We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Camp Nkwazi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp Nkwazi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days.

They provided us with a vacation that was filled with exceptional service, amazing food, boat/sundowner cruises and extra advice on what more can be experienced in and around Livingstone.

The people are friendly and very helpful!

Definitely a must see!
Can't wait to go back someday.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank DLC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

The camp ambiance was inviting and very authentic . The art and decorative touches in the dining lodge/welcome area made an immediate impression. The luxury tents complete with chandelier and cowhide on the floor made for an awesome night's sleep listening to the sound of the hippos on the river. I especially liked the little touches - the guinea fowl feather and bean pod wrapped in the guest towels, the decorative bath etc., the outdoor kitchen area all added for an over the top experience. The food and drink were icing on the cake. I was so sad to leave Camp Nkwazi and the view of the river from the dining area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and from the second we arrived we knew this was going to be a special place, and so it proved to be! I cannot put into words just how amazing this place is but it was the best place we stayed at during my two week visit and it stands head and shoulders above other so called luxury lodges. The owners are lovely people and along with brilliant staff who we simple loved they all work together brilliantly and will do anything to go above and beyond to provide you a dream experience. The tents are simply luxury places to stay in and look exactly like the pics, the service and food was brilliant, the wildlife is amazing (especially for the birdlife), Paul knows everything about the wildlife there and that just added to the experience. Was very sad to leave but will certainly be returning and i recommend anyone who visits Africa to visit Camp Nkwazi as you will enjoy every second there!! Tony & Eness

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a family-run luxury camp. Paul is very passionate in making sure that all your requirements and concerns are ironed out. When I told him what I want to pack in two days, he was able to pack them all in- from a microlight flight, lion and cheetah walk, livingstone island high tea, helicopter ride, falls guided tour, and sunset cruise! All at a reasonable price.

What's even more amazing is the passion for excellence. When Batoka Sky (which is not known for service, it's as if they're run on forced labor) failed to confirm my 22 min helicopter ride, Paul bargained on his own initiative to let me join a couple on a 30 minute flight without topping up for the Longer flight. That's what good service is all about.

The small details are not ignored too. When I was arriving at the lodge, Paul asked the driver to call him 10 mins in advance so that the bartender can wait outside for a welcome drink. Not only that, he was there to greet me by the entrance! These small details do add up for a personalized experience. Royal Livingstone's service pales in comparison, with no smiles and a very impersonal attitude. I was waiting there for my Livingstone Island tour and I am so glad I chose Camp Nkwazi!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A must go when in the area, the owners have spared nothing to give you luxury, attending to your every need, whilst maintaining the experience that you are still in the wild! With birds abounding and other river life teeming in the area, it is soul food just to sit back, relax and enjoy the peace. Only 20 odd kilometers from the great Victoria Falls and with a number of activities available at Camp Nkwazi and Livingstone, this is a must if you plan on visiting Zambia.

I declare that I know the owners of this camp but I am truly honest and objective in the opinion stated above.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After using tripadvisor for both business and personal travels, it was my visit to Camp Nkwazi that motivated me to finally sign-up and add a review. It is rare that expectations are exceeded, but I can say that after my second stay at Camp Nkwazi, this location is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It is charming and warm, with attention paid to small details. The interactions with ownership and staff alike are friendly and professional. While I have traveled within Africa frequently, it was my boyfriend's introduction trip, and starting it at Camp Nkwazi was the perfect choice. Thank you for this lovely stay, beautiful location and for the personal service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This little gem is a must stay for any trip to Zambia. The attention to detail that has gone into every room from electric blankets to comfy dressing gowns and even a chandelier takes the notion of luxury tent to a new level. Great base from which to explore all that lower Zambia has to offer from an exhilarating gorge swing and bunji jumping, to sitting on the edge of Vic falls in a whirlpool, to a game drive sunset cruise or just reading a book or having a G&T watching the magnificent African sun set. Paul our fabulous host could teach most business a thing or two about customer service too as nothing was an issue with our group of 13 who ranged in age from 8 to 75! Thank you for making the end of our family holiday so memorable:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chants13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
15.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,810 reviews
15.6 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
3.8 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
13.7 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Nkwazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Nkwazi

Address: Plot 749 B, Nakatindi Rd, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $164 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Nkwazi 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Minutes drive from Livingstone on the Zambezi river. Platinum awarded with 10 luxury en-suite "tented" chalets and 11 luxurious campsites. 2 Chalets are wheelchair accessible. A restaurant,bar, and activity centre on site. Camp Nkwazi: "It's not a stopover, it's your destination." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Camp Nkwazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing