We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the time we walked into the hotel until leaving 4 days later we enjoyed every minute. The food, hospitality & overhaul experience was great. There is so much activities on offer pity you can't fit it all in in 4 days & the New Year bash was worth it. The staff were very friendly just one slight complaint the service at the swimming pool pub was very slow, but that did not damper our spirits & we will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

I arrived from mufwe to livingstone via Lusaka on proflight . I think bush track safari manages the transfers and activity centre as well at the hotel . This hotel is just behind the livingstone falls and it has all the facilities available . The staff is very cordial and they also repaired my shoe soul

The activity centre at the hotel gives the best thrills in Africa and every travel requirement can be done under one roof . The property also has a Barclays Bank .

As you enter the falls there is a curio market . Best thing to buy in Zambia is a copper braclet but be careful always ask the locals as what is the best price to buy . Best kept secret of this shop is you can barter by bringing your old clothes and shoes and in exchange you take curios . I was told after I bought the goods.

These shops have a lot to offer indeed and you spare sometime . They have very good wood carvings and copper bracelets . The way you negotiate is very important with them and it is not that they are bad people they are very nice indeed and they will add extra items in your bag .

Room Tip: Your room should be facing the falls , this hotel is within mosi ya tunya national park you may enco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In my opinion, "Mosi-oa Tunya" or the Victoria Falls is a must see and for that reason, they took advantage of it!

I made the big mistake of booking directly through the hotel (4 months before!) for 252 usd/night, but when checking out, I had to pay... 324 usd/night (the price of that day). I was shocked and said that I had the reservation print with me, showing the right amount (252!!! usd). SURPRISE: on the reservation there is all information of the booking, less a "minor detail": THE PRICE!!!!!!! Yes, my mistake was for not paying attention to all detail. I even tried to write them and, of course, absolutely nothing happened. "Obviously" the reservation was for "the frugal" price of 324 usd.

I have booked dozens (not to say hundreds) of times on the internet directly from the hotel or booking,com, agoda.com (in many countries, Africa included) etc, etc, but I HAVEN'T EVER ENCOUNTERED that problem!!!!

It is simply frustrating seeing that everything on such a poor country is soooooo expensive (and I am not from a rich country, which is Romania).

The evening buffet was mediocre and quite tasteless (yet expensive as everything there).

The hotel is lovely, very colonial, the location is outstanding and the encounter with all their birds and animals (zebras, monkeys, girraffes, impalas) was extraordinary!!!! They really do efforts to maintain it! As I said the staff: front desk, waiters, all of them, EXCEPT THE MANAGEMENT was alright. We have a saying (in aproximate translation): the fish becomes rotten from its.... head!

Too bad, for a nature wonder!!!

PS: Zambian people are great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PUFUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in November and had a fantastic time. The location within 5 minutes walk of the Victoria Falls is just superb. As the weather was hot it was great to go exploring early in the day and then lounge by the pool in the afternoon. The rooms were clean and more than adequate for our needs, with all toiletries and tea making facilities. The bar was available and had local flavour and there was local style music during each evening. We were on a package which included evening meal and the buffet was good basic food, which was just what my husband want as he hates fussy eating. There's bank and activity centre for booking trips on site. We flew over the Falls and went on elephant back safari and to Livingstone Island for brunch. Fantastic start to our African adventure

Room Tip: All are arranged within easy distance of all the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel in August. The rooms were clean but size was small. Food was average. However, it was within 5 minute walking distance to Victoria Falls and we visited the Falls twice in our short stay. This hotel shared a common park with its sister hotel Royal Livingstone. We travelled around the park in segways. The Royal Livingstone side of the park was much more beautiful and we bumped into zebras, giraffes and Impalas. The verandah next to the Zambezi river overlooking the falls was amazing. I could fully appreciate the meaning of "serenity" while standing there watching sunset. Next time, I shall pay a premium to stay at the Royal Livingstone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GOAL_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night and I wish I could've stayed longer. The decor is great and was very colorful with a 'resort' feel to it. There are lots of activities that can be planned including the Devil's pool trip which is a must! Other activities include a helicopter ride over Victoria waterfalls and whitewater rafting.
When we arrived they gave us welcome drinks and a cool towel. We were also greeted with Zulu dancers which was great to watch.
The adjacent hotel (The Royal Livingstone) is a poshier version and incredibly beautiful. Both hotels are run by the same management and have free shuttle buses to transport guests.

The only downside is that there are no elevators, so if you cannot climb stairs or are packing a heavy suitcase you might rethink your options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 6 nights , the hotel was nice but if you are staying for more than 3 nights you would be better staying at the royal livingstone, the food at the zambesie was not very good if you are english i would describe it as tescos basic food. the rooms were clean and basic just somewhere to rest your head after doing all the activities, the staff were friendly, dont book your trips at reception though , the staff were not very profesional you would be trying to sort out the trips you would like to go on and then the phone woud ring and they would just ignore u and take the call no apologia nothing i found this quite rude when i was spending a lot of money on my trips

Room Tip: if you are staying for longer than 3 night stay at the posher hotel its more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sezzy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
274 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
624 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: $252 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wild in the heart of Africa, with the iconic Victoria falls at your doorstep. We put you at the centre of the action, so you can explore, discover or just relax and let us take care of all the details that matter. Whether it's for family fun or taking care of your business, AVANI Victoria Falls offers contemporary comforts and uncontested convenience, all just five minutes’ walk from Victoria Falls. Work, rest, stay and play in AVANI signature style for dazzling days and enchanting nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing