We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The River Club(Livingstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fallsway Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rite Inn(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
108
14
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
14
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorn treeoutdoor showersunset cruisebar lounge areagreeted with big smileshis knowledgevictoria fallsprivate plunge poolnatural settingluxury accommodationwonderful guidespecial experiencelarge bedfull barrooms are greatshort drivemighty zambezi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 127 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We stayed at the Thorntree for our Honeymoon in May, 2007 and were booked into one of the two Honeymoon Lodges.

We felt totally looked after and it felt like we were the only ones there.If you wanted a meal for two by your Lodge or in the grounds this was catered for, along with any request. I asked for a particular desert on the menu and it appeared the next day, nothing was too much trouble. We were also given the same guide on most of our trips out from the camp every day, his name was Victor and he was most informative. As we were on our own in the safari truck for each trip, we felt like we had our own personal guide and Safari experience.

I would definately stay here again and with only 9 lodges the maximum amount of people staying is limited to 18, so your guarenteed the excellent service

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

The services of the staff particlarly the manager Sandra and our guide Brighton were outstanding.The location is excellent for vising the falls and game reserve or just relaxing on site. Food is very good and when I happened to mention that I hadn't been able to sample the local bream it was on the menu the next day!I would also recommend walking across the top of the falls(with a guide) for a close up look. You can also swim if you wish and are brave enough but I think it is better than a flight over and cheaper!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JohnDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

The Thorn Tree Lodge in Zambia by the Great Zambezi River is a phenomenal place to stay while touring in the victoria falls area. Everything in this resort is included including a sunset rafting trip out on the river where you see elephants coming out for an evening drink, and amazing scenery. The hotel will ask you what you like to drink when you arrive, and the drinks of your choice will be served while on the raft.

Safari trips are also included and the lodge will take you out on safari at night with lights (amazing!) as well as far into the jungle during the day where you will see the Big 5 and amazing scenery.

The resort consists of a series of huts with tents inside of them to keep the bugs out. A complete bathroom and shower are attached to every hut, and for hot water, they will boil you a tank of water and put it in place outside your hut so that you have hot water for your morning shower. For a truly unique experience with 5 Star Service - this place is a must see!

  • Stayed: March 2002, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheSimpleTruth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Thorntree was the only lodge (rather than camp) among the 5 places we stayed in Southern Africa, and we were all looking forward to it. While we found the facilities lovely, our family felt that all our problems centered around the poor management team. They had to look at our paperwork to know what was included in our room rate. They waxed eloquoent on the benefits of booking a canoe trip with a sister company, but miscommunication between the companies and poor management of that group produced a disastrous experience (beginning with a two-hour wait after the guide dropped us off..) We were brought back much later than scheduled, after the normal lunch hour, and it was slow and difficult to get something to eat. They then took us to the gorge swing but failed to radio ahead; it was closed for the day when we arrived. There were lots of excuses made and a 25 percent discount offered on the canoe trip, but I felt a full refund was an order on something that ruined not only the morning for which it was scheduled, but the rest of the day! The night the manager served us dinner, the service was erratic. Worst of all, they failed to check on our charter flight's departure time (as the manager usually does) despite repeated requests from us. As a result, we ended up being unceremoniously rushed out of our rooms and off to the airport (without breakfast other than a sandwich in the car). The maddening thing was the deceit: We overheard (firsthand) the manager tell the person he'd finally radioed about the flight time that we were in the car and would be at the airport in 20 minutes (the length of the drive). At that point, he had not yet told us that our flight was imminent; some of our family were still in bed! In addition, he told us that we should punch the pilot for waiting until the last minute to schedule the flight. But we later saw the paperwork showing the flight had been scheduled three days prior. The manager just failed to check on it. Couples tend to manage resorts like these, and when a new couple replaces Nick and Amanda, Thorntree could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BNA_Francophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hi BNA_Francophile,

Thorntree River Lodge is under completely new management as of May 2017. African Bush Camps has taken over the property and refurbished and renovated it. We have completely overhauled management practices and the camp is running so smoothly.
We hope to see you and your family back at Thorntree River Lodge again one day.
Best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

Absolutely delightful! Amanda and Nick are great hosts! The site, food, and service are superb! The facilities are immaculate!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twingirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews