We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further - this place is worth every penny !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Look no further - this place is worth every penny !”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Being a seasoned Zambezi traveller, even getting married on the Zambezi, I think I am qualified to rate this as the best lodge on the upper zambezi ... even over our long time favourite Tongabezi. It wasn't that the rooms were more interesting, that the food was better, that the location was fabulous, or that all activities were included. No what makes this place my new number one destination is that the service is unrivalled. Attention to detail is expected, but the attention to the clients and their needs is not always forthcoming .... and it came in heaps of fun, care and unfussiness.
I am sure that it is not the cheapest, but it certainly offer excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaCLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    21
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
100
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This Sanctuary lodge in a national park is close to perfect. The staff have unbelievable smiles, the housekeeper proudly showed us round our tree house and the location looking across the Zambezi to Zimbabwe is stunning.
Activities included were a sunset trip downriver through the rapids towards the falls watching elephants and hippos, and a visit to Victoria Falls, ponchos provided because it was in flood, spray everywhere. On the way back to the lodge we had a tour of the local village the lodge supports, which was very humbling.
On our game drive we saw a large herd of buffalo as well as the usual giraffes, baboons, monkeys, zebras etc, and approached on foot to within 10 metres of a white rhino.
As an extra we went walking with lions - this is about a 10 minute drive away, and a once in a lifetime opportunity to take two fifteen month old lions for an hour's walk through the national park, stroke them, and even let them lick your hand!
Must mention the infinity pool near the water's edge and the wonderful meals - how about a crocodile curry? Also the gift shop.And the bar is open all day, drinks included.
It just doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlusterSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sussi Lodge for a week on our honeymoon. What a fantastic location and incredible staff !! Everyone was very friendly and no request was too much for them to handle. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joburgtraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at Sussi and Chuma at the end of our stay in Botswana and Zambia. This is a wonderful lodge. We stayed in room 5 which has a stunning view of the Zambezi. The room is lovely - large, nicely ethnic, with a fabulous large free standing bath.
The game viewing is not that prevalent in this part of Zambia - you are really here for the Victoria Falls - but that just means that you can enjoy the lodge all the more. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
The really nice thing about this lodge was that tables were individual. After several days of communal eating (common on safari) it was really nice to be able to relax and chill with my other half.
Make sure you do the lion walk nearby - the chance to walk with a couple of semi-habituated lions. See the Falls and the local rhino (five of them) but otherwise loaf about in the lovely room. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Our group of 5 visited four camps in late May 2010.

The food, service, and rooms were outstanding. The animals were not there to be found. We think the lodge is to close to the city and only a short distance inside of the reserve. I felt sorry for the guide. When you spend 10 mintes talking about a ant hill, you know something is wrong. We saw only three types of animals total during two trips.
The other camps we saw an average of 10 animals types per trip.
That being said, we enjoyed seeing the falls on foot and by "light" airplane. The falls is at it fullest at this time. Record water levels. The 30 minute light airplane ride to something to do! Not the 15 minte trip

Sorry to say I would not spent my money at this lodge next time . I would stay at a 5 star resort at the falls. Our vist was to see animals and we saw them elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at the Sussi and Chuma lodge for two nights and for us it just wasn't long enough.
The service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and could'nt do enough for us.
Our Tree house was very comfortable, and had everything you would need. On the deck of the tree house looking through the indiginous trees are stunning views across the Zambezi river.
Being woken in the morning by Hippo and bird song was the best wake up call .

The food was excellent. We were asked on arrival if there were any dietry requirements. Being wheat and gluten intolorent, the Chef provided me with wheat and gluten free dishes that were very tasty.
We enjoyed all the activities we did and found our guide very helpful. The extent of his knowledge of wildlife and his surroundings are excellent.
Best thing = being made to feel comfortable and relaxed. Least thing = could have done with staying an extra night or two.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Set inside the Mosi O Tunya national park about 10km upstream from the falls ,we stayed here for 2 nights and what an amazing place.
A very personal level of servce and the price was very good for the time of year we were there. 2 activities per day are included and we choose a couple of river trips in a small 6 seater boat and even tried fishing for tiger fish. Did a game drive which was ok and saw a white rhino, zebras etc but no cats in this region. The Zambezi is right outside your privare deck and we even saw a hippo grazing in the early hours of the morning! Cost compared to the Royal Livingstone for this time of year was very close and far better value in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itstonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
8.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
371 reviews
8.4 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
177 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Property: Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning main area an elevated bar, superb wine cellar, lounge and open air dining area, curio shop and swimming pool. Full English and continental breakfast is served and high tea is available on request. The elegant shaded deck offers fantastic bird's eye views across the river. And last but not least, when all the excitement of the day has caught up, a revitalising spa treatment is the order of the day. Sussi Tree Houses: Twelve luxury tree houses are built into the canopy of majestic ebony trees lining the river bank. The air-conditioned rooms all with their own private viewing deck boast superb views over the white waters of the Zambezi. And if the fancy takes you, enjoy a private dinner on your deck, while the sounds of the bush provide enchanting background music. Chuma Houses: The two private Chuma Houses are perfect for families with young children. Each house has two en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge and dining area and private plunge pool. Each of the houses also come with their own private chef, house staff, guide and private vehicle for activities for the duration of their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma Hotel Livingstone
Sanctuary Sussi And Chuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing