We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chundukwa River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rite Inn(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fallsway Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
159
26
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
26
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse rideon stiltsother guestssunset cruiseindoor loungespot animalsfelt very privilegedmorning sunrisechundu islandvictoria fallsfamily cottageopen airgreat hostssmall plunge pooltranquil placelocal villagepeace corps
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 192 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family unfortunately live on 3 continents so it was a very special treat for us to meet in Windhoek and do a road trip together through Namibia and Botswana, ending with a 2 day Christmas at Vic falls. I did a lot of research before choosing Chundukwa. It surpassed all our expectations! It is almost a month later and we still talk about that perfect place: the setting is so beautiful, the food was superb, the trip to the falls magnificent, the boat ride marvellous... but what came as a surprise is how much we are missing the staff! Pascal, Henry, Levi, Grace, John and Lizanne: we felt so welcome. Each and every member of the staff made a special contribution to make this the most memorable 2 nights of our trip. It is my dream to repeat the experience sometime in the future. Thank you!

Room Tip: The cotage is lovely for a larger group. For a smaller group I would say a river room must be very special.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the lodge over Christmas 2012 and had 3 wonderful days. We had one of the cabins with an inside bathroom for the three opf us. There are also 3 cabins with an outside bathroom as well as one family cottage. Chundukwa is a 30 to 40 minutes drive from the Falls and Livingstone town. We drove this road maybe 8 times and never got bored: we saw birds giraffes, zebra's and buffalo's, a lovely village with villagers living their village life. At the lodge and on their sundowner cruises (included) hippo's, crocodiles, monkeys and many birds. (We missed the elephants which are also seen quite often) John and Lizanne are wonderful hosts and the staff are great. We saw a lot of Peter, the very friendly driver/guide and Levi, our lovely boat-driver and waiter. Both great guys! The food was very good and fresh (We had a great Christmas -champagne- breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Zambezi!!) Coming back from sightseeing there was always a small fire with deckchairs around it and to have a drink before dinner was served. We visited the Livingstone Hotel because the trip to the Devils Pool (Highly recommended!) leaves from this Hotel but were glad we stayed in Chundukwa because of the noise at this hotel from the helicopters flying on and off!! Chundukwa is a lovely, quiet heaven. No noises at all, exept the jungle-noises (Which are really loud during the night!! My family slept well but I myself had to use earplugs :-) We can recommend this lodge to anyone seeking peace and quiet and.... personal attention!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wytske W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for only two nights and wished we could have spent a week! We loved the birding right out the front of our cabin and had a lovely New Year's with the owners too. The service was impeccable and the cabins heavenly. Would definitely recommend staying here on your trip to Livingstone rather than in town.

Room Tip: We loved the Kingfisher room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived at Chundukwa after 5 days in Botswana, after a long hot journey we were greated with some lovely cold fruit juice, and met by John and the team.
Unknown to us we were the only people staying at the time, so we had choice of rooms to stay, which lovely to look around the whole place.
This was a 2 day stay for my 50th birthday, apprently we already had the Chundu Cottage but the choice was mine - guess where we went!!.
Having the run of the place was amazing so peaceful, after our evening meal cooked by our personal chef we sat out on the balcony listering for wildlife, its crazy how you so into listerning for the glimpse of anything, in the end we had all the lights off just sitting in the dark waiting, even if nothing comes ( which it didnt) it still sticks in your memory.
We were taken to Victoria falls the next day for a helicoptor ride as we saw the falls from Zimbabwe side already ( the better sideby the way).
Then brought back for lunch on the island the other side of the Zambezi, we were so supprised to to see a victorian sence of tables and chairs white tablecloth all set up underneath a spreading tree with the most gorgeous food.
This continued into the evening with superb meal and a suprise birthday cake cooked by Henry.
Everything that was organised there is done with so much thought but also left for exactly how you would like it to be in the time you like.
The cottage itself has 2 large bedrooms, lovely comfy beds, huge indoor lounge area and kitchen with complimentory bar- great for birthdays!!
Balcony with dinning area and small swimming pool, oh and elephant play area by the looks of it with lots of muddy footprints.
The day we left was a sad day as it was the best place we had stayed in Botswana and Zambia, we could have easily stayed longer, the world is a big place.
Would just like to thanks all the staff that looked after us so well, Levi, Henry, Peter, Joshua & Sam, and host John, you all made this the most amazing birthday ever

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLSAINTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Such a lovely amazing place. Where to start...? Lizanne and John made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and gave us lots of great advice on places to visit, even organising trips for us such as the visit to the Falls and swimming in the Devil's pool. Their knowledge really enhanced our stay. Best trip however has to be Chundukwa's own sunset boat trip on the Zambezi. The staff at Chundukwa are very friendly and made us feel very special. The food was really good - we ate overlooking the Zambezi with the chorus of hippos to serenade our supper, beside the plunge pool and a fire on cool evenings. The lodge rooms were charming but well equipped. This is a beautiful place to relax - we are so glad we started our Africa trip here and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrington-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews