We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort but a little tough getting there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Islands of Siankaba and was very impressed by their facilities, the work ethic of the staff, food, etc. Only negative was the 20 minute ride from the highway to the lodge via a dirt road (?) that bounced us around like a pinball machine. The management then placed large pillows on the seat of the van to help us cope.

Facility itself was beyond reproach. Setting magnificient, all inclusive and great amenities. We were a family of 7 and would return should the opportunity present itself and we could bypass the 16 hour plane ride from Atlanta to J'berg.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooked the river but remember, only 7 rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul9939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Manager at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments on your trip to Islands of Siankaba, and apologies for my delayed response to you. I joined the lodge recently and was waiting on approval by Trip Advisor before I could post any responses. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, in spite of the rather bumpy ride into the lodge. You will be pleased to know that this road is being worked on by our team - with a new road being cut through to the lodge and the more bumpy sections being smoothed out. We are also waiting on the Livingstone Grader to come through and grade this road. We do hope you will return to our lodge on day in the not too distant future, many thanks Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Islands of Siankaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

the overall atmosphere is very private and romantic, wonderful staff, beautiful island.
the conbination of wildlife, bird watching during the sunset cruise on the Zambezi river makes the island very romantic.
The polite and proffessional staff offer a friendly holiday altogether.

Room Tip: The rooms offer a good sense of privacy, with a beautiful, romantic scenery, right on top of the Zam...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in June. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty! Adam (the general manager) came right out to great us and give us the rundown on the lodge, food, etc. The entire staff is impeccable - Richard, Immanuel, Brighton, Adam, Bessie, Humphries, Mabin, and Lucky just to name a few became like family in the 4 days we were there. We were there with my parents to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary and the staff couldn't have made it more special. They decorated the patio with roses which I'm sure was hard to find given the remote location of the lodge, the choir from the local village church sang for them, and Mabin who is also a preacher at the local church did a vow renewal ceremony for them. It was magical.

The sundowner boat rides to Hippo Island were incredible. Every day they would ask what we would like to drink while watching the sun rise. The food was incredible - second to none. We thought we would lose weight during our trip to Africa but we came home and realized we had gained 4 pounds!! The food was too good to pass up. They had afternoon tea everyday with amazing desserts that were made at the lodge. The pastry-chef is very talented. Bessie, the masseuse gave the best massage I have ever had. The rooms were amazing - it was like camping for royalty! They turn down your bed 4 times a day! At night, you come back to your room with chocolates on your pillow, fresh water to take your medicine with, the mosquito nets around your bed, and a mattress warmer turned on (it was winter while we were there) so you get into a nice, toasty bed! The attention to detail that the staff puts into to every aspect of this lodge is amazing!

The view from the lodge and your room of the Zambezi River is relaxing all on its own! Listening to the river roar by while falling asleep is truly magical. The swinging bridges to get from the rooms to the lodge make it feel like staying in a tree house.

On our last day there, we were surprised with lunch on the island. Adam, the general manager took us on a nature hike around the island and when we turned a corner, we had a wonderful surprise! We had lunch with all the trimmings on the banks of the island complete with table clothes, linen napkins, hot food that was delicious, and anything we could think of to drink!! What a wonderful surprise.

We were also lucky enough to visit the local village of Siankaba while we were there. The people in the village are unbelievable and only made our stay there that much better. They are the happiest, most genuine people I've met anywhere in the world. We were able to attend church at the local village church, visit with the children who attend the nursery school in the village and play soccer with them and other games. We miss the people we met there as much as anything about our trip, and given how much we loved our stay at the lodge, that's saying a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COgirlinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Islands on two occasions, October, 2011 and May, 2012 and will return every chance I can. The setting is extraordinarily beautiful and the rooms quite luxurious. I often think about sitting on my bed, gazing out at the Zambezi River through the mesh front of my cottage/tent built into the trees on an island in the river. It is an unforgettable sight.
The food is gourmet quality, served by attentive staff, in another beautiful setting. The food alone is worth the trip here!
Everyone on the staff, from Brett and Claire, the managers, who are wonderful, to the men who drive the guests on the river and on the sundowner cruises, are so thoughtful and caring.
To me, this is beyond a five star hotel!

Room Tip: There are only seven cottages, I believe, and all are great. there are no bad rooms anywhere here!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguinatlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Truly amazing place to stay. This little slice of Heaven is beyond words. The staff, the location, the setting and the owners are all beyond 5-stars in every sense. This was my second trip here and this time I took my wife/children who loved it as much as I do. The level of detail they provide to make your stay as comfortable, organized and enjoyable is truly amazing. From breakfast to dinner, you will not find a better dining experience--ANYWHERE and the food is fantastic. The individual details such as turning your bedding 4-times a day, treats on your pillows before sleep, water and well stocked beverages in your room are great. Nightly boat trips to hippo islands are awesome. We love it and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure to try to afternoon deserts at Tea Time. Take a stroll to the nearby church/village and s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This resort lodge is actually on two small private islands, and you are conveyed over by the lodge's open boat, a ten minute ride. The individual cabanas are elevated, with their private decks overhanging the water. The cabanas themselves are large tents, with every convenience and lovely camp decor, including clawfoot tubs, complete with a bowl of floating candles and view of the outdoors. You will sleep like a baby as the river gurgles placidly by!
In my opinion, this lodge is most suited to be a relaxation spot, taking advantage of the unique and tranquil setting and the activities close at hand, such as nature walks and short cruises down the river, especially at sundown. We used it as our base for visiting Victoria Falls, which isn't geographically far away, but arriving at or leaving the lodge involves a rather tedious half hour drive on a very bumpy dirt road, and then you are still another thirty minutes by paved road into Livingston.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much equal except for the one at the end, a honeymoon-type spot with an...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is truly beyond imagination. I always used to think the Drakensbergs in South Africa were as close to nature as you can get, but you may wish to reconsider after seeing this gem -Islands of Siankaba.
To think these luxurious lodges on basically stilts with the wild nature and beauty around you actually exist and not just what one may dream about is difficult to put in to words.
The staff also were fantastic and even catered for our somewhat fussy 14yr old diner who was with us. The boat trips/fishing/sundowner trips/canoeing/nature trails etc were absolutely fantastic . The rope bridge is a beautiful feature. The lodges are luxurious and treated my wife and 14yr old girl to some pampering on our veranda to a massage by their beauty therapist. -bezi I think her name was. She was exceptional . They even have the beautiful baths facing the Zambezi ready for occupation after your sundowner trips should you wish- filled with gorgeous bubbles and candles lit .
Thank you Siankaba for an experience that will be remembered and treasured for ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandipS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
401 reviews
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
192 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
99 reviews
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $1,017 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing