We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My cousin and I stayed at Fawlty Towers for 5 days during the summer.
It was a great choice!

The location is perfect - walking distance to the centre of town, across the road from a wonderful vegetarian cafe (guava smooties are incredible!) and next door to their travel agency / internet cafe (internet is well priced and quite fast).

The hostel have airport pickup, which can be pre-booked. Cheap and convenient!
We stayed three nights in the private rooms and two nights in the 8 bed dorms.
The private rooms are lovely and basic. Very clean, nicely painted, with private ensuite (great water pressure!).

The 8 person dorms are very basic and a little older than the private rooms. Nothing too flash - basic linen provided, mosquito nets for each bed and a small lock up locker (bring own padlock). Only one small fan for the room, so can get really hot at night! Shared bathrooms are clean and basic.

The breakfast area has a dining table, couch and shelves full of National Geographic magazines. There's also a 'book exchange' for avid readers. Breakfasts were basic but great value. Lots of fruit, tinned fruit salad, cereal, tea and coffee etc.

The highlights of the hostel were definitely the gorgeous pool surrounded by beautiful mango trees with hammocks for the tired traveller! 3pm complimentary pancakes are served by the pool everyday - and it was a wonderful way to meet other backpackers!
The communal lounge area (with pool table and TV) is a great place to mingle and meet fellow travellers. We met some great characters - have kept in touch with a lot of them since the trip.

The staff were amazing - there to help and organise everything from day tours, to food, to itinerary ideas. We spent a many an evening chatting with them into the night - such lovely people!

The hostel offers airport pickup, dropoff at Victoria Falls, pickup and dropoff for Zambezi river night cruises, and day tours of Mukuni Village. They can reccommend the places to go and not to go, and all on a budget!

I'd highly reccommend Fawlty Towers - sure, it's basic, but the staff, the location and the fellow backpackers it attracts make up for it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 419 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2009

A nice place to stay in Livingstone, is well known. Our rooms weren't ready on the first night so we had to sleep in tents in the courtyard but that was OK. Room was clean and bathroom was decent, staff were friendly and the hostel helped to book activities for us. Location maybe not that great as was not located in the main centre of Livingstone although this was within walking distance. A tip is to have an English breakfast at Funky Munky restaurant down the road as this is slightly cheaper and you get more food. Provided free transfer everyday to the Falls although you then had to get your own taxi back. Overall I'd like to come back here again with friends, though next time I'm in Livingstone will probably be with my family so I'll be in a nicer hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Seemed clean but room was very worn. It served its purpose for a 2 night backpackers stay-- but we would have preferred to have stayed at Maramba, Ngolide or Zig Zag (they were all booked) for just a little more $. I dont know how Fawlty Towers compares to Jollyboys. Staff was very friendly and helpful in booking activities.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank worldboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My fiancee and I stayed here for a few nights while travelling around Africa. Fawlty Towers is excellent value and its secluded garden mean that one can get a quiet nights sleep. We stayed in a double room and it was basic but clean. There is a bar and restraunt on site which is convienent. Staff were very laid back but helpful. There is only one computer but there's an internet cafe just down the round so it's nopt much of a hindrance. Good location and great value.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jtp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Good deal money-wise; but if you can't stand the heat go to a more fancy place.

Staff is friendly and helpful
Breakfast is only served inside where the stuffy smell of grease is so unappetizing that you better go to another restaurant
There is on computer with internet for communal use, OK
The on-site travel agency is Ok

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

I stayed at Fawlty Towers for 3 months, and all I can say is that it is a fantastic place- the staff are amazing, they help out in whatever way they can, the food is really nice, the location is ideal- just a short distance away from the shops, and it is fairly easy getting a taxi to the falls (should be NO MORE than $2USD). I stayed in one of the large 6 bed-dorms overlooking the pool, yes it did get hot, but after speaking to the bloke who runs the place, he said that it got too expensive for him to pay for the bills, as most people left them on all of the time. The staff there cleaned the room about once a week, and it was up to us to keep emptying the bins (fair enough).
Staying at Fawlty Towers, you do get a feeling that you are all part of a big family, there are not really many bad points about the place (apart from hot water- but that is the same as other places that I have stayed in in Zambia).
But, be prepared to be woken up at 6 every morning by the church bells (just opposite), and then shortly after that- the trains, which are very loud at times.
Overall, Fawlty Towers is a fantastic place to stay when you are visiting Livingstone.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank matt1Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Stayed at Fawlty Towers for a week in early Dec 07. At first we were in a tiny room at the back of the garden but then moved to a larger room by the communal kitchen since we were staying for more than a couple of nights.

The rooms are fine, single beds with mosi nets which looked a bit dodgy but did the job. Bathrooms are small but the showers powerful & hot.

One problem was that the room was not cleaned during our stay, so I advise removing your rubbish each day since the ants are huge!

There was food available in the common area beside the dorms & the breakfasts are well worth it. Lunch & dinner you could get cheaper & better nearby (Funky Munky for sarnies/pizzas & a couple of nice restaurants across the road). There's also a couple of small shops for snacks just along to the right & of course Hippos bar out the back.

Reception area has free internet access & wi-fi, a tv & pool table. Pool is fine, not a lot of loungers or tables but then it was start of the rainy season so maybe better in summer.

All activities for the area can be booked in the office (v. helpful) & there's 24 hr security onsite.

Keeping in mind that this is a backpackers place (& in Africa), its pretty good & for £18 per night for an ensuite room you can't beat it. Others in our group stayed at various swanky hotels in the area but were paying £300 - £500 for the week!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titiangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
4.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,809 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
4.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 91 in Livingstone
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 216 Musi O Tunya Road | Box 61170, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $23 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing