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
112
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I booked to stay in Chanters Lodge after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a lovely stay and Richard the owner was a fantastic host. He was very knowledgable on what were the best activities in the area and booked them for us, regularly dropped us down at various spots in Livingstone and the Falls, including our airport transfers. The room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely hot shower (and bath too). The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. The setting was very relaxing and tranquil.......definitely a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Thanks for the encouraging review, we very much appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I read the awesome reviews on Tripadvisor and was lucky enough to find a vacancy. Even though I only stayed for one night I can attest to the great location (downtown Livingstone 15 minute walk away) wonderful hospitality from owner Richard and staff, great breakfast and free airport transfer. For my trip it was the perfect cultural transition as I traveled from Zambia back to the USA.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
What a nice review! Thanks! Our location close to town and the airport is not ideal for everyone, but we're pleased you appreciated it together with your breakfast and airport transfer, both included in the room rate. 'Cultural transition' - that's different, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Just when will people learn how important personal service really is? From the moment I booked the reservation, I felt at home. Richard took care of things. I was coming to Chanters from a remote location with little access to either a phone or the internet, but everything worked perfectly. The greeting was warm and welcoming; the poolside room was great; the food worked for me (including the English breakfast each day); and the environment was relaxing. I could not have asked for more. Was it the Royal Livingstone? No. But is it a great value in an incredibly comfortable setting? Indeed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C00kieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2009
Thanks for your precise review and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay. We believe you've summed up our mission! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We found Chanters Lodge in internet when I was looking for accommodation near Victoria Falls. As the prices were much cheaper and it was highly recommended we decided to book our accommodation at Chanters Lodge directly via e mail. After that we exchanged a lot of mails and got good advice on the activities and sights around Victoria Falls. Richard even booked a sunset boattrip for us. When we arrived on Dec 20 we were picked up at the airport by Richard personally. The room was quite big (a family room had 4 beds) but it was very basic. But we had everything that we needed even mosquito nets that appeared to be handy. There was even a small swimming pool in a nice garden where you could relax after a long day of sightseeing. The food was also marvellous at the restaurant. The best thing about the lodge was the hospitality of the personell and Richard who made us feel that we have been friends for a long time. We recommend this place to everyone who cares for personal touch, but if you look for luxury this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2009
Thanks for your review, and we were pleased you enjoyed our food and service and found the staff helpful and friendly and the lodge good value for money. Our rooms, including the family room all have en suite bath or shower rooms, fridge, tv (with five channels) and free wifi available for guests with their own laptops or phones with internet access. We do not advertise or profess to offer 'luxury' and therefore agree with your comments. Thanks again for taking the time to review the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed in Chanter’s Lodge for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in December 2008. Chanters is an ideal spot to base yourself for Vic Falls, day trips into Botswana, Namibia etc. Richard (Chanter) gave us excellent advice on how to best use our limited time in Zambia and organised our trips for us (a special mention to Chris who brought us to the Botswana trip, the flying fox over the gorge etc) - the lift to and from the Airport kindly offered by Richard was really appreciated. Some may spend $300 a night staying in the Royal Livingstone but we would recommend you save your money to enjoy what you are there for – Vic Falls, cruise on the Zambezi River, Safari in Chobe NP in Botswana, and a bit more exposure to the local people. You are not going to get luxury in Chanters but the rooms are clean, with air conditioning. A great breakfast is included in your room rate and we couldn’t fault the evening meals and wine – outdoors if you can stick the African flies!! (we ate indoors). We would definitely recommend Chanters to experience the real thing. Leave the luxury to the main cities. Thank you Richard and team!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowDub007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2009
Thanks for your great review - I believe you've summed up very neatly what we're trying to achieve and we were delighted that in this instance we seem to have succeeded. Sorry about the flies - they're rather seasonal these 'unwelcome visitors'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I had a wonderful week at Chanters Lodge. Richard, the owner and his staff go out of there way to make you feel at home. It is located outside of town but close enough to walk or take a short taxi ride. The dining is excellent, with local and western dishes on the menu. There is a full bar, lovely gardens with fruit trees, a swimming pool and sun deck area. The rooms are very clean and the air con is ice cold, they all have TV with BBC, Sky etc. I have lived in Africa for 16 years and Chanters easily rates with the top lodges in Africa.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmac72Windhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, owner/manager at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Thanks for your kind comments, they were very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing