We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chundukwa River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling with family, so I wasn't responsible for booking our lodging. But after our experience at Chundukwa, I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I get the opportunity to return to Livingstone.

The lodge is a not in the city proper, but you will learn that it isn't an issue and the location is much more preferable. It is situated right on the Zambezi, so you will enjoy the cool breezes and falling asleep to the sounds of hippos.

The rooms are truly a unique experience. You can watch the sunrise from the comfort of your own bed or have fresh coffee delivered to your room, to drink while looking out over the river.

We went when the winter session was beginning. I prefer weather being on the colder side, but I still recommend a jacket for the early mornings and late nights as all the meals are eaten out doors. Bring warm clothes for sleeping, but the lodge makes the effort to make all guests comfortable by providing individual heated blankets. Wow!

All activities can be planned through the lodge so that they handle all the logistics while your just enjoy the experience. You will have no problem keeping yourself busy. Or you can just as easily enjoy the scenic views and relax.

Overall I loved the natural setting and all scumpcious meals, but the highlight of the experience was all the wonderful staff. From the managers, to the guides, to the wait staff, we couldn't have asked for better people to get to know and to help us experience the country.They were all wonderfully fantastic and it was hard to say good-bye at the end. They will make you fall in love with Zambia.

Look no further, Chundukwa River Lodge will give you the ultimate Zambian experience. I hope you love it as much as I did.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jhallcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was the start of a four venue Zambian/Malawian adventure in early June.

John, Lizanne and their staff were excellent and indefatigable hosts. We had a chalet with detached bathroom, quaint and fun. A good base to visit falls, see plenty of wildlife on the way there and take the bush walk to see the Rhinos.

I would agree with another reviewer that rates are a bit high though for that standard of room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

There are so many lodges on this stretch of the river and for the life of me I cannot understand why foreigners would fly 20 hours to the Falls, then go and live in a stuck up "hotel" where they play pipe music in the background instead of having you listen to the roar of the Falls and sounds of Africa? Chundukwa is a peaceful haven where you can sit back and relax in comfort whilst enjoying all Africa has to offer. There are hippos a plently, we heard hyena at night and is there anything better than a fish eagles cry and the smell of burning wood around an open fire at night? Well priced with great cuisine and matching service. You don't need to get all spiffed up for meals, take it as you feel! Finally a place where I didn't have to go look for service! The staff, Levy and Pascal, took especial care of us, even taking my little daughter fishing for bream with a stick (which we ate and they were tasty!). Accomodation has beautiful views, chilly during the winter months, but the electric blanket took care of that. Very little wanting here. They have the price, service, location and comforts all catered for. Might mention we went on a fabulous horse ride. They have horses to cater for all skill levels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

From arrival to departure, Chundukwa River Lodge is absolutely wonderful! Peter and Orla own and run a magnificent, one-of-a-kind lodge, where each guest it treated like royalty. John and Lizanne (the managers), Levy, Peter, Pasqual and the entire staff went out of their way to make our stay (and anniversary) relaxing and an 'experience' not soon forgotten.

The chalet overlooking the Zambezi River (on poles in the water) was very comfortable -- actually luxurious -- and an inviting place to relax and regroup after busy days (naps there in the afternoon breeze are fantastic!). The elephants wandering through the lodge grounds provide an exciting distraction from the norm. And the sounds of the hippos, elephants and numerous birds easily lulled us to sleep in the evening...and provided a unique wakeup each morning.

The food prepared by Chef Henry, overseen by John, was absolutely delicious, using many local ingredients; from the salad/soup to the entre' to the dessert, each one was fabulous! The dining and lounge area was most inviting, either at the 'big' table, the intimate table on the veranda or sitting by the fire place in the cool evenings.

You'll have a hard time selecting from the many activities. We napped, made the sunset cruise on the Zambezi, took a rhino/nature walk in the nearby game park (white rhino, elephant, water buck, zebra, beautiful birds, monkey, baboon and impala were all plentiful), spent several hours at gorgeous Victoria Falls (the focus of everything in Livingstone), shopped in the local markets and picnicked in the city park, napped, visited nearby Mukay Village (where many of the staff live), napped, took an elephant safari (and have the DVD to prove it), shopped more, scouted the local polo field and stables, had a close encounter with elephants wandering through the grounds...and napped.

Chundukwa is a marvelous lodge...where tailored, extraordinary service is the norm! Deepest appreciation to Peter, Orla and the entire Chundukwa team for providing us an absolutely unforgettable anniversary/vacation. We look forward to returning. Becky and Bob Largent, Harrison, Arkansas, USA.

Room Tip: Any of the chalets are great, with several receiving upgrades this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can certainly echo the very positive reviews already here. We stayed in Chundu Cottage, a self contained house a short walk from the main lodge. It was cool, well-furnished and very relaxing with a large plunge pool the kids really enjoyed. It was amazing to be so close to the Zambezi that you could see it flowing and hear the hippos calling across the water. Great to sit out on the terrace and read a book, have a gin and tonic or later, sit by the fire. The lodge hospitality was excellent thanks to Lizanne, John and Pascal. The food was very good too, including my veggie options which were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and it was amazingly relaxing. It was a beautiful loocation, with lovely views of the river. The staff were amazing - completely personalised service, and very welcoming. Can't recommend highly enough and if we ever go back to Livingstone we will 100% stay at Chundukwa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie26Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family unfortunately live on 3 continents so it was a very special treat for us to meet in Windhoek and do a road trip together through Namibia and Botswana, ending with a 2 day Christmas at Vic falls. I did a lot of research before choosing Chundukwa. It surpassed all our expectations! It is almost a month later and we still talk about that perfect place: the setting is so beautiful, the food was superb, the trip to the falls magnificent, the boat ride marvellous... but what came as a surprise is how much we are missing the staff! Pascal, Henry, Levi, Grace, John and Lizanne: we felt so welcome. Each and every member of the staff made a special contribution to make this the most memorable 2 nights of our trip. It is my dream to repeat the experience sometime in the future. Thank you!

Room Tip: The cotage is lovely for a larger group. For a smaller group I would say a river room must be very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#9 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Property: Chundukwa River Lodge
Address: Kazungula Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is an African Bush Lodge built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi river. It is beautifully situated with panoramic views of the river - upstream from the Victoria Falls. Offering the best of both worlds - only 30 min from the falls and far enough from Livingstone town to be away from the noise of helicopters and traffic. Essentially perfect for nature and bird lovers and for those who simply want to absorb the best of Africa. There are flights from Johannesburg and Lusaka every day and easy road access from Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. Our private thatched cottage is perfect for those wanting to enjoy a home on the Zambezi. It has 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 double/twin bedroom and one child's bedroom, a second bathroom, an open plan lounge/kitchen area, shaded patio, deck and rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal,waiter and house-keeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing