We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, great location”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed two nights in "treehouse" with great Zambezi River view -- all units have privacy, but the far upriver rooms might offer the best seclusion. The lodge is in a reserve so expect to see wildlife wandering through --- fortunately, the elephants stayed off the elevated walkways that connect the units, but the monkeys were frequent visitors. There are white rhinos in the reserve, and we got very close to one on a walking safari. Victoria Falls are amazing and just a short drive away. Staff were incredibly solicitous -- we can highly recommend our guide, Biswell. Food was very good. Bedroom is spacious, incorporating shower and wash basin in the room, with balcony. Dining room is open air -- a few extra flying critters one evening, but this apparently is a rare event.

Room Tip: Suspect all are great, but liked the far upriver units for extra seclusion and great views (11 and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you do much for taking the time to write this fabulous review on Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma.

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing time with us and thank you for you kind comments about our staff especially Biswell he was delighted that you appreciated his efforts. Our staff are our greatest asset and it really does fill us and the team with pride knowing that we met your expectations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and perhaps on your next visit stay in one of the private houses.

Thank you once again and do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

If possible, we would love for you to join our Facebook page and share some of your memories.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    21
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
107
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

On the bucket list, to see the Victoria falls. Decided to stay up river away from the hotels & came across this special lodge. The location is amazing directly on the river with the hippos as neighbours. The time of our visit was in the rainy season so the river just seemed to get bigger & bigger. However the big plus for this place is the staff. We have never met such friendly & helpful staff. It was a joy to be there and would highly recommend this accommodation for a visit to the falls. The food was extremely good & the accommodation on stilts fabulous. Enjoy your sundowners on the decking & see some wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this lovely review regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma.

Awesome that you are able to tick off Victoria Falls from your bucket list and even better that you were able to spend some time at our lodge. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff they were all very happy to learn that you appreciated their efforts. We appreciate your recommendation more than you know.

We hope you return one day soon to enjoy the sundowners and Zambian sunsets.

If possible, we would love for you to join our Facebook page and share some of your memories

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in one of the treehouses in mid-December 2012 for 3 nights, celebrating our wedding anniversary. Everything about the lodge exceeded out expectations and, as we're being based in SA, we've been to a few! The staff were superb, highly attentive but not at all intrusive. The food was excellent and we ate in a different venue each night. The activites were well organised and on our request we were even dropped for a drink at The Royal Livingstone one evening, where we'd nearly booked to stay. It has a gorgeous drinks terrace near the falls but the rooms are nothing special in comparsion, we asked to see one! Suffice to say we loved Sussi and Chuma so much we have booked to go back with an extended family group at the end of this year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wonderful to hear that you have already booked your return trip!! We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and thank you for your kind comments about the staff and food we will be sure to pass this onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family at the end of the year.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our fourth trip to the Vic Fallls and our second on the Zambian side. It is the best accomodation we have stayed in on the River.
The lodge is located in a Game Reserve on the Zambezi river about twenty minutes drive from the Falls. The location is very tranquil. The view of the river from the rooms is spectacular. Our package also included exclusive boat rides on tender boats on the river - an incredible experience.
The accomodations are luxurious, quiet zen-like, and beautiful. Most rooms are located on decks with river views so that they feel like a tree house. All units are airconditioned.The pictures on the web site and Trip Advisor don't do the place justice. It is much better than in the pictures.
The lodge was fairly empty when we arrived so they upgraded our party of four to a separate two bedroomed villa next to the main lodge. These rooms were even better than the others. We also had our own kitchen, lounge/dining room, veranda and jetty, along with a complete dedicated staff (including our own cook, steward and housekeeper). We also had our own guide, Lucson, who took us to the Falls, was our pilot on the boat and drove game drives. Lucson is very knowledgeable , charming and attentive. We also had free same day laundry. It was like living in a palace.
All of the satff are wonderful. They are frienldy, attentive and ectremely efficient. This was one of three Sanctuary Group Lodges we staye at on this trip. They all have a similar incredible formula - great staff, luxurious and original accomodations (but not overdone) with a high level of personal attention. I liked this better than the Royal Livingstone (which I have stayed in before and which is also very good) because it is quieter, less of a happening, more personal, authentic and unique.
We stayed here in January. The weather was not excessively hot. The Falls were quite full and specatacular. It rained quite a bit so that we could not go out on the River botas as frequently we would have liked. Surprisngly, we encountereed few mosquitoes. I'm told that the frequent rain actually discourages them from coming out, so every cloud (so to speak) has a silver lining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Levenberg,

Thank you so much for this detailed review of your experience at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma. We are delighted that you have stayed at three of our properties!
Glad you had an incredible experience and happy that we were able to upgrade you to the Chuma House. Thank you for your kind comments about the accommodation, the wonderful staff and Luckson, they were extremely happy to hear your remarks. Happy to hear that it was not excessively hot and that you only encountered a few mosquitoes.

Thank you once again for this lovely review and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about this lodge. Stayed for three days 4 nights could have had an extra day at least.

Accommodation was clean, spacious, lovely, nice verandah to sit on.

Food: We had some excellent meals here, breakfast fresh fruits cereal, anything you liked made to order. (Much better than those hot buffets elsewhere). Yummy freshly warm cup cakes in the morning, mmmm.
It was a menu for other meals (not buffets) small but very nice choice. I am sure they would make anything you liked if the choice did not suit you.We enjoyed everything we ate, had some real standouts too crocodile curry, impala stew.

Staff: Were absolutely amazing, really friendly, nothing a problem (we have just returned from Sabi Sabi bush lodge and the staff there are nowhere as good as at Sussi & Chuma, ). Can't speak highly enough about the staff fantastic!

Guide: We had Junior D who was amazing, extremely knowledgeable about so many things, we learnt a lot from him. So informative, outstanding!

Things to do:
Zambezi river safaris; saw crocks, hippos, elephants on the river whilst enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Game drives; The beauty of this park is there are no predators so the game was quite relaxed, we saw loads of things on each drive, glad we saw zebras here as we didn't see them in Sabi Sabi.

White Rhino walk: got really close to the white Rhinos, bit scary but great.

Walk with Lions: Walk with lions being raised for a lion project to reintroduce more lions into Africa. Fabulous! The same place had elephant safaris also.

Victoria Falls: Can do this from both sides Zambia and cross over to Zimbabwe, if you want to do this make sure you get a double entry visa into Zambia (cheaper) Also you can swim in the devils pool right on the edge of the falls.

Village visit: a real eyeopener to how people live here, the lodge has various support options for the school,clinic etc. A little support goes a long way over there and they really could do with help. We noticed how much poorer people are than in South Africa.

The resort/lodge: very nicely laid out lodge, not too many people so it is really very intimate, tree house type accommodation on timber walkways. Lots of monkeys around. Sunset drinks on the edge of the Zambezi really nice. Small infinity pool on the edge of the river great to laze about and listen to the hippo and river noises.

Or.... you can do nothing it is certainly a good setting for that.

What more can I say, fantastic! One family came here for one night what a crazy thing need at least three days.

Thank you so much to all at Sussi & Chuma for making our stay so memorable, something we will never forget and we were very sad to leave. You set a really high benchmark which was not met elsewhere. We are planning to visit again in December (or Jan).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this fantastic comprehensive review of Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma.

We are very pleased that you "loved absolutely everything" and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful comments about the accommodation, "the excellent meals", the "absolutely amazing staff" - how wonderful to read that you "can't speak highly enough about them".We have passed your lovely remarks onto Junior D and the rest of the team, who are very pleased that they excelled in all areas.

Our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service, to make each guest experience a special one, and it is always rewarding to hear when we have reached this aim. We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in December...

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in 2012 as the first part of our Safari to Botswana visiting Chobe N.P. and the Okavango, all with Sanctuary lodges.
We had a wonderful time at Sussi & Chuma, the staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble, and you are always greeted with a warm and friendly smile!
The rooms are beautiful and with incredible views.
The lodge has very relaxing atmosphere and is perfect to leisurely enjoy the stunning views of the Zambezi.
Regarding the activities:
We went on a sunset boat ride on the Zambezi, a game drive in the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park and visited the nearby village where Sussi & Chuma help to support the school.We donated books for early readers to the school library. If you ever go to Sussi & Chuma, please visit the village and help support the school.
Our guide was Junior D, and I highly recommend him as he is a fantastic guide! Very calm, knowledgable and knows how to position the boat or jeep for the best photography angles!
Lezinah is an amazing, friendly and charming lady, an excellent manager, she really made us feel very welcome and at home. Thank you Lezinah, every thing was perfect!
Simon, apart from being a superb chef, is great fun and very entertaining!!

Wildlife viewing are baboons, vervets, zebras, hippos, rhinos, elephants, various antelope species, warthogs, crocs and many birds.
It's quite an experience to witness the imposing Vic Falls at full force and to see the spectacular sunsets that the Zambezi is famous for!!

In my opinion, Sussi & Chuma is ideal for either starting or ending a Safari, just to relax and enjoy the lodge (or to recover from all those early mornings!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this detailed review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you very much enjoyed your stay with us at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma and for the positive feedback about the lodge, our staff members as well as your kind comments about Junior D, Lezinah and Simon, they were very pleased to learn you appreciated their efforts.Thank you for your kind contribution to the village, it is without a doubt very much appreciated.

We completely agree that Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma is the perfect place to truly relax..we hope to see you again soon..

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a place to stay!!! Luxury and beauty abound. The food is superb and the wine tasty. We enjoyed many elephant sittings, even the small herd bathing in the Zambezi right down from the boat dock! We enjoyed the many areas where we could read, write or just watch the river and the wildlife. Junior D was an outstanding and informative guide, proud of his country and the lodge. Sitting down by the river with a gin and tonic and watching the sun go down was a memory that will forever stay with us.

At times, we felt the staff was a little too involved with us, but they were always pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review.

We are very happy to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Luckson, the superb food and tasty wine.

Please do come back and we'll have a gin and tonic and a beautiful sunset waiting for you.....

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
8.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
387 reviews
8.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
7.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Property: Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning main area an elevated bar, superb wine cellar, lounge and open air dining area, curio shop and swimming pool. Full English and continental breakfast is served and high tea is available on request. The elegant shaded deck offers fantastic bird's eye views across the river. And last but not least, when all the excitement of the day has caught up, a revitalising spa treatment is the order of the day. Sussi Tree Houses: Twelve luxury tree houses are built into the canopy of majestic ebony trees lining the river bank. The air-conditioned rooms all with their own private viewing deck boast superb views over the white waters of the Zambezi. And if the fancy takes you, enjoy a private dinner on your deck, while the sounds of the bush provide enchanting background music. Chuma Houses: The two private Chuma Houses are perfect for families with young children. Each house has two en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge and dining area and private plunge pool. Each of the houses also come with their own private chef, house staff, guide and private vehicle for activities for the duration of their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Sussi And Chuma
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing