We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I spent four fabulous days in a beautiful private luxurious chalet. The food was first class and all the staff were exceptional, nothing ever to much trouble. The sunsets are magical something not be missed. It was lovely just to be able to relax and unwind sitting by the swimming pool sipping our fruit cocktails. It is well worth taking a visit to the Victoria falls and the craft market at Livingstone. A visit to the village and the school were an experience we both will treasure. We were made most welcome by all.
I highly recommend the 'Islands of Siankaba' to anyone considering visiting Livingstone.
John

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
148
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travelmerchant
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The lodges at the Islands of Siankaba are practical, beautiful and the attention to detail is fabulous. The beds are huge and very comfortable, the bathroom is clean with a separate shower and free standing bath and the balcony has excellent views over the Zambezi (and you can see Zimbabwe on the other side of the river).

At night you can hear the fast flowing river and the hippos (both very relaxing).

The food and drinks are delicious + the service is good. Brett - one of the main hosts, has some very entertaining stories!

This is also a good base to go and see the Victoria Falls (30-40mins away).

We were given a tip to go to the falls in the afternoon, rather than the morning - which I would recommend. The number of visitors is fewer and light over the falls is spectacular. One thing we regret not doing is going to Livingstone Island (next to the Devil's Pool). I would have also loved to do the falls by moonlight - which you can't do if you're staying at the IoS because the gate is closed at sun down.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great place, the service is excelent, a very nice place for a honeymoon!
The Food is also very good!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is something of an alternative lodge to stay in, placing you in the heart of the river and all of its wildlife. You can hear the hippos all night long and you will see plenty of hippos and crocs during the sunset cruise.

Food is excellent, with attentive waiter service.

The rooms are luxurious but have started to look a little tired round the edges now, and are in some ways a little OTT for the location (didn't really need that many throw cushions).

The location is unique being IN the river, but also bear in mind it is some distance from Livingstone and the falls so you will have to pay extra to be transferred to and from these.

Enjoyable stay overall but more suited to a weekend break than a long stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtmf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
All feedback is welcomed and appreciated however the managment are sincerely surprised by the comment in this review as the room interiors were completely refurbished in July 2011 in all rooms. It is also a shame the reviewer did find the rooms 'OTT' as most guests find them spacious and well appointed.
We would also wish to point out that the vast majority of our guests decide upon our 'fully inclusive' package that includes airport transfers and a trip to the Victoria Falls and therefore would not incur the costs that the reviewer is referring to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Overall we had a good time here.. Staff were very helpful. Lots of activities or can just relax on the comfy sunbeds watching the wildlife and the zambezi go by! However two things i would warn future guests of- 1 avoid the massages. Personally thought they were overpriced for a very unrelaxing experience. I was in pain for 2 days after.. 2 be wary of what you get charged for within your bar bill. We had wine with dinner, were frequently topped up by the friendly staff and were billed for what appeared to be each top up so not even full glasses of wine!! We did query this as we didnt feel this was particulary fair. The management did except their mistake and took a few drinks off the bill but just beware..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, Owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
The lodge management would certainly like to extend apologies for the mix up over the charging of drinks for these guests. It was an honest mistake and as the reviewer pointed out the drinks in question were deducted from the bill.
Massages are all carried out by fully trained masseurs and it would seem that in this instance the reviwer had an issue - obvioulsy this is not the forum to answer this but the massage team at the lodge would like to assure readers of their comitment to relaxing and rejuvinating massages. Massages are priced from US$40 for a 30 minute treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently traveled to Zambia and stayed at the Islands of Siankaba for three nights. The lodging, the "luxury tents", the service, and the food were all beyond our expectations. Conrad and his staff were attentive and eager to make our experience great. How can you beat taking a bubble bath (in a six foot long bathtub in your tent), while looking out over the Zimbezi river, while listening to hippos frolic in the river below? Truly an unique experience.

Plus, the evening boat trips down the river to "hippo Island", where cocktails were served at sunset, was a pleasant surprise - a scene out of African Queen!

Room Tip: Each tent is identical and beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDavis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Islands of Siankaba

We spent four fabulous days in beautiful private comfortable/luxurious chalets. The food was first class and all the staff were exceptional, nothing ever to much trouble. My husband John celebrated his birthday whilst there and it was made most memorable by Judas the chef making a wonderful mouth watering chocolate cake and also having the village church choir singing - something we will never forget. The sunsets are magical something not be missed. Visits to the village and the school were an experience we both will treasure. We were fortunate to be able to help in the school by teaching craft work for two morning sessions. We were made most welcome, by the staff and children; it was a pleasure to be there. Special thanks to our guides Sydney and Victor whose help was invaluable.

I highly recommend the 'Islands of Siankaba' to anyone considering visiting Livingstone.

Room Tip: All excellent chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Property: Islands of Siankaba
Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing