We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming place to stay”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #4 of 30 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming place to stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the lodge in March. It is a quite place walking distance to the town (where there is a great market for crafts). The staff are attentive and very professional and provide excellent service. We stayed in a pool side room which was large and well kept and great for the price, which included a breakfast and a airport pick up and drop off. The wifi also worked great. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our time in Livingston, the locals were so warm and friendly which made our few days there very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TrushnaPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge comfortable and convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    106
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
112
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Chanters lodge is a comfortable, clean, well run facility. Our group of 6 just returned from our second visit there in 2 years, and were just as pleased this year as last. They have restaurant and bar facilities on-site and are very hospitable. Richard Chanter went above and beyond to accommodate our group and make sure everything was good. They have an all-inclusive day safari to Chobe National Park in Botswana which we have done both years. Includes transportation, morning river safari, buffet lunch, afternoon game drive, and refreshments along the way. Spectacular wildlife (birds, crocodiles, lizards, hippos, elephants, giraffes, gazelle, cape buffalo, warthog, and even saw 3 lions this year. Great value, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we're happy you enjoyed your safari to Chobe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Picked up on time,dropped off on time, nice rooms, recommended and booked my activities at a tenth the price of the bigger hotels. I only had two days and had not planned anything - so I needed advice. They were always willing to help. The rooms were quaint and clean with no mosquitoes so I did not use the net provided. Richard took the time to seek me out and chat and I felt he was genuinely interested in helping me. Nothing was too much trouble. Saw the Falls, did the Sunset Cruise, had lunch at the David Livingstone Hotel and completed a microlight flight. A perfect couple of days. A dog barked til late (having trouble to find something to complain about).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the nice review - sorry about the barking dogs! Not ours I might add.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved the atmosphere at Chanters. It was so relaxing to sit in the garden, listen to the sounds of the water fountain, and mess around in the pool. Richard was a great host, and Anastasia and the rest of the staff provided excellent service. The food is very good - we especially enjoyed Anastasia's chicken and Junior's brown beans, and were just sorry we didn't have a chance to try the bream fillets. Really appreciated having air conditioning, a back-up generator to cope with Livingstone's power cuts (two nights in a row), and good quality wifi. One of the best things about Chanters is that it is right in Livingstone, and an easy and safe walk into town to visit the curio market, banks, etc - much more of a "real Zambia" experience than staying at the Falls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Boondogglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your super review highlighting some of the things about the lodge that we feel are very important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Citizen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Chanter's Lodge six years ago and were very much looking forward to our return visit. We were not disappointed, in fact we were really pleased to find that the comforts we remembered were still very much in place and the rates very reasonable. Richard Chanter and his team of staff, led by Anastasia, were welcoming, friendly and attentive to all our needs. They were great with our kids especially, making them feel right at home. On their advice we had several fantastic adventures (helicopter over the Vic falls and a sunset cruise on the Zambezi) in Livingstone - these activities were booked by the Lodge, and the inclusive pick up/drop off for the trips made it all very easy; just what you need on a holiday. Chanter's Lodge is really good for families (our family suite slept 6; mosquito nets for each bed, a fridge and a TV - there would have been room to add a travel cot if you needed to and the bathroom was clean with both a bath and shower). We love the enclosed garden and the pool is perfect for families - for smaller children/toddlers there's a shallower area but the pool has enough depth and space for older children and adults to enjoy a proper dip. The restaurant serves delicious food and has a really extensive menu which suited our varied tastes just right - traditional Zambian fare for some of us and homemade pasta for others for example; breakfast was substantial. We can highly recommend the Zambezi bream, which we ordered done on the braai. There is so much to do in Livingstone and the affordability of Chanter's lodge means you can enjoy more activities than you might were you to be staying in some of the pricier lodges around, whilst still making sure you have a top quality stay in Livingstone. Great value for money and super place for r'n'r!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovingtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we're so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Richard is renowned in Livingstone for his warm hospitality, and when my girlfriend and I spent a girls' weekend at the Lodge recently, we were not disappointed. Richard personally met us at the airport, settled us in and arranged a great itinerary for us, from a sundowner boat cruise to visits to the fabulous Victoria Falls, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a charming oasis of calm but well within easy walking distance of Livingstone's downtown area, and is completely safe for females travelling alone or together. Getting around and about Livingstone is fairly cheap but international standards.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay. Rooms are spacious, clean and well serviced, with efficient air-conditioning and mosquito nets. The pool and surroundings are well kept, and I'd highly recommend you try the local fare, which can be found on the hotel's menu and is freshly prepared to order. Richard's friendly staff take their cue from the owner, they are quite knowledgeable about the services and activities available in Livingstone. Service and food was excellent, and best of all, this is always delivered with a smile. I'd highly recommend this hotel as an affordable, comfortable and friendly base for your stay in Livingstone!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and its easy to add an extra bed or two for families tra...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amilha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review, we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great base within easy walking distance to Livingstone's main street. We stayed for 2 nights in room 12 overlooking the pool and the room was large and clean with very efficient air conditioning and mosquito net. Richard, the owner, and his staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were met and dropped off at the airport and taxis were arranged to the Falls (make sure you always agree the price of the journey before getting into a taxi). They were able to tell us prices and times of the excursions we were interested in taking and book them for us. All excursions will pick you up from the Lodge as part of the price. We ate dinner one night at the lodge and tried the local Zambian dishes - something we didn't see offered in any of the town's other restaurants. All in all great value for money and we would love to go back and stay again and do the helicopter trip over the falls which we were unable to do this time due to bad weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_and_m_lewisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for your super review, sorry you missed your helicopter ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
16 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 30 in Livingstone
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 85 in Livingstone
395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#5 of 30 in Livingstone
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing