We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Livingstone - so good we kept coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis in Livingstone - so good we kept coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently travelled to Livingstone for a couple of weeks for business, and stayed at Fawlty Towers in a private room. We chose Fawlty Towers based on price, and were very impressed - it was great value, clean and comfortable with mosquito nets and a safe, friendly and helpful staff, a funky vibe and a great place to relax (there was even a spa for great massages!). The managers are fantastic and went out of their way to help us, even when we kept changing our plans. We would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The double and twin rooms are at the back of the courtyard away from the road, but all rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odyssey_Kirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    144
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
95
81
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place couldn't be more convenient or pleasant. Every morning there was a free shuttle to Victoria Falls (no return, though), every afternoon there are free "pancakes" (more like crepes), the private room was lovely, there's free WiFi, a great pool, laundry, and helpful staff. It is a backpackers heaven, with a beautiful lawn for camping, a restaurant on site (we didn't use it), cooking and bathing facilities (we had friends using those), and an ATM and supermarket across the street. There are picnic tables and lounges around the pool, for socializing, and a bar and TV area inside. What more could anyone ask!?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Fawlty towers is one of the Best Packers Hotels we stopped at during our tour of Africa.
All the staff were extremely helpful and Friendly, rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.
Great atmosphere all around
We would definitely recommend it as a stop over if you are visiting Victoria Falls

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with my two twenty something daughters. Though I was the oldest guest, I am sure, I felt right at home. The staff couldn't have been lovelier or more helpful/friendly. The other guests were great- no mid day (or even late evening) loud drunks here! We met some very interesting fellow travelers doing wonderful things. The food was great and very inexpensive- we ate every breakfast here and one dinner and couldn't have been more pleased The 4 bed room is small but serviceable with a nice bathroom- completely adequate. Although the weather wasn't conducive to swimming, the pool area was lovely and lovingly kept- and the two resident cats were a bonus. We also took advantage of the bookings for a safari ride and boat tour- excellent here too. Great value and experience!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMVSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

This place is not your typical backpackers lodge.

Yes, there are a lot of backpackers but there are others also. It has a pool and a quiet bar and TV. It also has a nice garden for just chilin'

They give free tea and coffee and pancakes. The food is OK, but there are many places within easy walking distance offer something a bit different.

They have a self catering kitchen, but it is not great, but I suppose it all works fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

When you pull up to FT, it doesn't impress. But behind the doors is a little oasis! There are two bars on-site (I have NO clue what that other review about no bar was talking about) and the restaurant was cheap and delicious for breakfast. I stayed in a clean and lovely private room, but also saw the bunked rooms - nice! The showers were super hot and had great pressure, a delightful change of pace. The pool was kept uber-clean, and was lovely for swims. Despite how many people were staying at FT, I couldn't believe how clean and quiet the grounds were. Nice to have free Wi-Fi as well. I also couldn't disagree more with the negative comments about staff. I found them all to be super helpful and engaging. Perhaps if you are delightful to others, that is what you will get in return ;) Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband and I spent several nights here in August, 2010. The grounds are lovely -- lush, green, with a beautiful pool. There is a shared kitchen that can be used to prepare your own food -- which was very helpful to us because we had been traveling for about 6 weeks by this point and wanted to cook our own food. We were able to rent pots/pans/cutlery and use the fridge to store our food. The staff were helpful and friendly - especially the guards at the front gates. Several restaurants were in walking distance. We camped for a few nights and then moved into a private room with private bath for 2 nights -- which was more expensive but well worth it. Free wi-fi was a great bonus!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrifterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.4 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 84 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Property: Fawlty Towers
Address: 216 Musi O Tunya Road | Box 61170, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing