We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Zambian”
Review of Zinga Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zinga Backpackers
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Zinga is a newly opend backpacker, which differs from the established ones in a quite fine way. You will find, appart from decent accomodation and a pool, an environment that dosen't put you together with all the other backpack travelers, but will truly put you into a Zambian environment that opens door to understand this country. I have enjoey ever minute of my short stay and hope that others will do as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Though the backpackers wasn't completely finished when we were staying there, it was quite impressive. The small, individual bungalows with outdoor showers were great value and very comfortable (though the mosquito nets were a bit small), and the new bar was a very nice place to hang out, though at the time we were there the pool wasn't looking super inviting. There is a kitchen for guests to use, which is helpful if you're on a budget in Livingstone. I hope to see this place continue to expand!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were the 6 & 7th guests to stay here and we were happy we did. The facilities were nice, especially the mud huts we stayed in, the outdoor shower, and the bar area.

The kitchen was ok. It could have used some newer pans and maybe a better stove. But it was good.

There were two dogs that stayed there and were fun to play with, but I think they were adopted.

The pool was well made in ground pool, but the water quality didn't look that inviting and we decided not to swim.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank keesdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skoolboy z, General Manager at Zinga Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.7 mi away
New Fairmount Hotel & Casino
New Fairmount Hotel & Casino
#10 of 18 in Livingstone
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 93 in Livingstone
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 93 in Livingstone
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Victoria Falls Backpackers
#6 of 40 in Victoria Falls
214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#12 of 93 in Livingstone
435 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zinga Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinga Backpackers

Address: 25 Magoye Road | 25 magoye road livingstone Zambia, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $10 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Zinga Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zinga's offers affordable accommodation (camping, dorms, privates) in a friendly and African atmosphere. We can arrange your Vic Falls adventures all Activities including onward travels, and if you want to do something for the local community: check out our volunteer section! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Zinga Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing