We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience, what a regal experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spend five nights at the Zambezi Sun and truly loved it. From the warm and African welcome of African dancers, to the high ceilings and beautifully decorated lobby and restaurant/pool area.

This place you cannot be closer to the falls! Walking daily a few minutes from our room to see the falls in the different lights, and the beautiful rainbows! Best position in Zambia!!!! Huge delicious buffet breakfasts and dinners, and nice lunches and big ice coffees for days by the pool. Enjoyed the acitivities a lot! Which are endless- especially going into the community and seeing the projects happening, tour of the falls, segway tours and the train for the future.

Thank you Zambezi Sun for exceptional service and such friendly and warm ways! True example of Zambian hospitality & big honest smiles!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Victoria falls, I'm speechless every time I visit. The hotel has perfect location and I think that's about it.
The hotel itself was good when it opened but now the rooms desperately need to be renovated. Starting from the toilet seat having cracks and holes! The drain in the basin is coming loose. Some towels are stained and the sheets are awfully stained, it's DISGUSTING!! The pillows are In terrible condition and so is the mattress! The tv is so so ancient and picture quality is pathetic.
The staff weren't helpful enough. Some of the staff at the reception made it seem they were doing you a favour by attending to you. And my first breakfast was alright but the next day the staff was waking around like zombies. Taking 20 minutes to serve hot milk to an empty breakfast area after asking several waiters. Forget the thought of complaining to a manager, he himself was so lazy. Very put off with the staff. Seriously need to be jacked up.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahomed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Zambezi Sun is a 3.5 star property that has location as its biggest thing going for it. Because it is in the National Park, guests have unlimited and free access to see the Falls. Additionally, it is the closest hotel to the Falls so guests can go repeatedly without much fuss or hassle. The ambiance of the hotel is nice. It felt more like an Arizona styled hotel or Moroccan hotel with the bright color palettes. Rooms were adequately sized, brightly painted although slightly tacky, had comfortable beds, and good air condition. The pool was great - largely sized and perfect for families and children. Overall food was good. My one complaint was the dining options at night. The main restaurant goes buffet only at $40 per person. While the food options are plenty, the prices are way to high in my opinion. The pool restaurant does not serve food at night, and the only other restaurant is a small one by the conference center which was full every night, assumingly because people did not want to pay $40 for a meal. We ended up booking our dinners at the Royal Livingstone next door (much better quality, ambience, a la carte, and cheaper than the buffet). Staff were all good, a little slow, but friendly. Having traveled around 20 countries in Africa you cannot expect fast expedient service like in Europe or America or you will be setting yourself up for disappointment.

Overall, a good stay. Not a good value because of prices but there is limited competition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night at the Zambezi Sun and I am happy it was not more. The setting is perfect (Location, Location, Location!!!), but the service was very slow! When we arrived our rooms were not ready so we went for lunch. While having lunch nobody bothered the make sure the rooms are ready or even tried to get our luggage to the rooms.
After lunch, I had to ask and only then did they start to call and check.
Only 45min after this did I get my bag delivered. That is 1:45 after we arrived.
When I called to find out about my bag the porter put the phone down while I was busy talking to him!
Overall the service was way too slow! Took 15 minutes to get tea at breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TouristGuideAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This must be the best place to stay on the Zambia side of the river. You can go into the Victoria Falls National Park as often as you like, it's barely 4 minutes walk, without paying any entrance fees. We went in twice every day.
Also, you can visit the Royal Livingstone which is only 5 minutes walk along the river and relax on their deck with drinks or have SPECTACULAR high tea or just wander along the river in the beautiful grounds.
The breakfast at Zambezi Sun was good, all you can ask for really and the real winner was the fresh waffles with bacon or fruit.
We didn't eat at the poolside for lunch but the food looked great as we were passing by.
Dinner was average and we might have been upset about this if we were paying for it separately because it was very expensive, but it was included in our package so it was take it or leave it for us. The stir fry and quesidillas were good, again we think the things they make fresh are the best. Everything else seems like it's been standing a bit too long. Waffles for dinner were again a winner.
We went to High Tea at the Royal Livingstone and our $20 bought us a great buffet of some of the best sweets we've ever had. Pineapple mousse, crem brulee, coconut cake and eclairs were ridiculously good. Everything was excellent, everything was fresh - like it had just been made.
We also did a day trip to Chobe which was a brilliant day out (see separate review).
We also did a micro-light flight of the falls which was extremely poorly managed by Batoka Sky (no reflection on the hotel). They had overbooked the schedule by double and we waited over 2 hours for our flight. Once you get up there though, you seem to forget about that. It's breathtaking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryandrob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

stayed 3 nights here rooms were fine and comfortable a bit dated and in need of being updated this is a family hotel pool area is very good with a small pool for toddlers the zebras come to drink out of the pool the food was good breakfast is buffet eat as much as you lke staff are very friendly and helpfull be aware of the market with the locals selling wooden carvings they say they have made these themselves but they are mass produced if not they all carve the same things can be expensive as they all try to sell you something at the same time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed there with wife for 2 nights toward the end of Feb. and loved every second. Room and grounds were awesome and native-inspired. Loved the metal scuptures around the lawns of wart hogs, giraffes and hippos. Staff was friendly and most accommodating. Food was great with many local dishes. We had zebras around every afternoon and the staff fought a gallent battle to keep the baboons out of the compound. Large pool with afternoon local music near the bar was great. Location couldn't be closer to Victoria Falls. Do take the path down into the mist I called the car wash. Take a waterproof camera and you won't need a bath that day. One of the other folks we met there photographed a 360degree rainbow from out in front of the falls...wow! We missed it...have to go back, which we would do in a heartbeat. Also did the cruise down the Zambezi River...saw hippos but no crocks...water too high. Lots of water makes the fall's mist just that much higher.

Room Tip: No elevators, so a first floor room is best. AC works fine...keep doors and windows closed when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
12.8 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#9 of 18 in Livingstone
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#2 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: $257 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wild in the heart of Africa, with the iconic Victoria falls at your doorstep. We put you at the centre of the action, so you can explore, discover or just relax and let us take care of all the details that matter. Whether it's for family fun or taking care of your business, AVANI Victoria Falls offers contemporary comforts and uncontested convenience, all just five minutes’ walk from Victoria Falls. Work, rest, stay and play in AVANI signature style for dazzling days and enchanting nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing