We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home yet again - we keep returning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chanters Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #3 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home yet again - we keep returning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

For the fourth time we have visited Livingstone and continue to stay at Chanter's Lodge. We feel 'at home' here. The staff and owner/manager Richard Chanter feel like family to us - and the feeling you get when returning is the same as returning home to family. We are welcomed, farewelled on day trips and welcomed back again continually. The food is absolutely wonderful and the rates are extremely great. Why go to a sterile, indifferent location when you can have the wonderful atmosphere found at Chanter's? All excursions can be arranged through reception and nothing is ever too much for staff to do. Richard picks you up on arrival (this time we arrived from Lusaka by the Mazhandu Family Bus Service business coach) full breakfast is included and also transfer to your departure point. What more can one say about the fantastic service received at Chanter's. Thank you Richard, Annie, Suzie, Sandy, Junior and everyone else including Gilbert who keeps the grounds in fantastic condition. It is also only a short walk to the centre of Livingstone and short 10km to Victoria Falls and Bridge area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Someotherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for your kind review, we are very grateful for your ongoing support of our lodge and it was great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    105
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
112
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here during a 3 day visit to Zambia. Richard and his staff are welcoming and friendly and were more than happy to accomodate our needs. They arranged transfers to and from the airports and arranged the activities we wanted to take part in. The accomodation and facilities are lovely and tranquil and it is close to all the major areas we wanted to visit, namely Victoria Falls. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were to visit Zambia again.

Room Tip: The suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host you and your delightful family. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your African holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in Chanters Lodge in November for 3 nights. Our stay was very pleasant. Richard Chanter and his staff are doing a great job and advised us very well about the activities available in the area. The rooms are very comfortabele and clean and the garden and the swimmingpool are very nice to relax coming back from all the thrilling activities Livingstone offers. The meals are very tasty. As we were driving ourselves through Zambia it was very important we could park our car safely inside the secured fence. Thank you for informing us about the road conditions in the western part of Zambia. The information was very useful for us. We will surely come back if we are in the neighbourhood!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks for your great review, we are happy you had a safe trip to the West of Zambia. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choma, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have stayed at Chanters Lodge several times a year for nearly ten years, and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are pleasant and clean with reasonable amenities such as refrigerator, television and WIFI. Importantly, the room rates are very reasonably priced, making them a superb value.

Richard Chanter is a great host and has a wonderful staff. I have mobility limitations and everyone at Chanters has always tried to accommodate my needs. We have always been happy with the service in the restaurant and the selections on the menu. The location is a bit out of the way, but is close enough to downtown Livingstone to walk for shopping. Richard can answer any questions a person might have about local opportunities; he can help arrange a variety of local activities; and he has always been willing to pick us up or deliver us to the airport free of charge.

We have recommended Chanters Lodge to all of our friends traveling to Livingstone and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are pleasant and private but slightly higher priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we appreciate your ongoing support of our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed there several times and have made Chanters our go-to place when traveling to Livingstone. The rooms are en suite, clean, and spacious, with a full English breakfast included in the price. The grounds are well kept with a lovely swimming pool and lounge chairs. The staff have always been welcoming and accommodating. Mr. Richard Chanter, the owner, is very involved and personable, ensuring your stay will be comfortable. Richard also booked the Chobe safari for us upon request, and the entire day was totally planned out. There is free Wi-Fi included in the price - this is, without question, the best deal in Livingstone.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a great view. But rooms facing the car park have less steps up and down and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you found the lodge comfortable, clean and great value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puygironde France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were met at the airport by the owner himself, and looked after all the time. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and polite. It was very quiet, - no traffic. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation which we very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the lodge, Richard was at the airport to collect us and answered our many questions on taxi fares, tipping etc.

Our suite was clean and comfortable and the staff more than obliging to meet our requests and booked us a sunset cruise on the Zambezi River.

The tranquility of the place was just what we needed to finish a memorable holiday in Africa.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harassed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we were happy to be the last stop on your long tour and that you felt rested and relaxed at the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.7 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Tree Lodge
Green Tree Lodge
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#7 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing