We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at Chanters Lodge. Our holiday started at Livingstone Airport with a warm and friendly smile from Mr Richard Chanter. Within seconds it felt like we had never been away. We arrived at the Lodge to find the staff waiting to greet us and show us to our rooms. As usual the rooms were spotless and as comfortable as ever. All our activities had been booked in advance by the wonderful girls and they were keen to give us our vouchers so we knew what times and dates our adventures were on. They made our holiday stress free.. There was a problem with the country changing the way we could pay but the girls made sure that they rang the companies to check if we could use $US or local currency or credit cards. There were so many tourists that found problems but we were fine thanks to Richard and the staff. The breakfasts were organised for us if we had a very early start and no matter what time you needed lunch or dinner it could be ordered. The food is of the highest standard and we found no need to eat anywhere else. The Lodge is within walking distance of town and in a quiet neighbourhood. We always feel at home when we stay at Chanters Lodge there is no need to even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiRapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to the lodge. We were happy to be able to help you through the new regulations concerning payment in local currency and we were delighted you enjoyed our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    105
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
112
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Most of the accommodation and activity options at Victoria Falls are way overpriced. Chanters Lodge is one of the few good value for money accommodation options in either Livingstone (Zambian side) or Victoria Falls Township (Zimbabwean side).

The manager, Mr Chanter, used to run major hotels around the world. This appears to be his semi-retirement gig. The location doesn't offer great views, but given you can book a taxi for $USD20/day to take you to the 10 minute drive to the Falls and return you back to Chanters, that was a much better option than spending an additional $US480/day to stay 10 minutes walk from the Falls.

The bedrooms are clean, though the floor of the shower could have been cleaner. My only other comment is in relation to the breakfast - the cereal and fruit is good, but the eggs were very rubbery.

There was a nice pool in the courtyard, but we were too busy at the Falls to use it during the day and it was too cool at night to be worthwhile taking an evening dip.

There is a dirt road with potholes leading to Chanters - but TIA. They will do a pickup and drop off from Livingstone Airport, which is appreciated.

Overall, two nights was just the right amount of time to spend in Livingstone (one day on the Zambian side and one on the Zimbabwean side of the Falls - get up early and cross the bridge at 6am-ish as we did - you'll have the Park on the Zim side all to yourself to see the sun rising over Victoria Falls :-) ).

I don't think we'd bother returning to Vic Falls again - we have seen Niagara and Iguazu and preferred Iguazu. If I returned to Livingstone to go on safari and needed a place to stay, I'd go back to stay at Chanter's Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for your review and sorry about the floor of the shower as well as 'rubbery eggs'. Zambians nearly always eat eggs 'well done' and sometimes the cooks do not remember that this is not to everyone's taste.
I did not concur with your remark that the lodge is a 'semi-retirement gig' for me. I work a 15 hour day 6 days per week and try at all times to make sure the lodge is providing Guests with what they want, as well as usually meeting Guests personally at the airport and escorting them on departure. Add the work on advance reservations, stock taking and administration and it is a full time job.
The road to Chanters is not a 'dirt road' although admittedly the surface is poor. There are are other ways to reach the lodge from town which take no longer and where the road surface is better. Even then Obote Avenue is only 700m from the main road to the lodge.
Guests often stay longer than two days and enjoy the whole range of activities that Livingstone has to offer.
Thanks for saying that you would choose us again, we appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chanters for 4 nights after a 10 day safari in South Luangwa. We selected Chanters based on previous reviews in Tripadvisor and they were "right on". We found all the positive reviews to be accurate. Chanters is as good as people say it is! No sense in repeating all the informaiton except to say that Richard is a great host, the "girls" are supportive and helpful, the food was fine and the rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Chanters gets a 6 out of 5 for value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for your excellent review! We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and found us to be good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After a couple of weeks in Lusaka, we travelled to Livingstone for a few days of relaxation prior to heading home. We stayed at Chanters, and had a great experience. Mr. Chanter is a great host and took care of our every need, including breakfast buffets, arranging excursions, etc. Great place to stay, close to down town (10 min. walk). Friendly, helpful service, including pick up at bus station, transport to airport, etc. Will return (hopefully soon!)

Room Tip: Solid place at reasonable rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Stringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host your group. We would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

You and the girls have done it again Richard! What a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing, pampered time while visiting many activities in the 'adrenaline capital' of Zambia! This time we were four! The accommodation didn't let us down (as usual); the food delicious; the service unbelievable; atmosphere was like being welcomed back home. My friends and I have stayed with Richard at his Lodge in Livingstone 3 times now and each time gets better. The Girls (Richard's wonderful staff) are just like family (as is Richard) with 'hope you have a great time' each time we leave for an adventure and 'did you enjoy yourself' when we return.
All bookings are made direct with Richard online and when we arrive nothing is too much trouble - just ask and it is done. All activities for 4 people staying 2 weeks in Livingstone were organised by Chanter's Lodge after we arrived and confirmed what we were interested in. Then it was just time to relax, eat the delicious food and just chill!!
Thanks again Richard (you know we will be back), Annastasia, Susie, Sandi, Thayana, Ethel, Junior, Melanie and Monica (and Monica's little daughter Blessing)
Thanks also to Chris 'The Taxi' and George and Milli Jam for making our stay extremely enjoyable. xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someotherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review, we were delighted to welcome you back again, this time with the girls. We were happy everything went to plan and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

As soon as Richard Chanter and staff arrived at the airport to pick me up, I knew that I had chosen the right place. Room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The grounds are nicely maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful, even allowing me to use their personal laptop when I could not connect my own laptop to the free wi-fi. The guesthouse is within a short walk of town (and the excellent Livingstone Museum) and a $10 taxi ride to the Falls. I was a bit worried about getting proper vegetarian food, but I had an excellent and most satisfying meal (Junior's Bemba Brown Beans Curry). Richard has a long and colourful history in hotel management in Africa, and it shows in all of the small touches and attention to detail. Had I been in town for more than 24 hours, I would have loved to chat more with Richard about what I am sure are his fascinating experiences. Overall, a most comfortable and pleasant stay, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I stayed here for three nights after being picked up the lodge owner, Richard, from the airport. Room was older but clean and good enough. A full hot breakfast was included in the room rate, and we were picked up from the lodge and dropped off again for any activities we wanted to do. Onsite restaurant was ok, but was also a nice easy walk to downtown Livingstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 31 in Livingstone
278 reviews
14.2 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#8 of 84 in Livingstone
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing