We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to visit falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great base to visit falls”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week holiday in South Africa. I cannot fault it, the room was more than adequate with a comfortable bed , good aircon and a really powerful shower .There was a huge choice on offer for breakfast. Snacks at the bar were good but only available until 5pm. We didnt bother with the buffet dinner as we didn`t want three courses and it was rather expensive. Room service had more options like curry pizza and burgers and was more reasonably priced. Bar prices were not bad on the whole,,,beer was 14 Kwacha ( £1.75) for a 330ml bottle and cocktails started at £3.50. The swimming pool was clean and there were plenty of sun loungers and clean towels available. The staff were always courteous and helpful. The hotel has its own access to the falls and you book in and out at a little " guard post" . The first part of the falls are 5 minutes from the hotel and you stay dry. Venture any further and you will get soaked as the spray can be likened to monsoon rains. You can hire ponchos for 5 Kwacha which will give reasonable protection down to your shins so don`t wear expensive shoes. The paths are good so sandals or crocs are ok. Wrap your camera in waterproof bags.All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumpercollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    724
    259
    52
    21
See reviews for
389
644
90
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The best location and closest to the falls on the Zambian side. You're always three minutes walk from the falls and the fall's roar can always be heard.

The resorts African architecture is beautiful, blends with the nature around it and the wild animals (zebras, giraffes, impalas and monkeys) are an added attraction.

The facilities are well taken care of all overseen by Nisha MacDougall, the hotel manageress, who is always there and ever so attentive.

If the Victoria falls is your destination, STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently stayed for three nights at the Zambezi Sun Hotel as part of a package holiday. I was very impressed with the hotel - the decor, pool area with bar and live music, all buffet style food for breakfast and dinner and the room itself with a balcony overlooking a beautiful lily pond - were amazing. The staff were very courteous and attentive. The close proximity of the falls is ideal for sightseeing, and we were blown away by the views of the falls at such close quarters. A short walk away is the Royal Livingstone Hotel (5 star) where a drink on the loggia next to the river is recommended. The hotel is on a complex which has a Barclays Bank, useful for changing money to the local currency of Kwacha, and you can book tours from the hotel including the elephant safari (highly recommended) and a helicopter flight over the falls which you do not want to miss!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A delightful hotel where you stay in appartments in the hotel grounds. .Victoria Falls are a short walk from the grounds and you can visit as often as you choose. there is a comfrotable pool area and Zebra's and other wild life are often wandering in between the sun loungers adding to the taste of the environment you are in. At the rear of some of the appartments there is a large pool in which we saw 2 crocodiles, although there are warnings there is no fencing to stop the.m coming onto the lawn area at night, and although they are not too big we wondered where was mum!!! The appartments are maybe just a litttle tired but are spotless and spacious! The food in the hotel is again buffet style and is not the best we have had for sure but nevertheless very acceptable. We would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel, the staff being extremely friendly and hepful. Internet is available at a small cost.

Room Tip: if you are t all nervous of the animals ask for an appartment near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the falls and boy, did it deliver! A five min walk to the falls and hotel stay includes admission to the falls. I went daily while here (for 3 days) and twice I woke early and arrived when the gates opened (at 06:00) and was richly rewarded with amazing rainbow shots for the first hour of sunlight (in March) and a quiet park (it's got busy in the later AM and afternoon, especially on weekends).
The hotel itself is fine, far from luxurious but comfortable and reasonably nice. It would be a solid 3-star in the US. I always felt safe. There's even a bank and ATM on the grounds where I could withdraw Kwatcha (for the nearby market and jewelry store) directly from my US bank account.
Service was variable - some employees were over the top helpful and friendly, but twice I was promised a call back but I never rec'd a call back from Guest Services. One of those times I called them and they acknowledged that they were supposed to call me back but continued with business as usual w/o even apologizing. Oh well, as I've heard more than once here "this is Africa". There are far more serious problems with the world than slow Guest Services desk.
The food was decidedly average; my included breakfast was standard southern Africa fare and pretty good, but dinner, while not cheap, was also not great. Presentation was nice but food quality was fair. Plus drinks were extra. And service was patchy.
Overall - I came for the falls, I saw the falls and I loved the falls; my memories of Zambia are the friendly people and the sights, I got over the hotel's shortcomings pretty quickly. Yes, I would stay here again, but just eat more meals out of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations in Sept 2012, booked via Virgin. Location is good - the Falls are within walking distance. Rooms are rustic, maybe a bit basic for the standard but perfectly serviceable. Similarly the buffet style food. We discovered we could help feed the giraffes and zebra in the mornings - it would have been a shame if we had missed out on this, so communication with guests could be better. We were delighted to be offered complimentary afternoon tea at the hotel next door (Royal Livingstone - short walk along the Zambezi) to celebrate our stay. This hotel is stunning! We also had an evening meal under the monkey puzzle tree, which was incredible. There is also a bar from where you can see the spray of the Falls. In retrospect our stay was perfect - relaxed atmosphere at the Zambezi Sun, with special visits to the Royal Livingstone where the vibe is a bit more formal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithies_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Zambezi Sun has the best location if you coming to see the Victoria Falls. You have free entrance to the park which the falls are in daily and it's a mere a 5 minute walk away. This was the reason I chose this hotel and I wasn't disappointed.
Personally I have always found Sun International hotels expensive for what you get, and this one is no exception. Things are expensive here for a boarder line 4 star resort, however, it's not every day you get to see a Zebra eating the well kept green grass right outside your bedroom window or have a monkey visit you at breakfast to try steal your bread role.

Rooms are small yet comfortable with the basics required for 4 star - Only thing that I was disappointed about was no flat screen TV, just a very small CRT.
The service was slow, with the exception of 1 or 2 staff that you could see wanted to make your stay special and tried their best to be fast and efficient.
There is a nice variety of food and the quality is good, although after 4 days everything started to taste very much the same to me (Which seems to be my experience at most of the resorts I have been to around the world).

in conclusion, I would recommend staying here purely for the location and the relaxed atmosphere. If you are wanting a bit more luxury and to be rather close to the Falls I'd suggest looking at the sister hotel next door, the Royal Livingstone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izikulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
382 reviews
12.8 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing