We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chundukwa River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Chundukwa provides a combination of personal service with your own private space. A beautiful well kept piece of paradise that affords one the ability to relax and unwind and to be included in the hub bub when needed.

The excursions to the falls, the Jet Boat and Chobi Game Reserve were all wonderfully planned and co-ordinated and situated close to Chundukwa.

The staff at Chundukwa were not only delightful, but also unobtrusive. Pascal and Livie showed us there amazing serviette folding skills. Peter was our exceptionally competent tour guide, John and the staff in the kitchen provided one outstaning meal after another (we came back fat and happy) and Yvette and the rest of the staff took such care of us, it felt like home.

The generous nature of all, the willingness to help and to be of service, as well as the friendliness and honesty radiated from all staff was truely appreciated.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Snuggled along a generous length of the beautiful Zambezi River, Chundukwa gives stunning views of the enormous river and the breathtaking flora and fauna whose existence is intricateley intertwined with. And this is n't even Chundukwa's greatest attraction; its draw is the true African experience, providing a careful balance of a stay in the wild without excessive luxury, but with all the necessary modern conveniences one would need.

I stayed at the cottage. The service was unintrusive but excellent. The stay overall was memorable but inexpensive. I would not hesitate to recommend it for a true African getaway!

Room Tip: The cottage is roomy with broad views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodwell_Mateyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orla C, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Chundukwa River Lodge.

We are very proud to have our first review from a Zambian citizen!

We hope that you will be back again to visit us again in the near future.

Best Wishes

From all the team at Chundukwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by Chundukwa - more than pleasantly!

We'd been travelling round Botswana and wanted to do a stop at the falls but wanted to stay a little outside Livingstone proper. This place is perfect. With private chalets overlooking the Zambezi, with big open 'blinds' that you can open each morning to see the sun rise/set, the accomodation was great. The shower was strong and the whole place was clean. Generally effective mosquito nets.

Service was equally surpassive. We were met at the airport by Peter who became our guide and ferried us everywhere - a fantastic guy! He chatted with us about Zambia and walked us around the falls, showing us all the best spots! He's also quite the pastry chef, making good desserts!

The other great thing about Chundukwa is the food - John, who along with Lizanne, runs the lodge, was a trained chef from Glasgow and has encouraged his staff to learn to cook - we took advantage of some beautiful fresh bream for dinner on private tables overlooking the river. Breakfast was overwhelming - so much choice - but well cooked English breakfasts set us up!

We also took advantage of the river cruise Lizanne organised and had a relaxing time watching the pink sunsets for which Livingstone is famous.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A group of 5 of us rented the Chundu Cottage for 4 nights at the end of March. We didn't have high expectations and weren't 100% sure what the expect when we got there. Our trip started off with our driver promptly picking us up at the Livingstone Airport. Once we arrived at the lodge we were blown away by the cottage! The master bedroom is large with windows overlooking the river and a huge bathroom with a spa like shower. The other 2 bedrooms were smaller but very nice as well. The kitchen and living room area were large and very comfortable, although we spent most of our time on the back deck overlooking the river and enjoying the plunge pool. This was truly an all-inclusive experience and all of the staff went out of their way to accommodate any of our needs. John, the manager, booked all of our activities for us (microgliding, white water rafting, elephant tours, botswana safari and victoria falls tour). Every night when we got back from an excursion there was a fire going at the main lodge with seats set up for us around the fire.

I would definitely recommend Chundukwa Lodge to anyone considering it. If you are just a couple then book the overwater stilted chalets - those looked amazing! A family or bigger group would be perfect for the cottage.

I also need to mention the staff - John, Levy, Pascal, Peter, Henri and the 2 Graces. They were all extremely nice and informative. We loved spending the days with Peter and then our sunset cruise and village tour with Levy.

AND THE FOOD! I'm very confused by other reviewers that were not happy with the food. It was 5 star, fine dining all the way. Each night we were served a 3 course meal that was to die for! The eggs benedict on the last morning was probably the best I've ever had.

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Okay...quick admission...I've stayed here before this last visit. In fact, I reviewed this lodge here on TripAdvisor (I think it's on page 1 or 2?? Just look for the bulldog picture).

While I have been meaning to write this review as soon as I got back, I got busy. But, while conversing with co-workers about our recent trip to Zambia today, I instantly forgot to contribute again. And, then I saw that review below from NY and I could believe what I was reading. NY prices? Really? Do you get made-to-order breasfast every morning, lovely lunches and delicious dinners made from local ingredients at the Marriott in NYC? The Hilton in NYC? The Four Seasons in NYC? Included in the price?!? Alcohold and every other drink included?!?

By the the way the question is rhetorical. Because I have stayed at each of the hotels I've listed in NYC. And in Boston, Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Tokyo, London, Paris, Amsterdam, Rome, Prague, etc. etc. etc. And the obvious answer is "no". In fact, the last time I was in NYC, it was at the Marriottt in TS and after taxes it was nearly $500 a night. No food, no nothing. Same prices as NY? Okay.....reality check. You're in the bush in Africa. Sleeping in a river lodge. With hippos under your window sill. And the owners do wonders with the location.

Charmaine, Peter and Orla are beyond accomodating. They offer great dinner companionship and advice about all of Africa.

Yes, it is not the Four Season in Manhattan. And thank the lord, for it.

Penny

Room Tip: Some of the chalets have en-suite bathrooms. While I miss the adventure of the just-out-of-your-cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishgod1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at Chundukwa for 2 nights in January and had a great time. Pascal was always around to ask if you needed anything or if he could help in any way and the owner was also always visable and asking if he could sort out any activities or help with anything else.

The rooms were nice with fantastic views over the river and a pod of hippos, everything was well maintained and we had a fan to help with the Summer heat.

We went on the included sunset boat trip on the river and tried a bit of fishing and also to the falls with their guide who was friendly and helpfull. The only slightly disapointing thing with Chundukwa was the catering, it was not bad by any means! and certainly wasn't anything to complain about it just wasn't particularly 'special' and as this was the most expensive lodge we stayed in on our trip we were hoping for a little more.

Location is a little out of town but that is what we were after, overall we had a great time listening to the frogs and swimming in the pool whilst watching the hippos!

Room Tip: Get one of the two newer rooms with the on suite as some of the other rooms have a seperate bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

When we first arrived we were told by the main host that this was not a 5 star lodge. She's right and if that is what you're looking for go to the Royal Livingstone (a tad too colonial for our tastes but without a doubt luxurious). If however you are looking for a wonderful time, clean and cozy rooms, fabulous food and staff that will go out of their way for you. This is the place. My only recommendation is if possible and feasible get a generator. One morning there was no electricity and there was no back up. That said it was a great stay, but prospective guests must be honest with themselves about the kind of vacation they want. This was the perfect mix of relaxation, adventure and pampering for our group.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orla C, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Chundukwa River Lodge.
We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed the experience and appreciate your feedback.

We are currently looking at an alternative power supply to cover us during the rare occasions that the main power goes down. This will most likely be a solar system so as to avoid the noise of a generator, especially at night when the bush sounds are at their best!

Orla Cornelius
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Address: Kazungula Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $508 - $1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is an African Bush Lodge built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi river. It is beautifully situated with panoramic views of the river - upstream from the Victoria Falls. Offering the best of both worlds - only 30 min from the falls and far enough from Livingstone town to be away from the noise of helicopters and traffic. Essentially perfect for nature and bird lovers and for those who simply want to absorb the best of Africa. There are flights from Johannesburg and Lusaka every day and easy road access from Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. Our private thatched cottage is perfect for those wanting to enjoy a home on the Zambezi. It has 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 double/twin bedroom and one child's bedroom, a second bathroom, an open plan lounge/kitchen area, shaded patio, deck and rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal,waiter and house-keeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing