We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A short distance from our stay in Vic falls on the other side of falls ... The Zambezi sun was a welcome stay located right at the falls make the lodge unique and very African feel to it for its rather large size - clean hotel and staff courteous and friendly ..... Prime location and will be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Highender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    712
    258
    51
    21
See reviews for
384
635
89
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Check In - Good. Native greeting and dance.

Room - we had 4 in one room. Would recommend 2 rooms for families.

Food- try the steakhouse (more food than steak). Steak was very good for price. Breakfast was good. Room service good.

Medical - Son had African tummy. Having a international SOS Clinic on site. was great. Lovely help and son treated well.

Location Right next to the falls. Awesome views. No need to book a tour of falls. Do yourself. Bring a pair of thongs and clothes that can get wet.

Internet- not on rooms but available in the eating area. Usable.

Negatives - cost of tours. Book before you leave. We did. We wanted to do a Segway ride (1 hour ride around hotel ) and do a excursion to see Cheetah and pat them. (1hour). Combined cost for both for 2 adults and 2 children USD 1350. Avoid these and stick to Falls and Sunset river cruise. Didn't try but a try a trip to Livingstone city. Did the Zambezi sunset cruise. Good. Helpful people. Prebooked.

Others
Animals - we saw elephants, zebras, monkeys and hippos out and about in different places. Zebras and Impala frequent hotel grounds. Lovely.

Warning - airport is slow. Usd50 tax for adults. Yellow fever shots needed to head to South Africa.

Overall good hotel. Victoria Falls is awesome is simply great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen17aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time in 5 years. Great hotel, fabulous location, good food but what made it stand out for us was the incredible service we received from the guest relations staff, especially Rogers. We had a problem with some excursions we had booked independently and Rogers took a lot of time and trouble to sort these out for us even making a point of coming to find us by the pool to bring us some new paperwork. Overall a wonderful 4 days

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What made the trip to Vic Falls the trip of a lifetime for me were the Falls, not the silly excursions. So, staying in a room where I could actually hear the Falls made the whole trip worthwhile. I also found the hotel very genuinely African (not to mention Zambian -- preferable politically and safety-wise to Zimbabwe), which added to the experience. Staff/service was very cordial and accommodating. Grounds impeccable. Breakfast delicious. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can hear the Falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiplomatUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'd probably give Zambezi Sun 3.5 stars overall. As other reviewers mention, you can't beat the location for easy access to the Falls, and you do have access to all of the great amenities at the Royal Livingstone, which is an easy walk or shuttle ride. However, the actual stay at Zambezi Sun is mediocre. Rooms are clean and comfortable enough, but fairly standard and very noisy (due to all of the concrete/stucco).

I found the service to be horribly slow - it would sometimes take 10 minutes at breakfast just to get coffee even when they weren't crowded. Food generally took 1/2 hour to deliver after ordering whether eating at the main restaurant, pool-side cafe or the casual restaurant. Food was average at best and relatively expensive for what you get. Sitting by the pool for meals was a little annoying because they had a steel drum band playing very loudly and it was difficult to have a conversation. Overall, the experience just felt a bit cheesy.

All that said, if you are traveling to the Falls (especially from the US or other distant location), it would seem silly not to stay either at Zambezi Sun or Royal Livinstone due to the proximilty and ease of participating in a variety of Falls related activities. The concierge books activities for you, arranges transportation and charges them to your room. Everyone has a different price threshold, but I would have easily paid an additional $200/night to stay at the Royal Livingstone, which is an elegant and beautiful property.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms on the first floor don't give you much privacy. I would recommend pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is clean and staff are courteous, helpful and friendly. The reception area is efficiently run and reps are available throughout the day to help, advise, organise and book the many activities available around Victoria Falls.
Our standard double room provided all the basic necessities, but when it came to replenishing some bathroom items and tea and coffee supplies service was patchy.
The hotel is set in very pleasant gardens and even provides a bird hide overlooking a small lake with reeds and surrounded by trees. The wildlife is good with several bird species and this area is visited by a family of baboons. Access to view the Victoria Falls is excellent and the hotel will provide raingear to protect you (and your camera) from getting too wet when using the footpaths opposite the Falls.
The restaurant facilities could be better. Breakfast is generally good. If you like buffet style dining there is plenty of choice but quality of dishes is average. To be fair we do not like the hurly burly of buffet style and only tried it once. As an alternative we dined on a couple of occasions at "Squires" which is a bit limited but with waitress service.
For our last night we booked a table at the Royal Livingstone Hotel and we loved the ambience and quality of food and service there. Naturally you pay for what you get. Also if you are offered high tea at the Royal Livingstone this is also a really nice experience. A very convenient shuttle service is provided between the two hotels.
The Zambezi Sun is catering for the masses; if you want something a bit special try nextdoor at the Royal Livingstone - if your bank balance allows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gargar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
234 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel undoubtedly has a prime location with easy access to the Falls and Bridge. End of positives. The rooms are small and access is through narrow mean corridors. Our waste bin was still full from the previous guest. If eating in the hotel do not leave eating too long as the buffet soon runs low on items including plates, spoons, bread and biscuits! Staff typically neither friendly nor efficient. Would trade a better hotel for the location if we ever return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing