We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed four nights, as part of our three week honeymoon trip. Could have stayed longer, although the 40 degree heat in October is pretty tough. The staff here could not do enough for you, Brett and Claire manage the property along with a fabulous team - Humphrey, Victor, and Graham to name a few.

Built on two islands on the banks of the Zambezi river, perfectly molded into its natural surroundings, luxurious half wood and half tent cabins, perched above the river on stilts. To access your cabin you need to cross two rope bridges, it really is the wilderness. The transfer from Livingstone airport is about 1 hour and 10 mins, with at least 20 minutes of that on a dirt road (bit bumpy) Once you reach the reception you have a 5 min boat transfer to the islands.

We had cabin 7 also known as Baobab. Its the best room with the best view. Amazing sunrises in the morning! You eat like a king here, breakfast is a four course affair (if you fancy it) with a special everyday but you can order your classic favorites cooked the way you like it, lunch is tasty, light with a choice of meat and veg main. In the evening, before dinner recommend to take the sunset cruise on the river, you'll get to see hippos and crocodiles and enjoy a sunset aperitif. Back on the island, dinner is hosted by a member of staff, as there are only 7 rooms and not many of you, they seat you all together, which is great. We met some lovely folks on our trip, even exchanged emails. Every meal was amazing, five courses, all carefully put together with a mixture of local and international dishes. The house red and white wine is good, and most of the spirits and local beer "Mosi" is included in the cost.

Lots of activities are included, but what is not they are happy to organize it for you. We did Vic Fall and Livingstone Island on the same day. If you do the Livingstone Island trip (80usdpp) in the summer when the falls are not at their fullest you can swim in the devil pools on the edge of the falls. The massage therapist on site Bessy is great, great technique and knowledge, had a very relaxing massage in the room. Many want to also see the falls from the Zim side, we were not fussed as you get great views from Livingstone Island. If you do, remember to get double entry visa when you enter Zambia, as you'll need to get a visa to cross over to Zim and cross back into Zambia.

Recommend to visit the village and meet the kids and teachers at the local school, what is so unique about Islands of Siankaba is how much they have done for the community and how much they still want to do. The best story is the head teacher of the school, he was a bar man at the lodge and had always wanted to teach, they paid for his teaching training so that he could achieve his ambition of working with kids from the ages of 3-6. If you want to know more before you visit, get in touch with The U Foundation http://www.theufoundation.org

We loved our stay here, and was very sad to leave, but hope to return for an anniversary or birthday. Thank you again to everyone at Islands of Siankaba for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Beat view over the river can be found in room 7 or Baobab Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Travelgirl2106.

We can only thank you sincerely for writing such a comprehensive review. It really is appreciated. We are also extremely happy and satisfied that you enjoyed your stay, it makes our day to read reviews like yours.

Keep travelling and keep writing such geat reviews!

The Siankaba Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 299 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive at staying this far from our primary destination for this part of our journey, Victoria Falls. Ah... but I am so glad we stayed here at Islands of Siankaba. What a unique, relaxing, and luxurious stay we had. We loved the wooden bridges and walkways that led to our tents, the wood floors in our tent, free standing tub, shower with never ending hot water, and comfortable deck. Beautiful common and bar area. We were on a 2.5 week safari and the diner we had the first night here was our absolute favorite. Brett made us feel at home, ensured our previously booked excursions were all set, and helped us book additional activities. Loved the sunset boat ride. We toured the falls from both the Zimbabwe and Zambia sides... a must do. We also rode an elephant at thorntree boma... another must do. Neither were a very far ride in a nice air conditioned van.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-and-Wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much to Wanderlust and Wino - it sounds like you had a wonderful time, we are so pleased. I know that Brett will be ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed his dinner the best during your trip and I totally agree about the Elephant trip - it is such a privilege to be able to share time with those amazing animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just finished our all too short stay at the Islands of Siankaba and what we can we say other than THANK YOU so much to the whole team for making the final leg of our wonderful African adventure so relaxing and so enjoyable. Wonderful service, fantastic setting, beautiful rooms and altogether a perfect place to stay. The food, the ambiance, the attention to detail is wonderful to behold and we really hope that we can return some day soon

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Thornm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Thornm100.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your recent stay with us. It really does mean a lot to the team when someone takes the time to thank them in a pyblic forum such as this. Thank you for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What more can I say but paradise on earth. After being collected from our accommodation in Livingstone by a staff member from Siankaba we traveled as a group to Siankaba Island. for our daughters wedding. The journey although on dirt track was made pleasurable with the chat (or as they say in Ireland the crack) from the driver who kept a smile on our faces.We were taking by boat over to the island then escorted to our rooms which were on stilts and reached by swinging ropes.Our cabins were excellent with a view over the Zambezi river. The attention staff gave to very detail through out our daughters wedding was unbelievable every minute was planned.We were all bowled over by the preparations. The people from the village and the choir during the service were excellent I was moved to tears. The wedding feast was served under the stars and yes on the night of the blue moon, amazing. I would like to express our thanks to all the staff for a very enjoyable stay and making our daughters day so perfect.I would recommend this venue to anyone who travels through Zambia. To have experienced being woken up by hippos and watching them bob up and down in the Zambezi while having breakfast is just an amazing experience. Again a big thank you to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and beautifully decorated facing the Zambezi river with excellent view of hippos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Many thanks to Irk30 for writing such a great review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated by all our team.

It was sincerely our pleasure that you enjoyed yourself at the lodge and we really do hope to see you back there again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything was perfect: the service is welcoming, considerate, discreet! The food is also excellent. The surrounding is just incredible: nature at its best whilst offering all amenities of a 5* lodge!
They have made our honeymoon unforgettable!
We recommend the sunset boat ride in the lagoon, helicopter ride through the Victoria Falls' gorges. And the walk early in the morning to avoid the heat. And then a massage at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have finally returned from our Southern Africa month long epic trip which finished in Mozambique this week. We want to finally take the opportunity to say a huge thank all the excellent and kind staff at Siankaba for accommodating us, our guests, our wedding at your magnificent lodge which took place on 30th August.

Brett, Graham, Claire and the rest of the team did a truly magnificent and amazing job in looking after all our needs. Given we booked the entire lodge we were touched with the effort and attention to detail for the whole wedding- even the purpose built shelter outside the siankaba village church where we were married.

Our guests were bowled over with the setting of siankaba, the village, villagers and of course the choir! The people and the choir are truly magical and our guests were all moved to tears. The food was spectacular with the beautiful lamp light table set under a blue moon and a sprinkling of stars- now that's a special service!

I went searching for a lodge in my native Zambia to hold our wedding. I sought four things, for a luxury lodge on the banks of the Zambezi near vic falls ( where I used to holiday as a child), with an open fire, to eat underneath the stars and where there was a symbiotic relationship between the lodge and the villages- at Islands of siankaba we found this and so much more!!. Thanks so much and we really hope to return in the future. We will certainly recommend this as a unique wedding and vacation venue for adults and children.

Quite simply- Thankyou.

Karen and Alun Shannon-Jones

Room Tip: They are all stunning, with a beautiful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spidermonkeyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Karen and Alun.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a report, it is sincerely appreciated.

We do hope that married is blissful?

We are particularly delighted that your wedding surpassed your dreams and can assure you that the team at the lodge all felt privileged to be a part of your big day.

Specialy arranging the blue moon and stars was quite tough, but our managment team are superheroes!!!

We wish you many congratulations and a very happy married life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had absolutely wonderful time staying here as a family of 4 with two teenage boys. The setting is absolutely idyllic. The actual lodge can only be reached by a 5 minute boat crossing across the Zambezi river avoiding hippos and crocs en route and the walk to the rooms which are on stilts involves crossing 2 swing rope bridges. The actual attention to detail and ability to provide such high quality cuisine in such a remote environment amazed us. Graham at the lodge was extremely helpful throughout organising all our activities and ensuring that our dietary requirements were met.

The maximum number of guests possible at the lodge seemed to be about 12 or so and eating was either on a communal table or on your own if you preferred.

We went on a nature trail, sunset cruises which involved sipping cocktails and canapés on "Hippo Island "and fishing trip. Also a very interesting trip was the cultural tour to the local village and school. It was a true education to see how people are still living today in a very modest way without running water and electricity. Our trip to the spectacular Victoria Falls was included as part of the inclusive activities but additionally when we were there we took a boat to Livingstone Island and swam with a guide at the top of the Falls in Devils Pool. Absolutely hair raising!

Thank you to all the kind and friendly staff at Islands of Siankaba!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reecey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear reecey

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team at the lodge are delighted to receive positive feedback, thank you.

That swim in ' the devils pool' at the top the falls is an amazing experience...everyone should try it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
415 reviews
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
20 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,813 reviews
11.9 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
108 reviews
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $802 - $1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing