We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with great staff”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nothing but good things to say about the place and the staff! The only issue you may have that it's not close to downtown (if you are staying for an extended period of time and would want to go buy food elsewhere, you'll need to take a taxi).
Comfortable rooms, air conditioning, swimming pool, helpful staff...what's not to love!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for your nice review. We are five minutes by taxi to the shops/restaurants in the town centre, 15 minutes walk. Slightly further to the Shoprite complex. On the other hand we are rather quieter at night than establishments nearer than that to the middle of town. Thanks again for taking time to review the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Chanters Lodge offered us a 'home from home' experience. We were really touched as Richard Chanter was waiting for us when we arrived at 2am in the morning and quickly had our group of 12 in our rooms. Anna was a godsend! She sorted out all our tours, taxi's and provided us with brilliant information on what to do and where to go. She and the team really couldnt do enough for us. The breakfasts were lovely with a good selection to chose from each day. Sitting by the pool in the evenings after our activities was really a nice way to end our days. The rooms were very comfortable with access to tea and coffee facilities a fridge and TV. Livingstone is an amazing place and we as a group had a brilliant time. Thanks to Richard, Anna and their team for all their hard work and for making us all so welcome. You really made the difference to our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool! Although all the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind review it was a pleasure to host your group and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay as well as the activities you undertook during your visit. The 02.00 hrs personal welcome belies a comment in the past about me being in 'semi-retirement'! What else could I do with 12 ladies arriving in the middle of the night? Hope to be able to welcome you back again some time. We really appreciated your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Chanters after being picked up by Richard an his team at Ndola. The rooms were large and supplied with everything we need, nicely authenticated to give an African vibe. The staff at the hotel were lovely and i spent a few evenings learning Nyanja or Bemba, they also gave the choice of plain food or some traditional Zambian dishes (which is a must if you want to get involved with the culture). Also, on top of all this we they had a lovely pool with many sunbeds so you could just sit back and relax outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for the good review! We were delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially the Zambian dishes on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two days at Chanters. Richard offered to pick us up and also dropped us off at the airport - so convenient. Tea was delivered to our room when we arrived. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated with African fabrics. Our bathroom was large and modern. But the high point is the lovely tropical garden with winding pathways, thatched umbrellas over patio tables, unusual plants and a cool pool with plenty of lounge chairs. You can have your lunch or dinner served in the garden, too. At night it twinkles with light. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast included anything from the menu. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the poolside rooms with comfy chairs on the porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, we were especially pleased you enjoyed the garden, we are pleased with the progress we have made in this area this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We recently enjoyed 2 days at Chanters. The rooms were clean, staff friendly, wifi worked and the food was great. Very convenient to eat here if you don't want to go out in the evening. They also have a beautiful pool and garden area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks for your great review, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay, as well as our food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Four years ago, I had a very good experience at Chanters Lodge. This past Monday was even better. We had a two-room suite (with a grand bathroom) that was super clean and comfortable. The very reasonable price included a full-English breakfast. Mr. Chanter is always on the grounds and ensures that everything runs smoothly. He is also a fine gentleman who takes care of his guests very professionally. I will stay there the next time I'm in Livingstone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We chose to stay at Chanters Lodge based on the good reviews we had read on TripAdvisor. Richard picked us from the airport and took us back when we were leaving to Kenya.

The Lodge is situated in a serene location making it an ideal place to stay after a long tiring day of sightseeing.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. They helped us in making taxi arrangements and recommended some of the places we should visit. They were more than willing to assist us with whatever we needed.

The rooms are spacious and clean. They also have Wi-Fi. It was nice being able to stay connected to the internet while at the lodge.

I was pleased to find that everything on their site is the true reflection of what is on ground. I strongly recommend the lodge to anyone visiting Livingstone. If you are looking for a place where you get personalized attention and good services, Chanters Lodge is the place.

I am looking forward to staying at Chanters Lodge again and this time much longer.

Thanks Richard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for your kind review - we were happy that you found our lodge operation reflected information given on our website. We were also delighted to have visitors from Kenya and very much look forward to welcoming you to the lodge again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 37 in Livingstone
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 91 in Livingstone
419 reviews
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
115 reviews
1 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 37 in Livingstone
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $64 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing