We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT HOT HOT but OK place”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Good deal money-wise; but if you can't stand the heat go to a more fancy place.

Staff is friendly and helpful
Breakfast is only served inside where the stuffy smell of grease is so unappetizing that you better go to another restaurant
There is on computer with internet for communal use, OK
The on-site travel agency is Ok

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2008

I stayed at Fawlty Towers for 3 months, and all I can say is that it is a fantastic place- the staff are amazing, they help out in whatever way they can, the food is really nice, the location is ideal- just a short distance away from the shops, and it is fairly easy getting a taxi to the falls (should be NO MORE than $2USD). I stayed in one of the large 6 bed-dorms overlooking the pool, yes it did get hot, but after speaking to the bloke who runs the place, he said that it got too expensive for him to pay for the bills, as most people left them on all of the time. The staff there cleaned the room about once a week, and it was up to us to keep emptying the bins (fair enough).
Staying at Fawlty Towers, you do get a feeling that you are all part of a big family, there are not really many bad points about the place (apart from hot water- but that is the same as other places that I have stayed in in Zambia).
But, be prepared to be woken up at 6 every morning by the church bells (just opposite), and then shortly after that- the trains, which are very loud at times.
Overall, Fawlty Towers is a fantastic place to stay when you are visiting Livingstone.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank matt1Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Stayed at Fawlty Towers for a week in early Dec 07. At first we were in a tiny room at the back of the garden but then moved to a larger room by the communal kitchen since we were staying for more than a couple of nights.

The rooms are fine, single beds with mosi nets which looked a bit dodgy but did the job. Bathrooms are small but the showers powerful & hot.

One problem was that the room was not cleaned during our stay, so I advise removing your rubbish each day since the ants are huge!

There was food available in the common area beside the dorms & the breakfasts are well worth it. Lunch & dinner you could get cheaper & better nearby (Funky Munky for sarnies/pizzas & a couple of nice restaurants across the road). There's also a couple of small shops for snacks just along to the right & of course Hippos bar out the back.

Reception area has free internet access & wi-fi, a tv & pool table. Pool is fine, not a lot of loungers or tables but then it was start of the rainy season so maybe better in summer.

All activities for the area can be booked in the office (v. helpful) & there's 24 hr security onsite.

Keeping in mind that this is a backpackers place (& in Africa), its pretty good & for £18 per night for an ensuite room you can't beat it. Others in our group stayed at various swanky hotels in the area but were paying £300 - £500 for the week!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titiangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

having lived in southern africa and to vic falls before i was expecting a basic place, it was probably the best back packers place to go in the vic falls area.
clean, freindly cheap and very cheerful.
also would recomment the seafood restaurant opposite

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

Have stayed at plenty of hostels around the world and considering we were in East Africa, found this hostel to be fine. We shared a dorm as there were four of us and this gave us the option to have an ensuite. Only real gripe was that there was not hot water in our room so we ended up having showers in the shared shower blocks (so it defeated the purpose of paying for an ensuite). Room was clean and common areas were resonably clean (showers could do with a good overhaul). There was a fan in our room but it was still HOT! (and I come from hot country). Next time we will spring for aircon. There were mossie nets but they had many, many holes so we had to do some major repair work (mossies being a concern as far as malaria goes).

Plenty of good things - really nice pool and garden area (could do with a few more tables though..). Helpful staff who were willing to suggest and book trips, activities etc. Central location - close to food, groceries, shopping, bar etc. Free pick up from the airport (no hassles with Taxi touts). Free shuttle to the falls at 10am each day (find your own way back in a taxi for approx $4 USD)

Zambia (and in particular, Livingstone) is not as developed as some of the other East African countries, certainly in relation to tourist accom. You have two options a) - go for a backpackers or b) spend an exhorbitant amount at a top western resort, near the edge of the falls. Stayed for 4 nights and found it good value, despite the mossie nets and lack of hot water!

TRAVEL TIP - The ATMS (cashpoints) in Zambia are NOT connected to networks outside Zambia, therefore your card is not likely to work. We also had a Visa that should have allowed cash advance but this did not work either. Travellers cheques are also treated with some suspicion. As you can not buy Zambian Kwacha until you arrive in Zambia (not sold in other East African countries), make sure you have sufficient Pula, Rand or USD to change, upon your arrival. DO NOT RELY ON ELECTRONIC BANKING as you will just create a headache for yourself. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

I stayed at Fawlty Towers several times in 2001, my two night stay in late December 2006 was my first return visit and some things change and some things, thankfully, stay the same. Fawlty Towers has a great location and the rooms are clean and comfortable and the bar, called Hippo's, at the rear of the property serves reasonably good food and decent zambian beer. The private rooms are all located around a garden which includes a pool and fully grown tree's. Sounds idyllic? There is a downside, firstly, we had an ensuite room with no air conditioning. This meant that the room was hot, stuffy and uncomfortable and started feeling damp very quickly, remember December is the wet season and humidity was high. Secondly, be prepared for the sound of mangoes falling from the surrounding trees and crashing onto the metal roofs of the rooms at all sorts of weird times of the night. All things considered, It's a good place to stay, it's easy, friendly and a good budget option.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed here twice within a year.First time with my parents and second time with some backpackers.
My parents wanted to stay in a hotel but I wanted to stay in a hostel.They were not dissapointed.They had a lovely double room with ensuite overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. We had lovely food cooked by the poolside everyday and the staff couldnt have been more helpful.
they organiized safaris,bungee jumps, white water rafting and day trips into Zimbabwe.
When i stayed there iwth my friends in was party central and we even went swimming at around 2am as the poolside never closes.
Definitly reccomend this hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank quorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
4.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,806 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#12 of 91 in Livingstone
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 91 in Livingstone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 216 Musi O Tunya Road | Box 61170, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $19 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing