We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to chill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islands of Siankaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islands of Siankaba
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great way to chill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

We spent 3 nights here at the start of a trip to South Africa in order to visit the Falls and enjoyed it tremendously. The lodge is a little different from a standard hotel which suited us. Our room was comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. It is quite remote so chilling out was the order of the day. Almost the first question when we arrived was would we like to go on a sundowner cruise? A gentle trip on the Zambesi with a couple of cool drinks a beautiful sunset and some hippos to watch. What a way to wind down. Small and friendly, a chance to meet a few like minded people and be spoiled we loved it

  • Liked — setting & style
  • Disliked — distance
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazda5Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
146
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

The joy of Siankaba lies in its staff, where nothing is too much trouble; the beautiful setting just 45 minutes from the Victoria Falls; the excellent food, and company from like-minded travellers at this lodge; the comfortable accomodation.
If you are looking for the ultimate 5***** de luxe accomodation, the rooms may fall just a little short, but they are more than comfortable and clean, each with a private balcony overlooking the river, where you can watch the birds and the fishermen, and maybe see the hippos and crocs.
Siankaba provides a really restful stay at the end of a safari trip, or a great introduction to African safari camp life if you are at the beginning of the trip, as we were.
Do not expect an abundance of wildlife. This is not a safari camp in the strictest sense, but you will see elephants, hippos, and giraffe in the surrounding areas.
Rather concentrate on what Siankaba has to offer, including the visit to the Falls, a tour of Livingstone town and market, and definitely the tour of the local village, where you can see the trickle down benefit which tourism has brought to the local economy.
An interesting and beautiful place to stay.

  • Liked — The tranquillity of the location and the excellent personal service.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

I have just returned from 3 wonderful relaxing nights at the Islands of Siankaba after an extended and energetic visit to the South Luangwa National Park. The resort provides accommodation in 6 luxurious 'chalets' in the canopy of the trees on the banks of two islands in the Zambezi, each providing a panoramic view of the river and having walkways and suspension bridges to connect to the bar, dining room and lounge area. Reception is on the 'mainland' and access to the main part of the resort is via powerboat. The ratio of staff to guests is very high and their care and attention to detail second to none. The food was outstanding and of very high quality though lunch was a similar buffet each day. The resort provided a range of activities inclusive in the price including a trip to the Victoria Falls and the local villages from which most of the staff come, both of which were highly memorable. Nothing was too much trouble for Mark and his excellent staff. A memorable stay and highly recommended.

  • Liked — The sheer luxury and care of the staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

Location: Wonderful river location - getting there is a small adventure in itself. It is a bit away from Vic Falls, but that is part of the charm.

Accommodation: Lovely huts on stilts with great river views from balconies (and your bed) - amazing sunrises. Lovely bathroom areas.

Food: Good lodge style food.

Staff: Fantastically helpful across the board. Hosts fantastic and special mention for "Doctor" who provides excellent tours of the local village and the island itself - very knowledgeable.

Activities: Trip to Vic Falls amazing. We did the Livingstone island tour including the swim at the falls edge - out of this world, would recommend it to everyone. Sunset cruises at the island are great, especially in the local canoes. Local area tours also worth doing - see reference to "Doctor" above.

  • Liked — Views and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

What a fantastic hideaway. Located 45-mins from Vic Falls and the small town of Livingstone and accessed by road, dirt track and then small boat, this is a true romantic jewell of Zambia.

Don't expect 5-star accommodation, if you want this then stay at the Royal Livingstone, but you'll be missing out.

Sinakaba consists of just 6 private stilted lodges all overlooking the Zambezi and so you can guarantee privacy.

The accommodation is quaint, if a little rustic, but they still have a few little touches such as the roll top bath and storm lanterns.

The staff, who will outnumber you three to one, are very attentive and provide an excellent service, whether it's the barman or the porter. All with a genuine smile.

The food was a highlight for us, on the first evening we dined under a canopy by candle light with rose petals on the white linen table cloth in a private area of the lodge, the second was overloooking the Zambezi. They make an extra special effort, not just on the service, but the food was some of the best we experienced in South Africa, Zambia and Botswana.

They also offer a few special tours, such as the sunset cruise, which if you're lucky you will enjoy with your partner and no-one else. A must is the walking tour of the village, a very humbling experience without the trashy tourist feel.

We stayed in three lodges and this was best by far for service, food and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Food, location and service
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little basic
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

We started our honeymoon here and by the end of our 4 day stay we wished we had booked to stay longer.

The lodge is best described as exclusive and run by Simon and Bonnie Wilde who are excellent hosts.

The accomodation comprises 6 tented lodges on two islands overlooking the Zambezi river, 4 miles upstream from Victoria Falls. As such its an excellent base to visit the falls or Chobe National Park.

We are not normally hotel people in that we view them as a place to sleep and thats about it. The Islands of Siankaba are different. We found it to be a wonderfully romantic place such that we would have been quite happy to chill out there for our entire stay.

I wouldn't really recommend the IoS to families though. Its is far better suited to couples especially as children over 12 are not allowed.

Our first night we had dinner with our hosts and the other guests, the food was of a high standard and the company charming. For the next night we had a candle lit dinner over looking the Zambezi. Crickets in the background and Hippos braying in the distance.

The rooms are fantastic. They stand in the canopy of the trees on one of the islands and you can only get to them by crossing the rope bridges that connect the two islands that make up the complex. The rooms are all named after the indigenous tree they stand by and are designed such that you can a) relax in an old fashioned bath overlooking the river, b) wake up to the sight of a Hippo wallowing in the shallows, or c) take tea and biscuits on the terrace taking in the sights and sounds of the river.

The service is provided by many of the local villagers as part of a symbiotic relationship, and is second to none. The staff are friendly and helpful and willing to cater to your every need.

I highly recommend the tour of the local villages by the "Doctor" to see how the relationship works. Its all very impressive and somewhat inspiring.

Away from the hotel the one thing you must do is the White Water Rafting, even if its only for the half day. The video souvenir is a very professional job for a change, and well worth the money.

To sum up this is the only place on our numerous travels that we wish we hope we go back to.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank marathonman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
8.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
18.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
11.9 mi away
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Property: Islands of Siankaba
Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing