We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happening, great location and comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Lubumbashi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happening, great location and comfortable accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I ve already come twice to Livingstone and I ve been to 4 different hotels/lodges/camps and Zambezi Waterfront is the place to be if your looking for ambiance, nature and great activities. The dome tents we stayed in were clean (but the matress is a bit old and worn). The ablution bloks were very convenient and cleaned daily several times. The restaurant also serves delicious meals. So overall a great stay, I would defdinately recommend and come back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiSarfyRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5/5 rating. We love seeing these!
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will make a note with housekeeping regarding the thin mattress in the tents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    163
    86
    33
    22
See reviews for
64
109
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I would not advise any one to stay in a tent here. We were booked in for a tent stay for 3 nights but luckily upgrades to a room were available. If we had been in a tent I would not have stayed as the monkeys were every where. The rooms though, were good and had lovely views, good facilities. We went on a sunset cruise which was great. Lots of wild life. It was very hot, so if heat is a problem, don't go. No air con in rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy in the tents but glad to hear that you were happier in our chalets.
By the sounds of it you were in Livingstone around October and October is known as our hottest month of the year so, you are right, not ideal for travellers who are not fond of the heat.

Thanks again for the review we really do appreciate every one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Background: Our overland tour group had a two-night stopover here in Livingstone in the middle of a 48-day African camping trek. The Zambezi Waterfront is a 3-star rated mixed-use facility consisting of two dozen chalets, a couple of dozen 'upgraded' tents on raised platforms and several campsite spaces for overland groups. (There's also an adjoining building that houses a luxurious spa and better-looking dining area but, since there's a surrounding fence, I wasn't quite sure it was still a part of the more rustic Zambezi Waterfront lodge. Bear this in mind for this review.)

PROS: Location is one of its best assets. Although quite some distance from town, it is situated right at the waterfront of the Zambezi River, about 4 km upriver from Victoria Falls. Nevertheless, they have a free shuttle service that regularly makes trips to town. (The schedule is on the bulletin board by reception.) Being the hub of activity in Livingstone and housing the booking office of Safari Par Excellence are big pluses. You may book to go bungee jumping, whitewater rafting, abseiling, helicopter or microlight flying, safari trekking, river cruising, fishing, elephant riding, lion walking, horse riding, golfing, game driving, rafting... the list goes on. (I went on a combo Lion Encounter & Helicopter Flight for K1,400,000. More importantly, I got to swim in the Devil's Pool at the edge of Victoria Falls!) As for amenities, it is of good value for what you get. Mind you, the accommodations are very basic with nothing extra. The ablutions are adequate. The complimentary breakfast is good, but nothing to write home about. There is a fairly large swimming pool on site and a duck pond-size wading pool near the bar. You may be privy to the daily migration of a herd of elephants like we did.

CONS: Three come to mind --- First, their dining/bar area is not big enough to accommodate a large surge of incoming customers so that wait times for tables can stretch to 45 minutes. Thus, service is the first to suffer when the place gets busy. Second, their WiFi is expensive and the connection is very slow (to be expected I guess). Last, though not directly their fault, the place is overrun by bands of feral monkeys and swarms of blood-thirsty mosquitoes. Booking and reservation problems can be an issue at times.

Verdict: Although they do welcome everyone, this establishment caters mainly to the younger, budget-conscious, noisier and more active groups so that anyone "outside" this demographic will feel out of place or not to their liking. (I reckon most complaints fall under this category.) So, if you are after Western-standard 7-star luxury, or on a honeymoon or a quiet getaway, then this is NOT for you. (There I said it.) If you wish to splurge, may I suggest the Royal Livingstone instead? Otherwise, for non-fussy budget travelers who need a base to explore the "Adventure Capital of Africa," then this place is quite adequate for this purpose. Grade A-minus.

.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for writing that details review, we really enjoying reading them and I am sure the fellow travellers do as well.

You are correct in stating that we do have the advantage of location. Right along the Zambezi River, you can't get much better than that (unless maybe Livingstone Island?).
With regards to the big hotel next to The Waterfront, that is our Superior 4* property called The David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa. Guests at The Waterfront are allowed to go and make use of their spa facilities as well as their bar and restaurant facilities.

Thank you for pointing out what the pros and cons were for you as this will be very helpful for future guests as well.

Unfortunately mosquitos and monkey's are out of our control, as you stated but we do spray for the mosquitos and try and chase the monkey's away.

We hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent two nights at this venue and the setting on the Zambezi river is amazing. The bar/restaurant area has a vibrant atmosphere and the food is reasonable and the Mosi beer great. Staff is friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights following a week long organised to Zambia. Having spent a number of hours stuck at the Zambian border from South Africa, the hotel was the perfect respite. We arrived and promptly went on the most beautiful sunset cruise down the Zambezi, on a boat docked outside the hotel. The food here was a lovely!

In the zw itself, there is a lovely swimming pool overlooking the Zambezi, which we we swam n daily. There is also a bar next to the pool selling all sorts of drains, including local beer (mosi) and amarulla (like baileys but better) and cocktails.

Lots of delicious food on the menu for lunch and dinner -the chicken wrap thing is excellent! Lots of our door seating, and pretty walk through the gardens to the chalets. Bedrooms were a good size with personal verandas, ad on suites. Very clean and well maintained.

The hotel organise transfers to local attractions such as elephant back rides, helicopter rides and Victoria falls.

Best part? You can see the spray from the Victoria falls from the pool and deckchairs! We had a fantastic few days here. And you can get your laundry cleaned and dried for a reasonable cost which we needed after our tour!!!

Room Tip: Try get one over looking small lake or Zambezi, lots of wildlife to spot! We saw a water monitor dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your 5 star rating - we really appreciate it and it means we are doing something right.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our lodge and setting. We think we have one of the best locations on the river and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed it as much as we do.

Looking forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an interesting place to stay and a refreshing change from the usual hotel rooms. However, the family chalet was fairly basic with no roof on the bathroom! The open-air dining on the Zambesi was the highlight, as was the wildlife in and around the lodge. For assistance with tours and transfers, I suggest that you take the recommendations made by the front desk staff - we found Herbet partcularly good, as he can also take you into Zimbabwe for the day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser-0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking them time to write your review, we really do appreciate your feedback and comments.

We tend to agree with you that for wildlife and the setting the lodge is great.
We will pass the message onto Herbet.

We hope to see you back again soon.

From all the staff at The Zambezi Waterfront and Safpar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed four nights one in a 'luxury' tent and three in a 'standard' room. I didn't like the tent and it certainly was not luxury, price expensive. The room was basic and for $200 US a rip off in my view. There was no air conditioning but not even a door screen so at night the only thing you could do was to have a fan blowing warm air around the room. The staff were generally surly but not all.

If I went again I would stay in a hotel in which friends were paying less than me in a 4 star suite. The Zambezi Waterfront is basically an upmarket backpackers lodge and the rooms are not hotel standard - no TV even.

Michael, UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Michael,

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We aim to have guests smiling when the leave and it seems we did not achieve that with your booking. We aim to be a good 3 star lodge in the area as currently there are many 4 and 5 star properties and wanted a place that could be affordable to everyone to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Zambezi River.

Our Adventure Village Tents are a basic dome tent set up with two single beds inside as well as a lamp with electricity and we sell it as that, we have never sold them as a luxury tent, we apologise for the confusion.

With regards to the TV's, although it will not be helpful to you now, we will be installing them in the next couple of months. Before now we did not feel the need to install TV's as most of our guests were going to be out all day doing activities etc. Having said that it is now requested more and more so we have decided to install them.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies that you were not happy whilst you were staying with us.

Kind regards - The Safpar and Zambezi Waterfront team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livingstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.6 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
2.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Waterfront

Property: Victoria Falls Waterfront
Address: Sichango Drive, Livingstone 60407, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Waterfront)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Falls Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Falls Waterfront is situated on the Northern banks of the Zambezi River, approximately 4 km's upstream from The Victoria Falls and just opposite Siloka (Long) Island.This establishment is designed to attract the younger more adventurous traveller (and of course the young at heart!) who wish to experience the Great Zambezi River, the wonder of the Victoria Falls and its stunning wildlife surrounds, without great expense. It is designed to cater for all travellers, from camping to basic, good quality chalet accommodation. The Waterfront has some lovely riverside chalets with balconies and stunning views. We also have Adventure Village Tents which are permanent tents with 2 x single beds and a campsite - so something to suit everyone. The lodge has fantastic amenities including 2 x swimming pools, a popular bar, restaurant with Peppino's by the river's pizza's (delicious!). There is also an internet cafe, wifi, small souvenir shop and a large activity centre who will help with all activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Falls Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Waterfront Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing