We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Night”
Review of Elephant Oasis Bush Dinners - CLOSED

Elephant Oasis Bush Dinners
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: You have not experienced Africa until you have eaten the African way, danced the African way and felt the true traditional African hospitality all under the beautiful African Skies. Elephant Oasis Bush Dinners offers you this unique experience, with a wide variety of traditional foods all cooked on coals only 4km from The Mighty Victoria Falls in a beautiful village setting.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Night”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Enjoyable night to have if you are in Livingstone food and dancing quite good. Costumes of the dancers and waitress were amazing shame not all dancers had them and host was not dressed traditionally, but still worth the time and money. To be fair I think they had just opened for business when I visited

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening of fun, food and festivities!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

6 of us went to Elephant Oasis for dinner, 3 muzungus (white tourists) and 3 zambians. We had an amazing traditional meal, that included everything from crocodile skewers, to nshima, to fried caterpillars and the most delicious squash soup! There is also chicken, fish, pork etc for those less adventurous. You can tell the food was good because they ran out of caterpillars! The traditional drummers and dancers were incredible and quite willing to pull you out of your seat to join them. We had a blast and would highly recommend. The value for money was good at $55US per person, but is expensive compared to local restaurant meals than average around $10-15 per person. Still, great value considering all the people involved (servers, staff, dancers, drummers etc).
The entrance is truly amazing with drummers perched in the trees and an greeting of ululations!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Wedding Arrangement”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a wedding at Elephant Oasis on the 26th of October. The arrangement was fantastic and the food was great, exactly the way we pictured our wedding. Our relatives and friends were very happy. Thanks to Chantal, Ashley and staff for arranging such a memorable wedding. Hans & Lillian

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cool african experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

great food, service a bit slow, but the dancing and the music and fire and the food made it all amazing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingola
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totaly Exceptional!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Whilst my boyfriend and I stayed at Maraamba River Lodge we would hear faint refreshing traditional sound of drums in the evenings at a distance from our tent and each time i would hear them i would pull on him and tell him that we should find the source of that beautiful sound, every night i would go to sleep with a longing to just experience that moment and hear the drums close-by, it went on during our entire stay at the lodge and a couple of days later after we had checked out from our lodge my boyfriend decided to make my wish come true and booked a table for 2 at this place. My excitement was one of a 5 year old kid opening her first Christmas present, i was looking forward to it with enthusiasm such that when we got there the excitement just grow beyond, we were welcomed at the reception and offered traditional materials and which they tied around our shoulders, and we were escorted to this well furnished sort of traditional village by a lady clothed in traditional clothes and on the way we saw this girl kneeing and making a cool welcome sound, my cheeks hurt from smiling all the way, at the entrance there was these 2 guys in the tree playing drums and it was that beautiful sound i had heard every night from our previous Lodge. a couple more ladies welcomed us at the entrance and made this cool sound and it was totally awesome, i remember participating in a traditional dance and also a drum session after dinner, the food was exceptional, coolest of all i had my face painted with my boyfriend. He made a comment that if we were to get married it would be certainly awesome to have our ceremony there and the bathrooms had quiet a unique african touch to them that adopted the african feeling.when the night was over it was painful to leave coz i just wanted to spend the night there, btw when it gets chilly in the evenings they offer some warm pochos to keep u warm so u can just enjoy the traditional music and dances performed by some African culture group. I wish they would have let us keep the chitenges as a reminder of an awesome time we had.will always remember the experience and next time we get a chance to visit livingstone ,we are certainly going back!! i couldnt be more happier been african :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Oasis Bush Dinners also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing