We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Beautiful”
Review of The River Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The River Club
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed two nights at the River Club after a long 3 week safari. It was a very welcome change fo pace. Though you could do excursions, we chose to only do 2 - the trip to Victoria Falls (fantastic) and the sunset cruise on the river (also great). We were in the Livingstone Suite, which far exceeded my expectations. We had a private plunge pool with a view of the river - what could be better? Bed was comfortable, shower was extremely welcome, staff was great, food was good, drinks were good. The lodge and grounds feel like your stepping back in time. It was a wonderful way to end our African trip.

Room Tip: Livingstone Suite has a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TooMuchRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stop your search for where to stay NOW -----> The River Club is your answer! Honestly best experience ever: great staff, the best food, a myriad of activities, and truly a homie and welcoming place. Stop what you are doing and hit up the River Club!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebalfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent, comfortable, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful setting, wonderful food and staff. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krischad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is my second visit to the River Club, and I spent 5 nights there. The River Club is a wonderful place to begin or end one’s safari, as many of the other guests attested too – but I chose to do neither, I chose to spend time there because I think it is one of the most beautiful, tranquil and romantic places in the world. This lodge, with magnificent views over the River Zambezi and upstream from Victoria Falls, combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the modern comforts and achieves this in a seamless fashion. As a guest, you are warmly welcomed and superbly cared for by the staff, in fact it feels more like you have been invited to share someone’s home, and in a sense this is true, because Peter Jones, the owner of the River Club has invested considerable personal time and energy in the design of the lodge as well as filling it with a wonderful eclectic collection of artwork, old photographs and books which depict the history of the region. My two storey chalet, as with all of the chalets, looked out onto the river with an unimpeded view; polished wooden floor boards and sleeping under a huge mosquito net all add to the ambience! The sunset cruise is an added treat, this part of the world is re-known for magnificent sunsets and with good reason; so, heading out onto the river by boat, with a knowledgeable guide, seeing the abundant birdlife, pods of hippos and on occasion, elephants crossing the river, followed by a Zambezi sunset is quite something. The River Club is a very special place, worthy of many return visits, and I recommend it most highly.

Room Tip: all the rooms consist of private chalets with an unimpeded view of the Zambezi river, each is decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The River Club is really a top notch lodge to stay at Livingstone. Owner managed with a longstanding team of staff... so much character and not your average bush lodge... more a stylish getaway where you can either be very busy doing plenty activities or just laze around doing very little. The rooms are all very comfortable and well thought through.

Room Tip: Not all rooms connecting, they do have a family suite... well designed with bathrooms off the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank africanfusiontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the River Club for 2 nights. On the plus side, the staff was friendly and the view was nice. On the negative side, I just didn't find the River Club to provide good value. While there wasn't one major issue that leads me to this conclusion, it's a combination of lots of little things. I found the food at the safari camps to be better and more abundant, which is surprising given the proximity of the hotel to supermarkets. We had a nest of bats living outside of our room and we chased 2 out of our room. The service was good but perhaps we were spoiled by the camps and at this point of the trip I was hoping for hotel like accommodations. It's worth noting the rooms were enclosed by screens, not walls, so more like a safari tent like experience. We had a few included activities and they were extremely over hyped.

Given I had difficulty finding a better option, perhaps this is the best option in Livingston to see the Falls but I'm just not sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vacay4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our only regret is that due to plane schedule we couldn't stay longer. The grounds are beautiful. The views from your suites are breath-taking. You are lured to sleep with the hippos grunting. They sound like they are right below your suite. The lodge and grounds have the looks and feels as if you were stepping back in time to the early 1900's. The staff catered to your every need. The service and food was excellent. It was so enjoyable to sit in the Lodge by the fireplace with a pre-dinner and after dinner cocktail. Only recommendation is to get a multi-entry visa so you can go over to Zimbabwe. The rooms are split level with views and plunge pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spilt level with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
12.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.2 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
422 reviews
12.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
3.8 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
10.1 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Club

Address: Farm 1519A, Nakatindi Road | Simonga, Livingstone 60469, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: $685 - $1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique, owner-run luxury lodge, The River Club is Livingstone’s premier destination on the Zambezi River. The River Club is defined by the value we attach to lasting memories, genuine hospitality, our peaceful location, the historical preservation of Livingstone and our commitment to the local community of which we form part. Just 18 kms/11 miles upstream from the renowned Victoria Falls and town of Livingstone, in a tranquil oasis, are our eleven spacious suites individually nestled within the tree line overlooking a sweeping bend of the mighty Zambezi River. From their elevated positions, the suites are perfectly situated to gaze across the river to the Zambezi National Park on the opposite bank, home to an array of wildlife and birds in an area of abundant natural beauty. For that perfect mix of idyllic relaxation and adventure travel, along with unbeatable sights, The River Club is the ultimate destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Club Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing