We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Close to the falls”
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The ZAMBEZI SUN is no doubt the place to stay (do not go to the zimbabwe side) :it is 5 minutes walking to the falls,so very ,very convenient...the Royal Livingstone is of course more luxurous, more expensive(if you can aford it,do not hesitate)but a bit further from the falls.It is the same management ,so do not miss the royal livingstone 'bar (just magnificient)!

The rooms are not a 4 stars hotel (the first we had was smelling horrible,with a stained arm chair,)they are not super clean (lots of dust under the bed)and I got 2 mosquitoes in mine the second night and was bitten, althought I never opened the window.

The breakfast is excellent ,with a great buffet with huge choice...
Very clean and very good service. Their great problem is that the monkeys are very crafty and manage to pick up an apple or a biscuit on your breakfast table...It's very funny ,I enjoyed it....(the restaurant manager immediately comes to appology!)..
Do not leave your room window opened : you 'll find them in the room stealing the sugar on the tray on the table....you never know ,they can rob any other thing!
The zebras and giraff are just near but won't come into your room!
The restaurant is quite expensive at night (30 dollars the buffet with no drinks included),we went to the "a la carte "restaurant ,had a big piece of good meat and wine + mineral water for 30 dollars per person .Of course coming from south Africa where the food and wine are delicious and so cheap ,it's something like a surprise............
The surroundings ,and swimming pool are very pleasant and I would definitively recommend this hotel for parents with children.
Have to know that you have to pay when entering the country in Livingstone airport ,according to your nationality(from 50 dollars to 160 dollars) it has to be in dollars; going to the Zambezi or the Livingstone hotels,you do not need a multiple entry which is more expensive.
You still can come out of the hotel, go walking through the boarder on the bridge to see the bungi jumpers (it is spectacular!)or jump yourself !

  • Liked — very near the falls and very good breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    722
    259
    52
    21
See reviews for
389
643
90
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

March 2008

I have just returned from a 15 day trip to S. Africa that included a two night stay at the Zambezi Sun. Our group of 33 loved the hotel. For us, as part of the total package, it was all inclusive. We took the beautiful sunset cruise on the African Queen (snacks and drinks inlcuded) and the 5 minute walk to see the wonderous falls. Fantastic!

The rooms were roomy and clean--no dead or alive bugs. I enjoyed our visit to the sister 5-star hotel which is truly gorgeous, yet somewhat reminiscent of the colonial times. Had a delicious lunch at the Royal Livingstone and had high tea there. Both were excellent and not outrageously pricey. The food at the Sun was quite good and very fresh.

The staff at both hotels is wonderfully trained and very attentive to the needs of guests.

My only complaint was the entry visa fee of $130 USD which, of course, the hotel had no control over. Being American, it was a pleasure to spend my remaining US dollars there or the left over Rand.

The vendors at the craft market outside of the property were quite rude. The poverty of the area outside of the resort was staggering so perhaps this accounts for the level of desperation of the vendors.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csimmonsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

This is an excellent four star hotel which, together with its neighbouring five star sister hotel, the Royal Livingstone, has an unparalleled location just five minutes walk from the falls (the town of Livinstone itself is 15 minutes drive away). However, we were left with a very unfavourable impression because of their greed in over-charging and we shall not go back. On arrival we wanted a snack but were informed that it was the buffet or room service, no other options. We were charged almost US$7 for two 500ml bottles of water (beer was cheaper). The buffet was an eye-watering $33 each and, when I checked out, I found that they had added a compulsory 10% service charge to all food and drink (a service charge on a BUFFET and on a bottle of water!) which, when I objected, they refused to remove, arguing that it was mentioned on the bills I signed. We appreciate that this and its sister hotel are the only possible choices because of the proximity to the falls – and it is apparent that they know this, too.

One is met on arrival by two 'Zulu warriors' (see photo). There are zebras and giraffe in the grounds together with a wonderful colony of weaver birds (bring your camera and a good lens for some stunning shots); their are small crocodiles in the lake. One is warned not to leave windows open because of the monkeys which are to be seen running into the dining room at breakfast and stealing anything that looks edible (the staff are armed with catapaults as a deterrent).

Europeans we met in Botswana had been to the falls in Zimbabwe which we gather has a better view of the falls plus a lesser visa fee than is now charged in Zambia.

  • Liked — The rooms were fine & the location (for the falls) superb
  • Disliked — The blatant overcharging
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger.pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The thing that saves this hotel is that it is a couple of minutes walk to the spectacular Zambian side of Vic Falls. The hotel is OK, some problems (see below), but in general overpriced unless you rationalise that you are paying for proximity.

Positives:
- location
- fantastically friendly service at the restaurants and decent food (not cheap but not badly hotel-overpriced either)
- mosquito repellants and umbrellas provided in rooms
- generally friendly and helpful staff

Negatives:
- we were a group in 4 rooms; 2 of the rooms had phones that did not work (even internally in the hotel)
- don't bother with room service unless you want to have call 3 times to get food which eventually comes cold, badly reheated and basically inedible an hour and a half after you ordered
- checkout procedure quite painful and 2 of our rooms had things added to the bills that should not have been there (one breakfasts that had been paid for in advance, the other a USD200 phone bill!!!) so time consuming

Neutrals:
- rooms very basic despite the garishly painted walls. Clean(ish) but small, very small closet space, limited in room amenities

If not for the Falls I could not really recommend this hotel, but as mentioned proximity to that (as well as to the border to do the Zim activities) and the excellent activity centre makes it worthwhile.

By the way a note to travellers - be aware that even in "low flow" season you will get drenched at the Zambian side of the falls. Take a raincoat with (an umbrella won't help much as the spray comes up, not down) and ziploc bags for cameras etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size, check-out procedure
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sjsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Stunning setting, fantastic activities, charming staff and superb food made our short trip to the Victoria Falls truly unforgettable.

The staff at the Zambezi Sun International are such lovely people, as was every single person we met in Zambia. They're warm, friendly, intelligent and funny.

The falls themselves are impressive and we managed to get a couple of local lads to take us across the top of the river to the very edge of the falls (normally you view the falls from opposite). This was probably pretty dangerous, but at the same time totally awesome.

In terms of activities, if you're an adrenalin junkie then the rafting with BUNDU Tours is a must. For a calmer view of the Zambezi then kayaking the upper river is a great way to see both the river and its wildlife.

  • Liked — The people, the location, the food
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Within walking distance of the amazing Victoria Falls and set in extensive grounds with a very large swimming pool, the Zambesi Sun offers very attentive service and good but slightly expensive food from two restaurants. Breakfast is amazing.
The location is fantastic as many side trips are easily accessed. There is a local elephant sanctuary and trips on the river just above the falls. You can swim right up to the lip of the falls in the dry season (until Health and Safety "experts" find out!) after a short boat trip or kayak beneath the falls.
Hotel rooms are European size with AC, comfortable beds and kept well serviced.

  • Liked — General ambience and convenience
  • Disliked — Could be a little larger but well adequate
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymadWestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle/DC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

The hotel itself was fine. The rooms were secure, the beds comfortable. Zebras roamed through the hotel grounds every day we were there, which was fun. But the price was very high for the quality of the hotel. Not to mention, the staff failed to put our names on the security list for the border, so we had to pay full price for our visas when they should have been compensated by the hotel! (And this also happened to other travelers we met while staying there.)

All told, I would probably stay across the river at the Victoria Falls Hotel. MUCH nicer hotel, MUCH better staff, and all for much less money.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank WashingtonType
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
382 reviews
12.8 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing