We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Zambezi Sun with the family on the recent Easter break. It was a wonderful gateaway and in the usual fashion the kids could not get enough of the pool. The stay was great save for one indident to which I hope Misha and team are paying particular attention to have resolved. I look forward to my next visit to the Zambezi Sun in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband, father and I spent two nights at the Zambezi Sun. It was our first trip to Africa and first visit to Vic Falls. We really enjoyed the Zambezi Sun for its convenient location to the falls, beautiful grounds and excellent service.

If I was being very picky I would say that the rooms felt a little bit old and dingy/dirty. There were a few minor stains on the sheets. There was a faint unpleasant smell to the room. That said, the bed and pillows were comfortable and clean (I think the stains were old and permanent). The air conditioner was loud, but worked very well to keep the rooms cool. We had excellent hot water and water pressure in the shower.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the choices offered - from the omelette and waffle stations to fresh fruit, cereals and hot dishes. It was a great selection. lunch was offered poolside with an a la carte menu. This hotel clearly serves a diverse audience and the menu choices reflected that audience - just about anyone should be able to find something on the menu. The food was plentiful and well priced. We ate dinner at Squires, the steakhouse located at one end of the hotel. The buffet dinner was incredibly overpriced (in our opinion) - $40 USD per person. We could eat a wonderful steak at Squires for half that price, so that's what we did both nights.

We enjoyed the pool during the day and also loved walking around the grounds watching the zebra and monkeys. If you wanted to make this your base for a multi-night or week long trip, there are plenty of activities nearby and the hotel staff will help arrange those for you.

The staff and service was excellent. They always were warm and professional. We found this to be true of all the Zambians we encountered during our stay.

If we returned to Vic Falls, we certainly would stay at the Zambezi Sun again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATLGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location of the Zambezi Sun hotel was excellent, however this was not the hotel for us. Our room was not clean, there were stains and hair on the sofa in the room and soap was encrusted onto the soap dish. Although the hotel had gone with the African theme, the rooms looked tacky. It would also have been good to have had a bedside cabinet to put a glass of water on at night.

The hotel I feel takes advantage of the fact that it has a captive clientele. The only place to buy water was at the bar and the restaurants were quite expensive.

On the positive side the breakfast was excellent, huge choice and it was good to see the animals wandering around the grounds.

We were recommended the Zambezi Sun as we were told that the Royal Livingstone Hotel next door was very formal. We did not find this the case. We had high tea at the Royal Livingstone which we really enjoyed in relaxed, calm and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week holiday in South Africa. I cannot fault it, the room was more than adequate with a comfortable bed , good aircon and a really powerful shower .There was a huge choice on offer for breakfast. Snacks at the bar were good but only available until 5pm. We didnt bother with the buffet dinner as we didn`t want three courses and it was rather expensive. Room service had more options like curry pizza and burgers and was more reasonably priced. Bar prices were not bad on the whole,,,beer was 14 Kwacha ( £1.75) for a 330ml bottle and cocktails started at £3.50. The swimming pool was clean and there were plenty of sun loungers and clean towels available. The staff were always courteous and helpful. The hotel has its own access to the falls and you book in and out at a little " guard post" . The first part of the falls are 5 minutes from the hotel and you stay dry. Venture any further and you will get soaked as the spray can be likened to monsoon rains. You can hire ponchos for 5 Kwacha which will give reasonable protection down to your shins so don`t wear expensive shoes. The paths are good so sandals or crocs are ok. Wrap your camera in waterproof bags.All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jumpercollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The best location and closest to the falls on the Zambian side. You're always three minutes walk from the falls and the fall's roar can always be heard.

The resorts African architecture is beautiful, blends with the nature around it and the wild animals (zebras, giraffes, impalas and monkeys) are an added attraction.

The facilities are well taken care of all overseen by Nisha MacDougall, the hotel manageress, who is always there and ever so attentive.

If the Victoria falls is your destination, STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently stayed for three nights at the Zambezi Sun Hotel as part of a package holiday. I was very impressed with the hotel - the decor, pool area with bar and live music, all buffet style food for breakfast and dinner and the room itself with a balcony overlooking a beautiful lily pond - were amazing. The staff were very courteous and attentive. The close proximity of the falls is ideal for sightseeing, and we were blown away by the views of the falls at such close quarters. A short walk away is the Royal Livingstone Hotel (5 star) where a drink on the loggia next to the river is recommended. The hotel is on a complex which has a Barclays Bank, useful for changing money to the local currency of Kwacha, and you can book tours from the hotel including the elephant safari (highly recommended) and a helicopter flight over the falls which you do not want to miss!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A delightful hotel where you stay in appartments in the hotel grounds. .Victoria Falls are a short walk from the grounds and you can visit as often as you choose. there is a comfrotable pool area and Zebra's and other wild life are often wandering in between the sun loungers adding to the taste of the environment you are in. At the rear of some of the appartments there is a large pool in which we saw 2 crocodiles, although there are warnings there is no fencing to stop the.m coming onto the lawn area at night, and although they are not too big we wondered where was mum!!! The appartments are maybe just a litttle tired but are spotless and spacious! The food in the hotel is again buffet style and is not the best we have had for sure but nevertheless very acceptable. We would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel, the staff being extremely friendly and hepful. Internet is available at a small cost.

Room Tip: if you are t all nervous of the animals ask for an appartment near the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: $277 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wild in the heart of Africa, with the iconic Victoria falls at your doorstep. We put you at the centre of the action, so you can explore, discover or just relax and let us take care of all the details that matter. Whether it's for family fun or taking care of your business, AVANI Victoria Falls offers contemporary comforts and uncontested convenience, all just five minutes’ walk from Victoria Falls. Work, rest, stay and play in AVANI signature style for dazzling days and enchanting nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing