We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of paradise”
Review of Kubu Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kubu Cabins
westbrook, Kwazulu Natal
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bit of paradise”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent 7 nights at Kubu Cabins. All I can say is that it is the most peaceful place on earth. Loved every moment of it. We saw ellies drinking on the opposite bank everyday, and heard lions roaring and hyenas laughing at night. I was in my element. Only downside was that on new years eve, a group from Durban to let off rockets at 12. They echoed so much over the Zambezi into the national park, that we didn't see the elephants again. Frik, Sanet and the rest of the staff are superb and go out of their way. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalets, number 2, which have a communal kitchen and as we were the only ones using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

During a four week trip to Zimbabwe and Zambia, we spent two days in Livingstone. Like other reviewers, we wanted to be out of town but to be able easily to reach the Vic Falls and the exciting activities on offer. We had already stayed in a number of campsites, both in National Parks and privately run - none came up to the standard of Kubu, where the facilities are clean and well serviced with hot and cold water and electric power points and Manager Frik goes the extra mile to make sure you have a good experience . There are braai and fire places, and a large thatched shelter; camping is on a grassy bank overlooking the Zambezi (look out for crocodiles and hippos). Under the same ownership as neighbouring Nkwazi Lodge, where we enjoyed a first rate dinner (all compliments to the chef for his presentation as well as cooking the beef to perfection), Kubu is just across the river from the Vic Falls NP, so expect to see elephants and other wildlife coming down to drink. On an evening boat trip with Frik at the helm and bird guide Shadric we saw no fewer than nine elusive finfoots, and four different species of kingfisher. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sqkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August this year. We wanted something outside Livingstone, away from the noise and mass tourism of town. They are located some 23 km from Livingstone on the road West to Kazangula and Katima Mulilo, and then another 3 km bush driving down from the tarmac road to the Zambezi shore. For us, self driving, an easy and pleasant drive through rural areas on a quite and straight forward good tarmac road. We even saw a big heard of elephants crossing the tarmac road just a few km before arriving to the crossing for Kubu Cabins.

The cabins are pleasant and functional, good bed clothes, spacious open-air bath-room with working hot water, a small kitchenette with utensils. Set just at the shore of the river, enjoying the spectacle of the running water, crocs & hippos, bird life and many wild animals coming to drink on the other side of the river, which is part of the Zambezi National Park, already in Zimbabwe. There is a bar and small swimming pool on the site, but since there are not many guests, they are rather empty. Also because they belong to the same family who owns the Nkwazi Camp, next door, just 200 m upriver, and we were encouraged to use their bar and fantastic wood terrace for breakfast and dinner. Kudu does not offer restaurant services, but as commented, Nkwazi Camp next door does for them. The question is, Nkwazi is much newer (2013) and nicer all in all, so, why not to stay there directly? Prices are a bit higher though. Kubu seems to be like a second brand, more budget, of Nkwazi.

Kubu is all in all a good, quite and budget place where to stay around Livingstone, which is very much affected by a kind of gold rush in recent years, with lodges charging accordingly. From Kubu you can visit the falls and surrounding areas, provided you have a car, and from Nkwazi next door you can make also a sunset cruise on the upper part of the river, along the shore of the Zambezi National Park in Zimbabwe. They have a brand new small flat boat with upper deck, and go out just for 2 or 4 tourists at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: They only have 4 or 5 cabins, all along the river side and with similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryM-Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwazulu natal
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent two days here and simply loved it. The cabins are such value for money and we loved our stay there. The gardens are superb and so much care has been taken to create a tranquil haven in a harsh african environmnent. the Zambesi river is just a few meters away from the boma area and we enjoyed a typical barbecue while watching the sun set over the mighty river. A good spot, close to all the activities of Livingstone and a visit to the Victoria falls. Management quality was excellent and I wish them all the best. Attention to detail was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the river, camp sites looked superb as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in an adorable little wooden cabin with a stunning outside shower right on the banks of the Zambezi river. Absolutely exquisite. Kubu Cabins really is a piece of paradise, its in a totally unspoilt section right next to the Zambezi river. The birdlife is incredible, we saw 5 different species of beeaters, the African Finfoot, woodland owls and grass owls to name a few. They also have the pels fishing owl, which unfortunately we didn't see. They also have hippos and crocs, and the opposite bank of the river is the Victoria falls national park so you can sit in the pool and watch elephants and sometimes lion come and drink from the river (on the opposite bank). The cabins are about a 30km drive from Livingstone, so an easy commute for people who want to go see the falls or go whitewater rafter (a definate must). The cabins are quite and peaceful and a definate must if you are a nature lover or if you just need some RnR. The managers, Frik and Sonnet are so friendly and helpful, they organised all our tours for us and gave us valuable advise on where to go, what companies to use and helped us organise transport. The actual cabins are stunning, and the whole experience is really a 5* deal.

Room Tip: for a family holiday book one of the cottages on the river, totally private and really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed on the campsite on the way to Livingstone from Katima. The site is off the main road down a track that must be about 3km, ensuring that there is no noise from the road. Some of the trees at the ampsite entrance were a bit low for our vehicle (3.4m high) - but a similar sized vehicle can now get through!
The campsite is very well shaded by very mature and varied trees, with an opening onto the Zambezi giving clear views across to the Zimbabwean national park on the opposite bank. Elephant etc can be seen here coming to drink (we missed them, but the one other group on the campsite had see them the night before). There are many birds (including the African Finfoot) to be seen, along with hippos. The swimming pool is almost an infinity pool - with views across the river, allowing you to swim whilst game viewing!
The staff were extraordinarily freindly and helpful.
All this cost us just 80000 kwacha each per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We rented a double cabin with the shared self catering facilities in June. By far the best feature of this great little place is the bathrooms which are attached to the cabins but open air. Showering under the stars in piping hot water was quite wonderful.

Other great features are the proximity to the river; sundowners in camping chairs on the banks of the Zambezi, being woken twice by hippo coming out to graze outside, watching the game on the opposite bank (from Hwange National Park in Zimbabwe). We also really appreciated the self catering area. There is a communal fire and braai facility right by the pool and fridges in the rooms. It meant we could plan our own timetable, do what we wanted and keep our beers cold. The staff, while present, were discrete and professional.

Overall, this is a well conceptualised "glamping" option and we'd recommend it for families and couples and even big groups.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#8 of 85 in Livingstone
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 30 in Livingstone
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 85 in Livingstone
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubu Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubu Cabins

Property: Kubu Cabins
Address: Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubu Cabins, about 20 minutes drive from Livingstone. Quite simply Kubu Cabins is the adventure of a lifetime, accommodation beyond your traditional lodge or hotel.Kubu Cabins offers you the luxury in the wilderness at affordable rates close to all the adventures of Zambia.Each of the 6 self-catering cabins and Villa are tastefully furnished and equipped with all the necessary utensils to ensure that you totally sink into the comfort and relaxation at Kubu Cabins.Just imagine, lying in your bed listening to the performance of a unique orchestra, that of nature! Crickets playing the violin and birds chirping to the sound of a penny whistle, with an open front view of the Zambezi River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing