We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and friendly staff!”
Review of Golden Leaf

Golden Leaf
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and friendly staff!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There aren't many restaurants in Livingstone, but the lack of competition doesn't keep the Golden Leaf from serving anything but EXCELLENT Indian food. We happened to go on the night if the 1-year anniversary of the restaurant's moving to its current location, and they generously offered us a free appetizer tasting and a complimentary glass of wine. The restaurant has been in operation for well over a year, though, and you can tell that they are experienced at providing both delicious food and quality service! The female owner even made a point to come to our table to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Wish I could have brought the Golden Leaf back with me!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    83
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melhus, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
“The best restaurant in Livingstone, Zambia”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful food, great service. We were in Livingstone for a month and tried other places, but came back to The Golden Leaf again and again. All the meals we ate were delicious. Don`t miss this place!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian food in Zambia”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Zambezi Sun, and dinner there was only buffet which was 50$. So we took a taxi from hotel and visited this restaurant. It was 15 minutes drive, all worth it. Much cheaper than 50$. Amazing food and service. We went there second night as well. Only drawback was their Chinese food, Manchurian and Paneer Chilli. Order Indian and you will have amazing time

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kavitachoudhary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food in Africa!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

LIKED:
+ Outstanding authentic Indian food - just wow.
+ Nice atmosphere
+ Very friendly and efficient service

SO-SO
o Prices are rather high, but appropriate for the quality provided

DIDN'T LIKE
- Located quite abit outside the center - you'll need a cab at night for safety reasons unless you've got your own transport

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nik0lask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The setting is ok, could be improved (bright light). But the food is amazing, very tasty and plenty. Good quality of service. Definitely worth a visit during trip n Livingstone. Book in advance!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ppdelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Leaf also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Golden Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing