We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

THe Siankaba lodge is a small and therefore intimate lodge located on an island in the Zambezi River. The rooms are private, very clean and the lodge is located about 40 minutes from the Victoria Falls. Staff warm and friendly and food excellent. If you are looking for a slightly different experience from the typical hotels found in Livingstone this is for you.

Room Tip: All the lodges have similar layout, features and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Director of Sales at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Barry, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Islands of Siankaba. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to return one day. With best wishes Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
152
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights/days here after arriving in Africa. It is serene, luxurious, beautiful with great
staff, food and a super place for going to activities, i.e., walking with lion cubs, riding elephants, white water rafting on the Zambezi River, canoeing, nature walks, visiting schools and villages....all terrific. Was organized by Africa 2000 Tours who guided our whole trip here and in the Kwando concession in Botswana. Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: They are all lovely separate cabins in the trees connected by suspended walkways. There is a honeymo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Director of Sales at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review on your stay at Islands of Siankaba and your experiences in Livingstone. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future. With many thanks Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a fabulous place where nothing is too much trouble. Smiles abound and special friendships were made. We may not have had the best weather but it didn't matter as the team of Sam,Adam,Kolo Humphrey all work extremely hard at making your stay there unique. Richard and Lucky are also stars of the team with their knowledge of the area. What a terrific find for us and left there with heavy hearts but better for having found it. Well done to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Director of Sales at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on your stay at Islands of Siankaba. Sorry to hear the weather was not great during your stay but we are glad that the team looked after you so well and left you with some special memories. We hope you will be able to return one day. With best wishes Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

From the minute we were met at the airport and driven to the lodge, we were treated with the greatest consideration and kindness. Coming up to the main lodge on the boat from the river's edge was almost magical--we felt we were coming to a special place. Our room/"tent" with a porch over the Zambezi, reached by rope walkways, couldn't have been more comfortable. I slept like a baby to the soothing sounds of the surroundings--so peaceful and quiet. The activities included with our stay were sunset boat rides on the river where we saw hippos, herds of elephants, beautiful sunsets, drinks on the beach, villagers on the river in kokoros, wonderful food with charming hosts Ryan and Karen, and an interesting visit to the village of Siankaba with its nursery school and some village kids who loved having their pictures taken. One thing about Siankaba that I especially like is the partnership between the village and the resort--a couple of our guides (Lucky and Richard) have ties to the village and some money from the resort goes to support the school and village. Our "extracurricular activities" (a helicopter ride over the falls--thank you, Lucky, for getting both of us window seats!) was awesome and the excursion to the Devil's Pool at Livingstone Island I will never forget! If I ever return to Victoria Falls (to see them with more water???), I will return to the Islands of Siankaba to stay. Thank you for such a special experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkcarrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived at Siankaba after a couple of hectic weeks on safari in Botswana. We had flown to Kasane airport from Savute and were transferred by bus to the banks of the Zambezi and taken across the river on a small motor boat before going through Immigration into Zambia. Depending on the time of year it is worth considering getting a multiple entry visa as you may wish to travel into Zimbabwe to see the falls from that side (see below).

After a relatively short drive on tarmac roads we turned off onto a long dirt track leading to the accommodation. The road was rough and bumpy but worth the discomfort for the isolation the Islands afforded.

A very short boat trip takes you to the front of the accommodation having checked in on the 'mainland'. The rooms were on stilts overlooking the Zambezi and joined to the communal areas via wooden walkways. The luxurious tent had flaps and insect screens and opened out onto a balcony with exceptional views over the river. The only downside was that we had to keep the insect screen closed at night to protect us from the insects which are to be expected in that type of area. It did spoil the view from the room at night.

The food was good and the trips which were organised for us were very good. A walking trip round the local village and school is highly recommended as you see the place as it really is, and not like the usual touristy trips you come to expect when travelling. One of our evening meals was hosted by the headmaster of the junior school who was an great dining companion. He had started off as a barman at Siankaba before he was sent by them to train as a teacher. The school is funded by the Islands

We went on an excursion to the nearby Lion Sanctuary where you literally get a hands on experience with the young lions there who are part of a programme to breed lions for reintroduction to the wild.

The main reason for travelling to this area is always a visit to the Victoria Falls. We were there at the end of September and I had already read that the Falls at that time are better viewed from Zimbabwe. We had obtained a multiple entry visa in order to do this. The cost of going into Zimbabwe is quite expensive and you pay more if you are British (no doubt there is a political reason behind this) but it was without a doubt worth it as the Falls were almost completely dry on the Zambian side. Included within the cost of our stay was one visit to either the Zambian or Zimbabwean side of the falls. I think a few guests, in attempting to cut costs, decided that it would be cheaper to just visit the Zambian side and ended up disappointed and out of pocket if they went on a second trip this time into Zimbabwe.This is obviously not the case at other times of year so I would suggest checking the details before leaving home.

Overall this was a lovely relaxing way to end our time in Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenW710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I cannot describe how wonderful this place is. From the moment you arrive (after 7kms down a bumpy track) you know you are somewhere special. A boat takes you around to a landing stage below the main lodge, and from there you reach your room via a series of rope bridges. Everything about The Islands of Siankaba is magical, and if I ever had another honeymoon (doubtful!), this is where I'd come.
Ryan and his team could not have been more helpful, especially when I lost my passport somewhere around the ferry between Botswana and Zambia, which more or less stranded me in the middle of the Zambezi! Karen in the office made all the arrangements for me to fly to Lusaka for a new one, and unfortunately I had to miss what was, by all accounts, a wonderful visit to the Victoria Falls. But I was taken really good care of, and enjoyed the chance to see Lusaka, so it will just be a good excuse to come back. Also, I would very much have liked the chance to visit the local school. Thank you to everyone who made us so comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and have beautiful views of the Zambezi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Mill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay within easy 'commuting' distance of the falls. Ryan was great suggesting and organizing our 'extra curricular' activities. While we were in Livingstone visiting the falls our Bushtracks driver Mos took us to the tourist market in the center of town - what a brilliant place for buying inexpensive local gifts. Prices are negotiable. A must for everyone visiting Livingstone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
389 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,682 reviews
14.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Property: Islands of Siankaba
Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing