We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZAMBESI SUN IN MAY, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ZAMBESI SUN IN MAY, 2014”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The magic in this hotel is in the grounds. It is in the park, adjacent the river, and has animals (zebras, impalas, giraffes, monkeys, etc.), parading through it. Business center is not well run and computer and printer problems were endemic. Staff is very friendly. Chef was very helpful in seeing to our dietary restrictions. Visiting the Livingston and drinks at the river front area at sundown was very memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have balconies, but no furniture. Room furniture is sparse. Get rooms closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telzangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    734
    261
    52
    22
See reviews for
400
651
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The African themed rooms need updating They are comfortable but basic. There were issues with the shower in our room as the water pressure was really low at one time stopped all together. We had to call the front desk to have the pressure restored. One day upon returning to our room after housekeeping had visited our sliding glass door was open. We never opened it during our visit to the maid must have done so. Thankfully nothing was missing from our room.

Breakfast wasn't included in our rate. We ate the buffet breakfast once and it was plentiful.

We received a complimentary river safari which was a lot of fun. We saw tons of hippos & birds and it offered a unique perspective of the falls. It dropped us off at the The Royal Livingstone which is a gorgeous hotel (colonial style with immaculate grounds)

We loved being able to walk to the falls from the hotel. You have to sign out and show your hotel pass to enter the falls property. I highly recommend ponchos and putting your valuables in waterproof bags. We got soaked, absolutely drenched and we weren't prepared for it. Thankfully our cameras survived.

There are lots of wildlife living on the property. We met one of the groundskeepers and he took us on a private tour of where they feed the animals. Cool experience and it would be a great idea for the hotel to offer these tours to guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Several of us stayed here for two nights in mid-May 2014. Check-in was seamless and very fast. Rooms were comfortable but basic. The bedding was also basic with flat, synthetic pillows. There was a tub and shower in the bathroom; one day the water pressure fell to a dribble during a shower, but resumed a few minutes later. The safe was medium sized, one could cram small items in there, but don’t expect to put something like a laptop in there.

The rate included breakfast, access to all the grounds, and access to the Falls on the Zambia side. As others have said, there are some wild giraffe, impalas, zebra, crocodiles and baboons on the property. There is also a bird hide in front of a small pond with many weaver nests. Access to the Falls requires exiting the hotel property, signing out and then showing your room pass upon entry to the park that was provided at check-in. The hotel will provide ponchos which you must obtain prior to walking over. During late May, one could barely see the Falls due to the volume of spray. The ponchos protect you somewhat, but as you walk closer to the Falls, it felt like someone was throwing buckets of water at us. If you bring a camera, wrap it up under your poncho!

Breakfast was a large buffet with many options available, served in a comfortable, covered open-air location. At night and for lunch, we walked over to the Royal Livingstone Hotel and had drinks and dinner over there. The location, service and food was very good, and you can charge it to the room at the Zambezi Sun. Reservations were required, but easy to obtain as both hotels did not appear to be near capacity. After dark, a free shuttle requested at the front desk will take you between the hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is so close to Victoria Falls is what makes it nice. The room was a little dated but nice. The a/c unit had a mind of its own. They are redoing the rooms which will be nice. A king bed would have been nice also. Our blankets were either too heavy or too small. The layout of the place was great. Zebra came right up to the pool area. The hamburgers at poolside were good. The breakfast was good also.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor it was quiet and room service was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Really happy I stayed here. The falls are right outside the door of this hotel. We were here for a short weekend and time was short. We were able to walk to the falls and be the first ones there that morning and then walk back when we returned from a days activities to be the last ones there that night. Rooms are dated but have some charm. All the electrical plugs were old and my power cord fell out so I could never charge my electronics. Breakfast was a nice spread.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The biggest plus for this hotel is its location. You can walk to the Zambia side of Victoria Falls in 5 minutes. I also found the morning breakfast to be quite nice with a pretty comprehensive selection.

On the downside, I found the rooms a little worn out. There were chipped tiles in the bathroom and the doors had nicks. My bathroom sink drained very slow and started leaking the day I left. It was relatively cool during my stay but I doubt the air conditioner would have kept the room cool during a very hot day.

On the service side, I did not find most of the staff overly helpful. There was one exception, Matildah, the evening concierge person. She went out of her way to help me out. I mentioned what a great job she was doing to a hotel director the second day I was there, but I don't think this recognition was ever relayed to her. This does not surprise me and tells me that management does not take customer feedback very seriously.

If you can afford it, stay at the Royal Livingstone next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice rooms, good breakfast, beautiful pool, attentive staff, and walking distance to Victoria Falls. What more could you ask for? The hotel staff will help you book a safari, a fishing trip, and a sunset cruise, all recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,139 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing