We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”
Review of Zinga Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zinga Backpackers
Chingola, Zambia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

great place to be ,nice swimming pool,close to town not forgetting the friendly staffs,definitely i would recommend this place.zinga truly gives the Zambian atmosphere its affordable imagine being a local little did i know i would enjoy my Easter holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwilima275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here mainly because the owner treated us like long lost friends.. We loved gift he even took us to the local village and gave us a tour then dropped us to the border so we could go across to Zimbabwe lovely guy. Would return to visit him!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveEatTravelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This backpackers is in a good location, close to town. Very nice African atmosphere, cozy rooms and cool bar to hang out by. Affordable, good service and great staff! I would recommend this place to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The private huts are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lollar, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Zinga is a newly opend backpacker, which differs from the established ones in a quite fine way. You will find, appart from decent accomodation and a pool, an environment that dosen't put you together with all the other backpack travelers, but will truly put you into a Zambian environment that opens door to understand this country. I have enjoey ever minute of my short stay and hope that others will do as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Though the backpackers wasn't completely finished when we were staying there, it was quite impressive. The small, individual bungalows with outdoor showers were great value and very comfortable (though the mosquito nets were a bit small), and the new bar was a very nice place to hang out, though at the time we were there the pool wasn't looking super inviting. There is a kitchen for guests to use, which is helpful if you're on a budget in Livingstone. I hope to see this place continue to expand!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAPjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were the 6 & 7th guests to stay here and we were happy we did. The facilities were nice, especially the mud huts we stayed in, the outdoor shower, and the bar area.

The kitchen was ok. It could have used some newer pans and maybe a better stove. But it was good.

There were two dogs that stayed there and were fun to play with, but I think they were adopted.

The pool was well made in ground pool, but the water quality didn't look that inviting and we decided not to swim.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.2 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 84 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
1.6 mi away
Okavango Lodge
Okavango Lodge
#23 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junior Leisure Resort
Junior Leisure Resort
#24 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zinga Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinga Backpackers

Property: Zinga Backpackers
Address: 25 Magoye Road | 25 magoye road livingstone Zambia, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zinga Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zinga's offers affordable accommodation (camping, dorms, privates) in a friendly and African atmosphere. We can arrange your Vic Falls adventures all Activities including onwards travels, and if you want to do something for the local community: check out our volunteer section! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Zinga Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing