We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visited Islands of Siankaba after 8 nights in 3 bush camps in Botswana. It was an oasis of comfort. Guests stay in large chalets with complete bathroom facilities, including a huge bathtub with gold-colored fittings. The large bed was very comfortable and was the only place we visited that had very fine netting over it to prevent bugs from getting to us while we slept, though bugs were not much of a problem in September. The view from the bed is of the Zambezi River and it is wonderful for lulling you to sleep as well as waking up with the sounds of nature. The patio out front is a great spot for reading or just relaxing. The food was absolutely wonderful and the service is excellent. The hotel offers a sundowner cruise on the river, landing eventually on a small island for cocktails before heading back for dinner. We stayed there two nights and on the first night the hotel manager provided very lively conversation at dinner. The second night's dinner was hosted by his assistant who was not quite the same at conversation. On our one full day there we took the tour of Victoria Falls, including a boat ride from the Royal Livingstone Hotel to Livingstone Island and had lunch at the edge of the falls, a great experience, but probably only available in the dry season. We would have liked to stay another day in order to see the white rhinos. There are many things to do in Livingstone so give yourself some time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Islands of Siankaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 293 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

"Welcome to Fantasy Island" is really all I can say when remembering our arrival to this beautiful lodge. It's as if you were stepping into Robinson Caruso to steal another analogy. Just go. You won't regret it....as long as the season is right (stay away from Summer I'd think). Just go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here in early 2012 with my two uncles and had an amazing time. I think the best part was falling asleep under my mosquito net and then being woken up in the middle of the night by monkeys pittpattering around on the roof of my hut. That, combined with the sound of the Zambezi rushing under my hut, was a once in a lifetime experience. The staff we encountered were very friendly and welcoming. Do not be alarmed by the long, bumpy ride to the hotel, it is worth it! Then there is a short boat ride over to the island, also worth it. It is perfectly rustic - not so rustic you feel isolated but rustic enough that you feel close to nature, with all your creature comforts. The lovely sunset boat cruises were amazing - I'd never heard the sound hippos make, so weird. Highly, highly recommend this spot - if you go to Zambia it is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everyone should stay here at least once in their life. We had only 2 nights here - we could have stayed much longer. Everything was wonderful from the icy cold welcoming drink to the boat trip back to the mainland and everything in between - the boat trip to an island to watch the sunset and sundowners, the fantastic food, the deep claw footed bath, the mosquito net surrounding an enormous bed, the verandah on which to sit to watch the river go by, the sound of hippos at night and the vervet monkeys playing in the trees outside the 'tent'. The bar was set here and was never raised at the several other camps we stayed in. Advice to the management:: 'change nothing'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for only 2 nights and 3 days. I could have stayed much longer. It was such a peaceful experience, to be on an island in the Zambezi River, enjoying all that the lodge had to offer, including a sundowner boat ride. We had 2 rooms as my husband and I were travelling with our 22 year old daughter. We loved the meals and wonderful, helpful staff. I enjoyed cooling down in the pool after a day at the falls, all arranged by the hotel.

If you decide to visit Zambia, you MUST stay at the Islands of Siankaba.There is no other place quite like it!!

Gail N.

Room Tip: Every room seemed wonderful, if you are on a honeymoon, ask for the last room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only spent one night at the lodge and felt that was not enough. The location gave such a lovely and tranquil surrounding. Rooms were fantastic, it was lovely to hear the river at night time. The lodge is beautiful itself, I cannot explain but being there was amazing and one has to see a word cannot explain the beauty. The staff were awesome, they were very friendly and approachable, Adam, Adorable, Humphries, Brighton and all the staff were excellent. The sunset cruise was amazing. The spa was brilliant, Bessie was great!. We met such lovely people and felt like royalties on arrival. I would definitely visit the island of Siankaba again. From the Ilu, Nalin and Yanik

Room Tip: All rooms were great and a great view of the Zambezi when you lay on the bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaxi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed Islands of Siankaba for three nights in May 2013, on the recommendation of our travel agent, rather than stay at a hotel near the falls, This lodge that is literally on two islands in the Zambezi River. While an hour drive from the Falls, Siankaba offered a luxurious, quiet, intimate and relaxing stay away from the sound of overhead helicopters and the crowds of large hotels near the Falls. Siankaba does not offer game drives, but does offer many activities included in the fare, including tour of the Falls, daily sunset river cruises, a nature walk and a tour of the local village/school, all of which we did. We arrived in time for lunch and then the sunset cruise. This is in a small motor boat that holds a maximum 8 passengers (compared to the large cruise boats I saw in Livingston) – there were four of us that day, the other two being a honeymoon couple just arrived from Great Britain. During our stay, there were two other honeymoon couples at the lodge (it truly is a very romantic place). The cruise was the perfect way to relax after a full morning of travel. The Zambezi river is spectacular and at this time of the year quite wide. We saw hippos (from the head up only) and many birds. The boat stops in the river for drinks and appetizers while we watch the glorious sunset over the river. Spectacular! Dinner here was more formal than the other lodges we visited, with four-course fully served dinners. The rooms are separate permanent tents with large bathroom, private veranda, and electric blankets! The only negative is the 20 minute drive from the main road to the lodge on a very rutted dirt road, but thats the price to pay for the great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
401 reviews
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
192 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
99 reviews
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $1,019 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing