We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family friendly lodge in a National Park near to Victoria falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chundukwa River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Chundukwa is a very welcoming family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi a few miles upstream of the great Victoria Falls. It offers boat and horseback safaris as well as visits to the Falls, Livingstone and neighbouring national parks where the game viewing is excellent. The accommodation is simple but very comfortable, the food is very good and the staff could not do more to make your stay a memorable one. The horse safari is a unique facet of a stay here and the opportunity to visit an unspoiled village to see at first hand the challenges of village life are immensely rewarding

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Chundukwa River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Chundukwa is a real gem. It has a stunning location in the thick of the Zambezi wildlife (literally); lovely river view lodges; great home-cooked food and knowledgeable staff that bend over backwards to help you out. It's the perfect antidote to the soulless high end lodges in Livingstone. Guests tend to congregate in the evening at the open air restaurant and around the open fire. August daytime temperatures are ideal at around the mid 20s Celsius but it can get cold at night, however the electric blankets make for very cosy beds. We didn't see a single mosquito and it's certainly something to have hippos outside your window at night!
Duncan & Lucy

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanRMStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Each "chalet" here is a little private bedroom on stilts overlooking the river. The setting is wonderful. No mosquitoes in July -- but I can't speak for the warmer parts of the year! An electric blanket on the comfy big bed kept me toasty warm at night. The shower was hot, and I liked the rustic private bathroom. The meals were really excellent. I think the maximum number of guests is 10. All eat together, B&B style. The location is about 20 km outside of Livingstone, which is fine (I would not want to stay _in_ Livingstone). I took the village tour with Levy, and it was one of the highlights of my two months in Africa. I asked him hundreds of questions, and he patiently answered each one. I didn't feel like I should take photos because the village is so obviously NOT a tourist attraction. The staff at Chundukwa were very helpful and also not intrusive (I liked that). If you do not want to be insulated in a Disneyesque lodge with safari decor, but you can afford to step up to Chundukwa's prices, I highly recommend it. The manager can arrange any kind of sightseeing, etc., that you would like to do. I would recommend you cross the border to the Zimbabwe side of Victoria Falls and also walk about the town there and visit the hotel. There is MUCH more to see there than on the Zambia side of the falls.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I only spent two nights here but I will absolutely never forget it; as the reviews below have mentioned, pretty much everything about Chundukwa is perfect if you're after some serious relaxation and mind regeneration, and at a fraction of the cost of other lodges dotted along the Zambezi near Victoria Falls. Chundukwa is more extremely comfortable than luxurious, but so much the better for it; the rooms aren't fitted out with endless amenities (although you have everything you need) but you don't even begin to notice on account of the fact that you will spend most of your time just watching the river pass endlessly by, and whilst the bathrooms do require you leaving the confines of your room (which can be a little nervy at night given the fact you really are 'at one with nature' here), there's little to compare with taking a morning shower looking out at dawn breaking over the Zambezi.

What really sets this place apart though is the service; it is extremely attentive yet unobtrusive; I have rarely stayed somewhere where the staff genuinely do anticipate what you want before you've thought of it yourself; 5* hotels could learn something from this place! Futhermore, both the owner and all of the staff I met were local and were both a mine of knowledge on the area and, on account of the fact they appeared to know everybody in Livingstone, were able to organise pretty much anything you wanted.

One more thing... the food was superb!

It is with reluctance that I recommend this place so highly because I would hate it to expand or change in any way at all really, but it deserves to be recognised, and I therefore selflessly encourage you to go, you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Chundukwa truly offers you a hideaway in paradise - whether it's the 5-Star service, the amazing scenery, food, the serenity & seclusion or all together which simply surpasses your imagination in every way - I would recommend Chundukwa any and every time - it's an experience that feeds the soul. Thank you Pete and Orla, you went out of your way and beyond;your staff anticipated our every need and added lovely surprises along the stay - personal, intimate and yet you gave us plenty of time to enjoy the silence, space and waters. I left wishing I had just one more day on the deck...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveRealAfrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed here in January with my wife for 3 nights in January. Wish it was longer. The place is amazing and so are the staff. Your hosts Peter and Orla Cornelius really look after your every need not that you have many here because you just cannot help relax.To wake up everyday and look out at the Zambezi river and it's residents! Words just can't describe it.
The evenings were great too with Pete hosting great dinners by the camp fire...... class.
Do the local village tour if you get the chance. Most of what you pay goes back into the village, great touch.
Victoria falls are about 20 mins away and amazing sights greet you there.
I really could not fault Chundukwa and if you want a piece of the real Africa then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Our first stop on our 25th Wedding Anniversary African Holiday and what a place to start !! From the moment we were picked up at the airport by Dukes to the moment we left, this Lodge just blew us away. Great staff headed by Xanthe made our visit so special with discreet but attentive service and smiles by the bucket load. The lodges sit in well-maintained grounds, are well appointed, and look across the Zambesi. Trips to Victoria Falls are organised as required. The food was excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Nothing disappointed us except for the fact that we couldn't stay longer.
Hurry now, before this corner of paradise gets discovered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 86 in Livingstone
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Address: Kazungula Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $507 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is an African Bush Lodge built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi river. It is beautifully situated with panoramic views of the river - upstream from the Victoria Falls. Offering the best of both worlds - only 30 min from the falls and far enough from Livingstone town to be away from the noise of helicopters and traffic. Essentially perfect for nature and bird lovers and for those who simply want to absorb the best of Africa. There are flights from Johannesburg and Lusaka every day and easy road access from Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. Our private thatched cottage is perfect for those wanting to enjoy a home on the Zambezi. It has 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 double/twin bedroom and one child's bedroom, a second bathroom, an open plan lounge/kitchen area, shaded patio, deck and rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal,waiter and house-keeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing